answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Any fly ball, fair or foul, is a live ball when it is caught therefore any runners may tag up and advance at their own risk.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2011-09-01 18:12:25
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: When can a runner advance after a fly ball has been caught?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Does the runner have to wait until the ball has been hit to advance to next base?

No, he can advance by stealing the base, or advance on a wild pitch, passed ball, catcher interference or a pitcher's balk.


If a batted ball hits a base runner is the play dead?

If a batted ball hits a base runner in fair territory before the ball has been touched by a defensive player or an umpire, the ball is dead, the runner is called out for interference, the batter is awarded first base, and all other runners advance one base if forced. If, however, the ball has been touched by a defensive player or an umpire before hitting the base runner, the ball is live and play proceeds as usual (unless the runner is judged by the umpire to have deliberately made contact with the ball, then the runner can be called out for interference, the ball is dead, the batter is awarded first base, and all other runners advance one base if forced, or, if flagrant, the batter can also be called out and no runners advance).


Is runner out if fielder does not field the ball and the runner is then hit by the ball?

If a runner in fair territory is struck by a batted ball prior to the ball having been fielded, the runner is out.


Is the base runner out if the Baseball is kicked by the base runner during play?

If the runner kicks a batted ball, the runner is out. If the ball had been touched by a fielder first, the runner is not out and can continue.


Is it a past ball if a catcher blocks a ball but the runners still advance?

It depends; gerenerally if the ball hits the dirt first, it is a wild pitch. A Passed ball is a ball that should have been caught. There is no definitive answer as each scorer has the discretion to call it as they see fit, so while a blocked ball may be ruled a wild pitch by one, it is a passed ball by another. If the runner davances due to the catcher simply being lazy, they are likely to be charged with an error


Can a batter advance past first base if ball four pitch is a wild pitch or passed ball. In other words is the ball still live and is the batter now runner able to advance as far as he wishes to try?

I can't speak for Little League or the leagues played by the younger folks but as far as college and Major League Baseball is concerned, the answer is yes. A runner is allowed to attempt to advance his/her position on the base paths at any time where there has not been a time out called.


If a batted ground ball hits a base runner who is on the base is the runner safe or out?

A batted ball that hits a runner in fair territory, without first being touched by a defender (or passing a fielder other than the pitcher) results in -- a dead ball, runner is ruled out, and the batter gets first base. According to the old rules, batter is credited with a single, but currently the batter is credited with a fielder's choice unless the umpire judges that the ball would have been a single. The putout goes to the nearest defensive player. Being on base doesn't change the situation. The only exception is if the base runner, while on the base (force or not), is hit by an Infield Fly. Ref 7.08. "Any runner is out when... (f) He is touched by a fair ball in fair territory before the ball has touched or passed an infielder. The ball is dead and no runner may score, nor runners advance, except runners forced to advance. EXCEPTION: If a runner is touching his base when touched by an Infield Fly, he is not out, although the batter is out;"


What does the word 'steal' and 'slide' mean?

These are terms from baseball. To 'steal' is to advance one or more bases in a situation where the ball has not been hit: where someone has mishandled the ball, or during a pitch. A 'slide' is what players use when as a base runner they approach a base guarded by a defending player who has or is expected to shortly have the ball. If the defending player touches the runner before he touches the base, the runner is out, so the runner slides, usually foot first, toward the base, in an effort to get past the defender before he can be tagged.


If a batted ball glances off of glove and then hits runner is the runner safe or out?

The runner is not out and play goes on. Rule 7.09(k) states a runner is out when: "A fair ball touches him on fair territory before touching a fielder. If a fair ball goes through, or by, an infielder, and touches a runner immediately back of him, or touches the runner after having been deflected by a fielder, the umpire shall not declare the runner out for being touched by a batted ball. In making such decision the umpire must be convinced that the ball passed through, or by, the fielder, and that no other infielder had the chance to make a play on the ball. If, in the judgment of the umpire, the runner deliberately and intentionally kicks such a batted ball on which the infielder has missed a play, then the runner shall be called out for interference" Since the ball touched the fielder first and then the runner, play goes on.


What is a passed ball?

Passed BallA pitch that should have been fielded by the catcher but was missed, allowing a runner to advance a base.Note: this is not the same thing as a wild pitch, which is scored as the pitchers fault.I presume you mean "passed ball." This is a ball that gets past the catcher when thrown by the pitcher, when the catcher should have caught it. It is distinct from a wild pitch, which is one where the pitcher, not the catcher, is considered to have been at fault. The distinction between the two have no effect on the final score. The decision on whether a ball is a wild pitch or a passed ball is made by the official scorer at the game.


How far would the pitcher throw to get a base runner out on 1st?

Each runner, other than the batter, may without liability to be put out, advance one base when there is a balk or the batters advance without liability to be put out forces the runner to vacate his base, or when the batter hits a fair ball that touches another runner or the umpire before such ball has been touched by, or has passed a fielder, if the runner is forced to advance The bases of the baseball diamond are 90 ft apart. The diagonal distance between 1st and 3rd bases is therefore about 127.3 ft (90 feet times the square root of 2). The pitcher's mound lies (roughly) in the center so it will be half the distance between 1st and 3rd bases - 62.6 feet. That's how far the pitcher has to throw to get a base runner out on 1st. It's the same distance he has to throw to get the ball to the catcher (roughly - since he steps toward home plate as he delivers the pitch).


How do you score a missed throw by a fielder during a stolen base?

If the scorer believes that the runner would have been safe either way no error is awarded if the runner does not advance further. If the runner would have been out then the scorer gives the error to either the fielder or the catcher depending on the throw.


In football can a runner run a hidden ball play by hiding the ball in his jersey?

No, it has been considered an illegal play for nearly a century.


Was it ever a sacrifice fly when a runner moved up a base on an out?

MLB Rule 10.08d is pretty clear: "Score a sacrifice fly when, before two are out, the batter hits a ball in flight handled by an outfielder or an infielder running in the outfield in fair or foul territory that (1) is caught, and a runner scores after the catch, or (2) is dropped, and a runner scores, if in the scorer's judgment the runner could have scored after the catch had the fly been caught. Thus, if a base runner advances to another base after tagging up but does not score, it is a fly out, but NOT a sacrifice fly.


What is a batter credited with when his ground ball hits a base runner?

I believe it's a single rule 10.05 a base hit shall be scored in the following cases:(e) when a fair ball which has not been touched by a fielder touches a runner or an umpire. EXCEPTION: Do not score a hit when a runner is called out for having been touched by an infield fly.


Can you tag the base with your bare hand with the ball in your glove hand?

MLB Rule 2.00 states:A TAG is the action of a fielder in touching a base with his body while holding the ball securely and firmly in his hand or gloveThus, if the ball is held "securely and firmly" in your glove when you touch the base with ANY part of your body -- even your hand or the bottom of your foot -- that would be considered a "tag."Rule 7.08(e) states:Any runner is out when --...(e) He fails to reach the next base before a fielder tags him or the base, after he has been forced to advance by reason of the batter becoming a runner.Thus, if a fielder tags the base the runner must advance to, prior to the runner reaching that base, that runner is out. And touching a base with your hand while holding the ball in your glove would be considered a tag of the base.Note, however, that tagging a player is different, as stated in Rule 2.00 :A TAG is the action of a fielder in ... touching a runner with the ball, or with his hand or glove holding the ball, while holding the ball securely and firmly in his hand or glove.Thus, although you can tag a BASE with the hand that does not hold the ball, you can only tag a RUNNER with the hand (or glove) that is holding the ball.


Does the batter get credit for an RBI on a double play?

no If a player grounds into a double play, then no. However, if a batter hits a sacrifice fly but another runner is tagged out on the play, then yes there is an RBI on the play. Example - Runners on 2nd and 3rd with 0 or 1 out. Batter hits a fly ball to right field. The catch is made and both runners tag and try to advance. The runner scores from 3rd but the runner on 2nd is tagged out trying to advance to 3rd (if the out is the 3rd out then the runner going home must touch home before the tag). In this instance, a double play has been turned since two outs have been recorded on one pitch. Sorry for the long answer.


In cricket what is a court?

You may be thinking of being caught. If a fielder catches the ball after it has been hit by the batsman from a valid ball, within the field of play and before it hits the ground then the batsman is out - caught.


Runner on first batter hits between first and second runner is hit by ball running to second how is the batter scored?

The batter is awarded a single. MLB Rule 10.05(5) states that a batter is credited with a base hit when: "A fair ball that has not been touched by a fielder touches a runner or an umpire, unless a runner is called out for having been touched by an Infield Fly, in which case the official scorer shall not score a hit".


How many unassisted triple plays were there in major league baseball and who made them?

There have been 15 unassisted triple plays in Major League history. Neal Ball SS July 19, 1909 2nd Caught line drive, Touched 2nd, Tagged runner. Bill Wambsganss 2B October 10, 1920 5th Caught line drive, Touched 2nd, Tagged runner. (World Series Game) George Burns 1B September 14, 1923 2nd Caught line drive, Tagged runner off 1st, Touched 2nd before runner returned. Ernie Padgett SS October 6, 1923 4th Caught line drive, Touched 2nd, Tagged runner. Glenn Wright SS May 7, 1925 9th Caught line drive, Touched 2nd, Tagged runner. Jimmy Cooney SS May 30, 1927 4th Caught line drive, Touched 2nd, Tagged runner. Johnny Neun 1B May 31, 1927 9th Caught line drive, Tagged runner off 1st, Touched 2nd before runner returned. Ron Hansen SS July 30, 1968 1st Caught line drive, Touched 2nd, Tagged runner. Mickey Morandini 2B September 20, 1992 6th Caught line drive, Touched 2nd, Tagged runner. John Valentin SS July 8, 1994 6th Caught line drive, Touched 2nd, Tagged runner. Randy Velarde 2B May 29, 2000 6th Caught line drive, Tagged runner, Touched 2nd. Rafael Furcal SS August 10, 2003 5th Caught line drive, Touched 2nd, Tagged runner. Troy Tulowitzki SS April 29, 2007 7th Caught line drive, Touched 2nd, Tagged runner. Asdrubal Cabrera 2B May 12, 2008 Caught line drive, touched 2nd, tagged runner. Eric Bruntlett 2B August 23, 2009 9th (game ending) Caught line drive, touched 2nd, tagged runner.


Runner steals home with two outs and batter hits line drive which is caught but the runner tags home before ball is caught. Does the run count?

Yes it does count cause he scored before the out. If he scores after the out then it doesn't count. It's just like if he stole home plate and during a run down a guy gets caught between bases after. The score happened before the caught line drive. Sorry..the run does not count as the batter hit the pitch for an out. In fact, had there been less than two outs, the runner from third could be thrown out by tagging 3rd before he returned. Think, line drive to a fielder with a runner on any base, and, after the catch, the fielder throws to the base to double up the baserunner. The situation is completely different from the run down situation described above.


Is a runner out in softball if she gets hit by a batted ball?

yes because the batter would have been interfering the play.


Runner scores from first to win game in bottom 9 does the batter get a triple or double or single?

If the ball is hit in to the field, it's a single. If the ball bounces in to the stands, it's a double. If the ball leaves the park on the fly, it's a home run. In order for a game-ending hit to be ruled a double or a home run, the batter must advance to the necessary base. Example: Game 5 of the 1999 NLCS ended on what would have been a grand slam home run. The winning run was on third base and the batter advanced to first and stopped (mobbed by his teammates). He was credited with a 1 RBI single and not a grand slam since only the runner on third scored. The runner on second crossed the plate, but not before the celebration officially ended the game. The runner on first never advanced to second. (Had the batter reached second before the runner on first, he would have been called out.)


What is a delayed steal in softball?

A delayed steal is when after th ball ha been pitched and the ball is fumbled or somthin like that you then run to the next base. A nothere typ of ds (delayed) is when it is a fly ball and after the ball has been caught or droppedyou run


If a batter hits the ball and tries to get the runner at the plate does the batter get a hit recorded?

If a batter hits the ball and a defensive player tries to get the runner at the plate does the batter get a hit recorded?If the official scorekeeper feels that the runner would have been put out at first, it is a Fielder's Choice. If the scorekeeper feels that the runner would have been safe at first anyway, it is a hit.This would be true, unless the runner is thrown out at the plate, then it would again be recorded as a Fielder's Choice.