It is called a "ball"
This is called a ball, or a B.
If the pitch is in the strike zone, and the batter does not swing, it is a "strike." If the pitch is not in the strike zone, and the batter does not swing, it is a "ball."
He swung (fanned the air) at the ball for a strike
it is called " a ball" 4 balls and the batter walks to 1st base.
There is no difference from one that does not bounce.
When a pitcher throws a ball over any part of home plate before the catcher catches the ball.
It is a strike.
The batter can run to first if the 3rd strike isn't caught. However, the batter still can be thrown out by the catcher at first base. Yes. A strike is called if the ball crosses home plate at the correct height, which is usually between the knees and the letters. A pitched ball does not have to be caught by the catcher to be called a strike.
MLB Rule 6.08(b) states that a batter is awarded first base when: "He is touched by a pitched ball which he is not attempting to hit unless (1) The ball is in the strike zone when it touches the batter, or (2) The batter makes no attempt to avoid being touched by the ball; If the ball is in the strike zone when it touches the batter, it shall be called a strike, whether or not the batter tries to avoid the ball. If the ball is outside the strike zone when it touches the batter, it shall be called a ball if he makes no attempt to avoid being touched." So, if the ball was in the strike zone when it touched the batter, it would be called a strike. If the ball was outside the strike zone when it touched the batter, it would be called a ball.