answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

The catcher throws to thr pitcher or if he misses the ball he throws it first to get tjr batter out because if if the batter strikes out and the catcher misses the ball the runner can run.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2012-04-26 04:51:09
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Who does the catcher throw to after a strikeout?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

What happens when strike three goes by and you swung and missed and the catcher drops it?

This play is referred to as "redeye". If a batter misses (or does not swing) at the 3rd strike, and the catcher drops it, the runner must run to first before the catcher throws the dropped pitch to first. If the runner is beaten by the throw, it is simply a strikeout in the books. If the runner beats out the throw, it still goes as a strikeout, but his advance to first will be listed as an error by either the pitcher or the catcher (depending on how bad the pitch was, and the reason it was not caught). In Little League (60 foot basepaths) batter is out on strike three no matter what the catcher does.


Is a catcher and pitcher get credited with a putout on a strikeout?

A strikeout is a pitching statistic. The pitcher is credited with a strikeout under his or her pitching stats. A putout is a fielding statistic for defense. The catcher is credited with the putout under his or her fielding stats.


Is a pitcher or catcher credited with a putout on a strikeout?

The catcher gets the putout.


Why do catchers throw to third base after a strikeout?

I have played baseball my entire life, mainly as a catcher. This is simply a way to keep the energy of the game going. It is commonly called "round the horn", and the Catcher will throw to Third, Third to Second, and Second to Short, then back to the pitcher. It is a way to keep the infield peppy and active; sort of a very mild celebration for a strikeout. It is also done on a ground out, where the First baseman will throw to SS, SS to 2B, then 2B to 3B. You will rarely (if ever) see a throw around the horn if baserunners are on base. This is because of the high chance of a wild throw.


Does a strikeout count as a put out in softball?

A putout is a fielding statistic. In the case of a strikeout, the putout is credited to the catcher.


Does a strikeout count as a put out?

Yes, for the catcher


If catcher drops the ball can the batter run to first?

Only on a third strike with 1st base un-occupied. This does not apply to Little League. Note: he is entitled to TRY to run to first base. He can be thrown out by the catcher if the throw reaches the baseman before the runner. If he beats the throw, then he is safe. The pitcher is given credit for a strikeout. The catcher is given an error.


How many ways can a player reach 1st without hitting the ball?

strikeout catcher's interference hbp BB IBB strikeout catcher's interference hbp BB IBB


Is the pitcher awarded a strikeout with catcher interference on strike three?

no


Does a pitcher get credit for a strikeout if a runner gets to first base via the third strike drop rule?

Yes. If the runner reaches first base, it is usually due to an error on the catcher's part, so the scoring is 'K' for strikeout but 'E2' for the catcher dropping the ball. If the catcher recovers in time, then again the 'K' for strikeout is accompanied by '2-3' for the actual putout at first base.


In softball who gets a putout for a strikeout?

The pitcher is credited with a strikeout. The catcher is credited with the putout, unless the batter-runner has to be retired at first base with a throw from the catcher. In that case, the catcher would get an assist and the base man covering first would get the putout.Source(s):Senior League Baseball World Series information director; Official Baseball Rules: 10.09(b)(1), 10.10(b)(1), 10.15(a)


Who was the catcher for Kerry Wood's twenty strikeout game?

Sandy Martinez


Catcher drops glove with ball still inside on third strike is batter out?

the batter has a strike out but the catcher glove dropping is the same a the ball dropping and thebatter will run to first ... which the catcher will throw the ball to for the put out ... It is a strikeout, but the batter is not out until he is either tagged out by the catcher, or the ball is thrown to first for the put out, or the batter leaves the home plate area to return to the dugout.


Umpire calls a batter out and catcher drops the ball and batter advances to first is he safe or out at first?

If he is called out on strikes and the catcher drops the ball, the batter may try to run to first base. In order to be put out, the catcher must throw the ball and get him out at first before he gets to the base. If the runner beats the throw, then the runner is safe. The pitcher is given credit for a strikeout. The catcher is given an error. This is how pitchers can have 4 strikeouts in an inning, which happened in MLB this week.


What does it mean when a catcher says tlsofig after a strikeout?

HE has Tourette syndrome


If the catcher drops the third strike and the batter is safe at first base is that an error on the catcher?

Yes the official scoring notation is K-E2 (strikeout - error on the catcher)


Why do catchers throw to third after a strikeout?

I have played Baseball my entire life, mainly as a catcher. This is simply a way to keep the energy of the game going. It is commonly called "round the horn", and the Catcher will throw to Third, Third to Second, and Second to Short, then back to the pitcher. It is a way to keep the infield peppy and active; sort of a very mild celebration for a strikeout. It is also done on a ground out, where the First baseman will throw to SS, SS to 2B, then 2B to 3B. You will rarely (if ever) see a throw around the horn if baserunners are on base. This is because of the high chance of a wild throw.


Seven ways a baseball player can make it to first without gettin a hit?

Walk, Reached on error, Fielder's Choice, Hit By Pitch, Strikeout while catcher doesn't catch it beating the throw, Pinch Runner, Intentional Bases on Ball.


How many pitchers with 4 strikeouts in one inning?

It is impossible to have 4 strikeouts in one inning because every strikeout is an out, and an inning ends when there is three outs. This "Answer" is wrong. A strikeout is recorded whenever a batter gets a strike three. If the ball gets past the catcher and the hitter gets to the base in time before the throw, there is a strikeout but no out. There have been 50 pitchers with 4 strikeouts in a single inning, Totaling up to 54 times. The most recent was Milwaukee Brewer's pitcher Manny Parra


Do catchers get put outs for strikeouts?

Yes. A catcher gets credited with the putout on a strikeout if the ball is caught cleanly. In the event of a dropped third strike, if the catcher tags the hitter, he again gets credited with the putout. If the third strike is dropped and the catcher must throw down to first, the catcher gets credited with an assist and the first baseman gets credited with the putout. In no case would the pitcher get credit for the putout or assist. Source: MLB Official Rule 10.09b


How many pitches did roger clemens throw in his 20 strikeout game against the Brewers in 1986?

180


Does catcher have to throw at base that is being stealed on?

No, the catcher (or any other player) can choose not to throw to a base at any time, regardless of whether a runner is going there. If the catcher knows he can't get a stealing runner out, he will most likely not throw to avoid the risk of an error.


If a catcher is credited with a putout on a strikeout does the pitcher get an assist as most stat programs do not give assists in this instance?

The pitcher does not get an assist unless the batter strikes out and the ball bounces to the pitcher, who throws the ball to the catcher, who tags out the runner.


What is batters interference?

Batter's interference is when the batter interferes with the catcher's ability to throw and catch a ball that is in play. An example of this is if the batter were to obstruct the catcher when a teammate is stealing a base, resulting in the catcher's inability to throw out the runner.


What does a pitcher throw to a catcher?

A baseball