answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Well, first of all, a dropped third strike is an out if the catcher's throw beats the runner. It's that way because that's just the rule.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-06-23 05:39:05
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Why does the batter get to run to first and is safe if 2 strikes and catcher misses a third strike?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

In fastpitch softball is it a dropped third strike if the pitch hits the dirt with a 2-2 count and the batter swings and misses and the catcher catches the ball off the dirt on the bounce?

ok this confuses me if they have 2 strikes on them and they pitch it and the catcher misses it they run and the catcher has to throw them out hope it helpes!


When a batter swings at a pitch and misses is?

Baseball is a game of balls and strikes: the pitcher throws the ball, and the batter tries to hit it. If the batter swings at the ball and misses, that is called a strike. A batter gets three strikes (three efforts to swing at the ball) before being called "out."


How do you score a missed third strike if catcher drops the ball and the batter is out at first?

"Dropped third strike", batter swings and misses the third strike, he then runs to an unoccupied first base, but catcher throws him out at first to complete the STRIKE OUT. it's a STRIKE OUT (Capital "K" in the book).


Can you strike out by four foul balls?

The batter can foul as often as necessary, unless there are 2 strikes and the batter bunts foul. That becomes a third strike and the batter is out. Also if there are two strikes and the batter foul-tips the ball into the catcher's mitt, that's also strike 3 and the batter is out.


What is the stike of softball?

A strike in softball is when a pitcher pitches a softball to the batter [located in the batter box in front of the catcher] and the batter misses. When it is a strike, it is thrown in a particular area from the batter's armpits to the bottom of their knees.


If a catcher misses a third strike can a batter run to first?

yes, unless first base is occupied.


What is the difference between a strike and a strike out?

In baseball and softball, a strike is a pitch that is swung at and missed by the batter. It goes through the batter's strike zone and the catcher catches it. A strikeout, however, is a result of three strikes. When someone strikes out, they have obtained three strikes without getting on base. They are considered out at that point.


If the batter swings and misses the third strike but the ball hits the ground first and the catcher catches it cleanly is it still an out?

it is considered a dropped third strike. the batter must be tagged or thrown out, same as if the catcher had dropped the ball. -LM, umpire


If there is less than two strikes in a baseball game and the hitter tips the ball into the catcher's glove is it a strike or an out?

It's a strike. But if it happens when the batter has two strikes, it's an out, though I'm not sure whether they call it a strike-out or a fly-ball out.


Is it possible to have a four-strikeout half inning in baseball?

Yes On the third strike of the third strike out if the ball gets by the catcher the batter can reach first base safely but the at bat is counted as a strike out. The next batter comes up ,strikes out and the cather holds on to the ball this time. Theoretically, if your catcher cannot handle the third strikes, you can have unlimited number of strikeouts in an inning. If every batter reached safely after a dropped third strike (which IS recorded as a strike out for the pitcher), you could lose, say, 20-0 without ever giving up a hit and by striking out every batter.


What are 3 ways a strike is called on a batter for softball?

The batter watches a strike go by and doesn't swing the bat. A batter swings at a strike and misses. A batter swings at a ball and misses. A batter could also attempt to bunt on the third strike, bunting it foul would lead to the batter being called out.


A strike is not called when the batter hits a foul ball?

It depends on how many strikes the batter has. If they have less than 2 strikes a strike is called.


With a runner on third batter swings and misses on the third strike and the ball hits the batter the runner on third crosses homeplate when the ball bounces away from the catcher Does the run score?

Batter is out, the ball is dead when it hits the batter. Runner at third returns to third.


How is it possible for a pitcher to make four or more strikeouts in one inning?

There is a rule in baseball known as the uncaught third strike rule. This rule states that a catcher must catch the ball from the pitcher on a third strike for an out to be recorded. If, on a third strike, the pitched ball touches the ground before reaching the catcher or the catcher does not cleanly catch the ball, the batter becomes a runner and may advance to first base and must be tagged or thrown out at first base for the out to be recorded. For example, a batter swings and misses for strike three but the ball gets past the catcher and rolls back to the backstop. For the out to be recorded, the catcher must retrieve the ball and throw to first base before the batter gets there. If the batter beats the throw to first base, he becomes a base runner and is not out. In this situation, the pitcher is credited with a strikeout. The official scorer will rule as to whether the pitcher will also be charged with a wild pitch or the catcher will be charged with a passed ball (the reason the batter reached base). So the pitcher strikes out the first batter but the ball gets by the catcher and the batter reaches first base. The pitcher then cleanly strikes out the next three batters. For the inning, the pitcher is credited with 4 strikeouts. The uncaught third strike rule does not apply when there is a runner on first base and there are less than two outs. This keeps the catcher from intentionally dropping a third strike which would allow for an easy double play ... catcher throws to second base for one out and the second baseman/shortstop throws to first for the second out. There is no uncaught third strike rule in Little League Baseball. The batter is automatically out on a third strike regardless of whether the catcher catches the ball or not.


When a runner is on first base and there is two outs and the batter strikes out and the catcher drops the ball can the batter run to first base?

Yes, with two outs the uncaught third strike rule is not in effect.


How is it scored when the batter strikes out but the catcher drops the ball and the batter advances to first?

In the event of a batter striking out but the Catcher dropping the ball and the batter advancing to first base, it will be ruled as a strike out however it will also be ruled as a passed ball for allowing the batter to reach base. Generally speaking, in most cases the catcher will throw the ball to first base before the batter gets there. In that situation, the put out is given to the first baseman & the catcher receives an assist.


If a batter tips the ball with two strikes and the catcher juggles it but still catches it before the ball hits the ground is the batter still out just as he would be if the catcher caught it cleanly?

All that matters is that the catcher caught the ball. Accordng to MLB Rule 6.05(b), a batter is out if: " A third strike is legally caught by the catcher; Rule 6.05(b) Comment: "Legally caught" means in the catcher's glove before the ball touches the ground. It is not legal if the ball lodges in his clothing or paraphernalia; or if it touches the umpire and is caught by the catcher on the rebound. If a foul-tip first strikes the catcher's glove and then goes on through and is caught by both hands against his body or protector, before the ball touches the ground, it is a strike, and if third strike, batter is out. If smothered against his body or protector, it is a catch provided the ball struck the catcher's glove or hand first. "


What are the zones called in softball?

Strike Zone The strike zone is from the knee to shoulder of the batting softball player. The strike zone also extends as wide as a normal swing. A strike is called if the ball passes through the strike zone and reaches the catcher. The softball umpire will also call a strike if a batter swings and misses at a pitch outside the strike zone. Three strikes result in a batter being called out by the softball umpire. A ball is called for all pitches that miss the strike zone. Four balls allow a batter to walk to first base uncontested. Outfield These 3 zones are short, middle, and long. In the outfield.


What is the difference between a catcher catching a foul tip and catching a fly ball?

A foul tip is considered to be when the batter swings and the bat barely touches, or tips, the ball. The ball goes straight back into the catcher's mitt. A fly ball is when the batter makes contact and the ball goes up into the air for a significant distance. If a catcher catches a foul tip with less than two strikes the play is simply considered a strike and not an out. But if the catcher catches a foul tip when the batter has two strikes, the batter is scored to have struckout.


If a cather misses a third strike bunt can the batter advance to first?

The batter can make an attempt to reach first, but if the ball is fouled off by the batter, the batter is out (strike out).


What happens when strike three goes by and you swung and missed and the catcher drops it?

This play is referred to as "redeye". If a batter misses (or does not swing) at the 3rd strike, and the catcher drops it, the runner must run to first before the catcher throws the dropped pitch to first. If the runner is beaten by the throw, it is simply a strikeout in the books. If the runner beats out the throw, it still goes as a strikeout, but his advance to first will be listed as an error by either the pitcher or the catcher (depending on how bad the pitch was, and the reason it was not caught). In Little League (60 foot basepaths) batter is out on strike three no matter what the catcher does.


In baseball is it a dropped third strike if the pitcher throws a pitch in the dirt with the count 2-2 and the batter swings and misses and the catcher catches the ball off the dirt on one bounce?

It has to be caught it-the-air first. "Dropped Third Strike" is a misleading term. It should be called the "Uncaught Third Strike". So, if the ball touches the dirt before reaching the catcher, it is indeed a dropped third strike.


Is the batter out if the catcher catches a tipped third strike?

Yes, this counts as a strike out.


If a batter swings a bat at a pitch and misses the ball but is hit by the ball in the process is the batter awarded first base or is it a strike due to the swing?

Its a strike


Is it a strike if the catcher doesn't catch a strike?

The batter can run to first if the 3rd strike isn't caught. However, the batter still can be thrown out by the catcher at first base. Yes. A strike is called if the ball crosses home plate at the correct height, which is usually between the knees and the letters. A pitched ball does not have to be caught by the catcher to be called a strike.