Not sure exactly what you're asking here. Neither a batter nor a base runner may INTERFERE with a fielder attempting to field a ball. If there's contact without interference, nothing happens.
If a fielder is blocking the path of a base runner from reaching a base, the runner is definitely permitted to touch that fielder -- up to and including ramming his elbow into that fielder's neck.
Not sure what you mean by "incidental" contact, but I'll presume you mean can there be contact between a fielder and a base runner, that results in neither interference nor obstruction.
The answer is yes.
MLB Rule 7.08(b) states that a base runner is out when "He intentionally interferes with a thrown ball; or hinders a fielder attempting to make a play on a batted ball." I suppose that physical contact that does not "hinder" the fielder would not result in the runner being called out.
The commentary on Rule 7.09(i) give a little more leeway on obstruction: "Obstruction by a fielder attempting to field a ball should be called only in very flagrant and violent cases because the rules give him the right of way" So, again, if the contact was not "flagrant and violent," then no obstruction would be called.
Tie always goes to the baserunner.
Yes. No problem.
However, a base runner can neither pass another runner nor may he assist the other runner in running the bases.
ya....if they swing and hit the glove then its called catcher interference. the batter then gets to go to first base
no, it would be batter's interference
For the play you describe, it would be a hit. A fielder's choice is when a fielder chooses to throw to another base instead of 1st base to retire the batter. I doubt the center fielder had a chance to throw out the batter at 1st base.
No. If a fielder has a legitimate opportunity to make an attempt at the ball, but the ball passes the fielder and then touches the runner, he is not out. The rules state a runner is out when a batted ball touches him before it passes a fielder.
If the batter puts the ball in play, and reaches base without an error being made by the defense, nor is it ruled a fielder's choice, the batter gets credit for a hit.
Provided that there were no runner on 1st base and batter reached 1st before runner were tagged out, this is a hit. Batter alreay had first base, runner chose to go to 3rd, not forced. If he were forced, then it is a fielders choice.
MLB Rule 10.02(a)(1)(iv) states: No time at bat shall be charged when a player is awarded first base because of interference. THIS IS NOT THE ANSWER AS IT DOES NOT ADDRESS THE QUESTION. The correct answer is that the batter gets credited for a single. See the following rule: rule 10.05 a base hit shall be scored in the following cases:(e) when a fair ball which has not been touched by a fielder touches a runner or an umpire. EXCEPTION: Do not score a hit when a runner is called out for having been touched by an infield fly. (in this instance, the batter would have been automatically out on the infield fly rule)
What the name of the hit that gets the batter to first base safely
If a fielder commits an error on the ball that you hit, you would not receive an at bat (just like getting a walk).errors in baseballNo, errors do nothing to your batting average. Huh?That would depend on the play and situation. If the play was ruled a straight error, like grounding to the shortstop and the shortstop makes a wild throw to first, the batter is charged with an at bat but no base hit. The batter's average would go down. But if the batter gets a base hit to right field and the right fielder boots the ball and the batter makes it to third base, the batter would be credited with a hit and the outfielder would be credited with an error. In that case, the batter's average would go up.
During a base on balls, all runners are required to advance one base so each runner gets to walk to the next base without the threat of being tagged out. The only conceivable way where the batter gets called out is if the umpire rules that he went out of the base path, regardless, the fielder would not be able to tag him out.
1. 3 strikes are called ("strikeout") 2. the ball hit by the batter is caught before hitting the ground ("flyout") 3. first baseman catches the ball before the batter runs there 4. the batter doesn't stand in the batter's box 5. the batter runs to a base that has already been tagged ("tagged" or "tag play") 6. the runner is tagged with the ball before reaching a base 7. the runner goes more than 3 feet out of the base line to avoid being tagged 8. the runner doesn't touch the bases (the runner is allowed to run past first but must touch second and third) 9. a fielder holding the ball touches a base, that is the only remaining base to which the runner can go, before the runner gets there
Should a batted ball hit any base, the ball is considered fair and live and the play continues. It is still up to the defense to field the ball and touch first base before the batter does to record an out.
Well, let's see... 1. Gets a clean base hit 2. Receives a base on balls 3. Gets hit by a pitched ball 4. Is interferred with by the catcher or other fielder 5. Hits a ball that hits an umpire before touching a fielder 6. Hits into a fielder's choice 7. An error by a fielder 8. Hits a ball that hits another base runner. That's about it as far as I can tell.
No when the batter gets hit by the ball it is called and walk and the batter gets to go to first base