Yes, the batter would be out for interference if he's touched by the batted ball in fair territory.
No, it is a dead ball and the batter is out.
batter is out, runners do not advance
HBP by first base...Another answer: HBP (Hit By Pitch) would only apply to a pitched ball, not a batted ball.If a batted ball hits the batter while the ball is in foul territory, it is simply a foul ball. If a batted ball hits the batter while the ball is in fair territory, it would be scored as an out by interference with the catcher being credited with the putout.
Drop the bat, and start running to first base.
If the ball hits the batter in fair territory, the batter is ruled out. If the ball hits the batter in foul territory or the batter's box, the call is a foul ball.
If the batter makes contact with a batted ball while in the batter's box, it is a "dead" ball and declared foul. ---------- True enough, sort of. If a batted ball touches the batter while he is still in the batter's box, then it is foul. However, if the batter hits the ball, and it comes to rest in the batter's box or the batted ball is touched by a defensivce player while it is in the batter's box, and the ball did not touch the batter, it is either fair or foul, depending on the position of the ball at the time it came to rest or was touched by a defensive player. The front portion of the batter's box is in fair territory, and if a batted ball comes to rest or is touched by a defensive player in that part of the batter's box, then it's a fair ball.
A batted ball is a pitched ball that makes contact with the batter's bat, whether intentional or not. A batted ball can be fair or foul.
It is considered a legally batted ball subject to being a fair or foul ball. Also, if a pitched ball bounces in the dirt and strikes the batter, the ball is dead and the batter receives first base as he was legally hit by a pitched ball.
Once a ball has been batted, he/she may not do anything to change the course of the ball.
Should a batted ball hit any base, the ball is considered fair and live and the play continues. It is still up to the defense to field the ball and touch first base before the batter does to record an out.
The fielder who caught the ball had the option to either get the batter running to first or another runner. Example: With a runner of first the batter hits the ball to the short stop. The short stop choices to throw the ball to second to get the runner out but the batter reaches first base safely.
If a batted ball hits a baserunner in fair territory, the baserunner is out and the batter is awarded first base. If the baserunner is in foul territory and is hit by a batted ball it is just a foul ball. If a baserunner is hit by a thrown ball the ball is still in play, unless it is determined that the baserunner purposely moved into the path of the thrown ball, or is running out of the base path, then the baserunner is out for interference.
dead ball, the runner is out and the putout goes to the closest fielder...the batter gets credit for a hit and if there are other runners that are forced to advance by the batter getting first (in this case, a runner on first), he gets to advance also...if there are 2 outs, the batter still gets credit for a hit but the inning is over
No...as soon as the batted ball touches the runner, the ball is dead.
the batter is awarded a base hit.
No, as long as it is a fair ball. Once the umpire signals the infield fly rule the batter is automatically out. However, if the ball is dropped and is ruled a foul ball, the umpire reverses his call and the batter continues his turn at bat. Nevertheless, the batter can not reach first from that batted ball. You will often find an umpire state "Infield fly, Batter is out if Fair". When the rule is in effect, the batter may not get on first base.
If a batted ball hits a runner in fair territory, the runner is out, and the batter is credited with a single and takes 1st base
The batter is out unless a fielder touched the ball
There are many characteristics in baseball. The main characteristics are pitching the ball to the batter and then the batter running after hitting the ball.
If the batter intentionally or accidently kicks the ball, he is considered out. Any contact after a batted ball by the batter is an out. See the rules, 6 (batter), and 7 (runner) in the link below. Keep in mind that the offensive players on the field are the batter and runners. If the ball makes incidental contact with an offensive player (as opposed to intentional on the part of a defensive player) before the ball contacts a defensive player, the offensive player is out. One exception to this is when a ball contacts a batter in the batter's box, provided the batter is not swinging on a third strike, in which case he is out. Ball contact with the batter mean he takes first, with the one exception of course.
The batter is supposed to stay within the rectangle when running to first base. If the batter is outside the box and gets hit with a thrown ball, they can be called out for running outside the baseline.
No when the batter gets hit by the ball it is called and walk and the batter gets to go to first base
no, it would be batter's interference