answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

If there are runners on 1st and 3rd or bases loaded with less than two outs and the fly ball is in the infield, the umpire calls "Infield fly, the batter is out." In this case, the batter is out whether the ball is caught or dropped and all runners may return to their bases with no risk. If a runner wants to advance a base, they may do so at their won risk.

If a batter hits a fly ball to the infield without the condition stated above, then it is like a normal fly ball, if it is caught it's and out. If it is not caught it is a safe ball and the defensive player must try to make the play at the base. These same rules for a fly-ball hit into the outfield.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-10-24 23:20:42
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides

Softball

25 cards

What is the function of the heart

From what country did the Munich Massacre hostages originate

In what year did the Munich Massacre take place

How do you take an accurate pulse

โžก๏ธ
See all cards

Sports

10 cards

Sample of oath of sportsmanship

What is the most common form of violence in sports

What sport was banned by European missionaries because it was considered immoral

What is another name for non-traditional sports

โžก๏ธ
See all cards

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What is the call on the batter on a fly ball?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Is the batter still out if the fly ball is dropped after the infield fly rule has been called?

Yes, the batter is out once the umpire makes the call for the infield fly rule.


Is there a way the batter can reach first safely when the infield fly rule is in effect and the batter hits an infield fly?

No, as long as it is a fair ball. Once the umpire signals the infield fly rule the batter is automatically out. However, if the ball is dropped and is ruled a foul ball, the umpire reverses his call and the batter continues his turn at bat. Nevertheless, the batter can not reach first from that batted ball. You will often find an umpire state "Infield fly, Batter is out if Fair". When the rule is in effect, the batter may not get on first base.


What should the batter when a fly ball is caught?

When a fly ball is caught, the batter doesn't do anything but go back to the dugout.


What is a fly out in softball?

An infield fly is when the batter hits it really high in the infield and no matter if it is caught or dropped, the batter is out. Or just a regular fly ball is when the batter hits the ball into the air and one of the fielders catches it and the batter is out.


If a batter is hit by a ball in the batter's box after he hits the ball what is the call?

foul ball


If a batted ball hits the batter is he out?

If the ball hits the batter in fair territory, the batter is ruled out. If the ball hits the batter in foul territory or the batter's box, the call is a foul ball.


If a player is the dead ball area and reaches into foul territory and catches the foul ball is the batter out?

A batter is out anytime a fielder catches a foul fly ball.


Bases are loaded 2 outsand batter hits fly ball to outfield outfielder catches ball in his hat is the batter out?

Yes


What is it when a pitched ball bounces and the batter swings and hits it in fair territory and it is caught on a fly by a defensive player . Does it count as a fly ball or a ball that already bounced?

The bounce took place before the ball was hit so the ball is a fly ball.


If a fly ball is caught and then in the transfer of the ball from the glove to the hand the ball is dropped is the batter called out?

Yes.


If a player catches a fly ball and in attempting to throw it to hold a runner but drops the ball is this an error on the player and is the hitter awarded a hit?

If the fielder catches the ball and, during the motion of reaching into the glove to grab the ball to throw, the ball drops to the ground the batter is called out. As long as the fielder has complete control of the ball before attempting to throw, the umpire will call the batter out.


What is fly out in softball?

A fly ball out is when they batter hits the ball in the air and one of the fielders on the opposite team catches it while it is still in the air.


What do you call a fly ball catch?

A "Fly out" or "Pop Out" -- generally if it is caught in the outfield it is called a "Fly Out", a ball in the infield is called a "Pop Out"


There is a man on third and the batter hits a fly ball to right field. The right fielder makes an error and the runner on third comes home. Does the hitter get an RBI. Is it a sacrifice fly?

That call is left up to the official scorer. If there were less than two out and the fly ball, in the scorer's opinion, would have been long enough for the runner from third to score after the catch, then the official scorer could rule the play an error and award the batter a sacrifice fly and an RBI.


What is the in-field fly rule?

The infield fly rule is when a better hits a pop-up into the infield and there is a runner on base. The Umpire will call infield fly and the batter is automatically out and the runner on base has to tag up. This prevents the fielder to purposefully drop the fly-ball to turn a double play.


If a Batter is hit by his own infield fly ball while running to base is he out?

Yes. MLB Rule 6.05(g) states that a batter is out when "His fair ball touches him before touching a fielder". If the fair ball touches the batter before it touches a fielder, the batter is called out.


If a ball hits the dirt then the batter What is the call?

There is alot of answers to this questions. If the batter is inside the batters box then it is a foul ball even if the ball hit fair territroy first. If the batter is outside the batter's box then the batter is called out. But if the batter is bunting with a 2 strike count and touches the ball inside the batter's box, then he is out because it is considered to be a fould ball and a two strike foul ball bunt is an out. Also if the batter bunts with a one strike count or less and touches the ball inside the batter's box then it is a fould ball but again if he touched the ball after bunting the ball outside the batter's box then it is an out.


What happens to the runners on an infield fly?

The umpire will call "infield fly, the batter is out." This applies whether or not the ball is actually caught. The runners can return to their bases at no risk to being out. If the do wish, they can choose to try to advance a base, but this is at their own risk.


What does Grounder mean in Baseball Stats?

It is a ball that the batter hits on the ground. Contrary to a fly ball that is hit in the air.


After hitting a fly ball the batter assuming it will be caught for an out jogs toward and almost to the dugout the outfielder drops the ball and the batter runs to first Is he safe?

if the ball doesnt get to the first baseman before the batter does than yes, the batter would be safe and then benched(hence jimmy rollins)


What does the batter do if they hit a fly ball?

Run! You don't know if they are going to catch it or not.


Pitched ball hits ground then batter?

If the ball hits the ground in play then it hits the batter it is call a hit by pitch and the batter will take first base ... You can also hit the ball as it bounces off the ground ...


Is it a hit for the batter when an infielder holds the ball instead of throwing it to a base to get an out?

If he catches the ball on the fly he is out. If he fields a ground ball and does no throw to first he is safe. If he pops up and the umpire rules "infield fly" he is out.


What is a Fly out?

That is when a batter hits the ball in the air and the defender catches it before it hits the ground. Generally, the term 'fly out' is used with a ball hit to an outfielder. The tern 'pop out' is used with a ball hit to an infielder.


If the ball is pitched and the batter doesn't swing but the ball hits the bat what is the call?

It is a strike.