answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer
One answer:He can run, but he has to get back to the base. Any foul ball is a dead ball unless it is caught. Another answer:Since a foul tip, by definition, is caught by the catcher, it is a live ball, and runners may advance at their own risk.
User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-05-22 00:16:24
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Why can a runner run on a foul tip?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

If there is a foul tip into the catchers glove and is caught can the runner advance to the next base?

A Foul Tip, which is different than a Foul, is a live ball, and runner's can advance.


Can a runner advance on foul tip to the catchers glove?

Yes. In all rules, a foul tip immediately caught by the catcher is considered exactly like a strike. As such, a base runner is allowed to attempt to steal a base on a foul tip. Note, however, that if the catcher drops a foul tip, it is considered to be a foul ball, and no base runner may advance.


Can a runner steal on a foul tip?

Only is the catcher catches it.


Can a runner advance a base on a foul tip strike 2?

Of course, because a foul tip, by definition, is not a foul ball. It's a live ball and it doesn't matter if it's strike 1 2 or 3 (unless strike 3 makes it the third out of the inning). Remember this: "there is nothing foul about a foul tip" www.westmichiganhighschoolbaseball.com


Can Tipped baseball caught in air can runner advance?

Yes. It would be considered a foul tip not a foul ball. Foul tips are treated as if the hitter never even touched it. In this case a runner may advance at his/her own risk.


Can a runner advance on a foul ball?

If the ball is caught in foul territory, then the runner has the ability to run at their won risk. But if the player drops the ball in foul territory, then the runners have to stay at their respective bases.


Can runner advance on foul tip?

Yes. A foul tip is a ball hit by the batter that goes directly back to the catcher who catches the ball. Runners may try to advance (steal a base) at their own risk. A batted ball that is barely touched and goes foul is often erroneously called a "foul tip", but technically is just a foul ball.


Can a runner on first base steal second on a foul tip?

Foul-tip Rule 2.00 see also; Strike (g) and 6.05(b) There is nothing "FOUL" about a foul-tip. It is a strike and the ball is alive. A foul-tip is the same as a swing and a miss. To be a foul-tip, by rule, the ball must go sharp and direct from the bat to the catcher's hand or glove AND BE CAUGHT. Confusion arises on this because people commonly call any ball that is tipped or nicked a foul-tip. It is not a foul-tip, by rule, unless the nicked or tipped ball is caught. If it is not caught, it is simply a foul-ball. A foul-ball is a dead ball. A foul-tip (a legally caught nick) is a live ball strike, just like a swing and a miss. Read the rule in the Official Baseball Rules


Can a runner advance if the hitters bat touches the ball and the catcher catches it?

YES if you are playing by MLB rules. In Major League Baseball that situation would result in a FOUL TIP, the pitch is considered a strike, and the ball is in play. According to MLB definitions, "A FOUL TIP is a batted ball that goes sharp and direct from the bat to the catchers hand(glove) and is legally caught." If a batted ball takes a "sharp and direct" path towards the catcher's glove and IS NOT caught then it is a FOUL BALL, the ball is considered "dead", and the runner CAN NOT advance. For example, if a runner attempts to steal second base and as the pitch arrives a FOUL TIP occurs, if the runner is not thrown out, a stolen base is awarded UNLESS the FOUL TIP results in a third strike to make the third out of an inning.


What is a foul tip in basball?

A foul tip is when the batter hits the ball with a small piece of the bat and the ball lands foul. A pop up to the catcher is not a foul tip.


If a runner who is in play is advancing from third and the is hit by a line drive that is called foul is the runner out?

If a runner is in foul territory is hit by a batted ball, it is simply a foul ball and the runner returns to his base. However, if he is in play, he is out.


What happens to the runner that is hit by a throw down to third?

The runner is out unless they are on the bag in time .If the runner is in foul territory, it is just counted as foul.

People also asked