Because the ball usually gets scuffed up when it hits the ground and then the pitcher can use this scuffed up ball to throw pitches that move eratically and make it harder for the batter to hit the ball.
If the baseball hit the ground in foul territory, the ball is a foul ball. If the baseball hit the ground in fair territory, and the batter/runner is still in the batter's box when the baseball hits him, it is a foul ball. If the baseball hit the ground in fair territory and the batter/runner is out of the batter's box when the baseball hits him, the batter/runner is out and the ball is dead.
In regular baseball rules, the ball is still live, even if it hits the ground first, until it hits the batter, then it becomes a "dead ball". If it never hits the batter, its still a live ball.
In baseball, a ground out is an out in which a batter hits a ball on the ground and one of the Infielders catches it before it hits the ground and a ground out can also be an instance of a batter hitting a ball in which an Infielder fields a baseball and then throws to another Infielder in order to record an out as long as the batted baseball was hit on the ground.
It is a ball that the batter hits on the ground. Contrary to a fly ball that is hit in the air.
No, in that case it is a ball.
If it hits the ground then hits the batter then yes. If it just hits the ground then no.
In baseball, the fly ball rule is when a batter hits the ball high into the air, giving fielders a chance to catch it before it hits the ground. If a fielder catches a fly ball before it touches the ground, the batter is out. This rule can impact the outcome of a game by preventing the batter from getting on base or advancing runners, potentially changing the course of the game.
When a batter hits a ball very hard usually in front of home plate that hits the ground and bounces up high.
No. You fool.
In softball, if the batter is hit by a pitched ball after it has hit the ground, they are not awarded first base. The ball is considered a dead ball once it hits the ground, and the batter must avoid being hit by the ball. They are only awarded first base if the pitch is a strike and hits them directly without bouncing.
Yes. Taken from the official MLB rules (available in various locations on the internet): "If the pitch touches the ground and ... the batter hits such a pitch, the ensuing action shall be the same as if he hit the ball in flight."
A pitched ball can hit the ground before crossing home-plate. In most cases the batter would not swing and the pitch would be called a ball. But, if the batter decides the swing, the ball is still in play after hitting the ground and the batter may not hit the ball and receive a strike, or he may foul the ball, or hit a base-hit.