answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

This play is referred to as "redeye". If a batter misses (or does not swing) at the 3rd strike, and the catcher drops it, the runner must run to first before the catcher throws the dropped pitch to first. If the runner is beaten by the throw, it is simply a strikeout in the books. If the runner beats out the throw, it still goes as a strikeout, but his advance to first will be listed as an error by either the pitcher or the catcher (depending on how bad the pitch was, and the reason it was not caught). In Little League (60 foot basepaths) batter is out on strike three no matter what the catcher does.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2008-07-07 21:58:42
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What happens when strike three goes by and you swung and missed and the catcher drops it?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

How do you score a missed third strike if catcher drops the ball and the batter is out at first?

"Dropped third strike", batter swings and misses the third strike, he then runs to an unoccupied first base, but catcher throws him out at first to complete the STRIKE OUT. it's a STRIKE OUT (Capital "K" in the book).


Why can a hitter run to first base on a strike 3 when the catcher drops the ball?

A hitter can only run to first if the catcher drops the third strike. Because of the dropped third strike rule.


Does runner run if catcher drops third strike?

Yes


Is the pitcher credited with a strike out if the catcher drops ball on third strike?

yes, so as a result it is possible to strike out four batters in an inning


Can a batter advance on strike 3 when bases are loaded?

Yes, if the catcher drops the ball


How do you score a missed third strike if catcher drops third ball and the batter is safe at first?

It is scored as a strike out for the pitcher (as far as the pitcher's stats) but not an out against the team at bat. The base runner's advance to 1st is scored as a passed ball (error) on the cather.


If the catcher drops the third strike and the batter is safe at first base is that an error on the catcher?

Yes the official scoring notation is K-E2 (strikeout - error on the catcher)


What is the third strike drop rule?

it is where if the catcher drops the third strike pitched then the batter can run to first base. HOpe this helps :)


Can balls drop?

No. If a catcher drops the ball, it's considered uncaught. It counts as though the catcher missed the ball entirely. If a pitcher drops the ball, they may be charged with a balk. Obviously, these situations are rare in MLB and all professional play.


Is it possible to strike out but still get to first?

yes in major leagues. im not sure about other leagues. if the batter gets a strike three he may try to go to first but the catcher will attempt to throw him out. it is best to do this play on a third strike that the catcher drops or fumbles. this type of play is rrare


In baseball how many outs are there per inning?

Seriously if you are asking This you don't deserve to know but there are usually 3 but there can be more if the catcher drops the ball on a third strike(which is usually an out) if this happens you may run to first and if the catcher or other opposing player does not make the throw before you make it you are safe


Catcher drops glove with ball still inside on third strike is batter out?

the batter has a strike out but the catcher glove dropping is the same a the ball dropping and thebatter will run to first ... which the catcher will throw the ball to for the put out ... It is a strikeout, but the batter is not out until he is either tagged out by the catcher, or the ball is thrown to first for the put out, or the batter leaves the home plate area to return to the dugout.


How can a pitcher make 4 strikeouts in one inning?

if on one of the strike outs the catcher drops the ball and the batter reaches first base safely the out does not count


Catcher drops a third strike and overthrows first baseball rolls past left field foul pole out of play Where should the batter who struck out be?

Second base.


In baseball can you make an error on a foul ball?

Yes. For example, if the batter pops up into foul territory behind the catcher, the catcher can be scored for an error if he gets under the ball, the ball drops into his glove, but he then drops the ball. The batter gets another chance to bat, but no matter what happens later in his at-bat, the run will be unearned due to the catcher's error.


If the catcher drops the ball on a walk is the player out?

no


Is an out called if the batter nicks the ball and the catcher catches it before it hits the ground?

Only if it is on a third strike. That would be considered a foul tip and, by official rule, is different from a foul ball. A foul tip is when the catcher catches a ball that is 'tipped' by the batter and the ball goes straight back into the catcher's mitt. If the catcher drops the ball it is considered a foul ball and not a foul tip.


When a runner is on first base and there is two outs and the batter strikes out and the catcher drops the ball can the batter run to first base?

Yes, with two outs the uncaught third strike rule is not in effect.


What is a drop ball?

it is a pitch in fastpitch softball that's starts knee to thigh high and drops through the strike zone while crossing the plate preferably into the dirt right in front of the catcher.


In softball what is the rule for drop 3rd strike?

First of all, I'm assuming you are referring to fast pitch softball. the rule is that the batter is automatically out with a third strike ball is not caught by the catcher AND when first base is occupied AND there are less than two outs. The runners are not forced to advance but they can run at their own risk. If they do choose to run, a tag is required since this is not a force play. If the catcher drops the third strike, the batter can run to first base. But, the catcher can throw to first and get them out. This rule does not apply if there is a runner on first already, the batter just gets out.


Does batter have to swing at third strike to be eligible to advance on dropped pitch?

No he does not. He can take the pitch and if the catcher drops it or the ball gets by him the dropped third strike rule is in affect unless there is somone on first with less than 2 outs. If there are 2 outs the rule is in affect even with a runner on 1st.


If a runner on fist attempts to steal and the catcher drops the third strike during the same play is the batter out?

The batter is only out on a dropped third strike when there are less than two outs and first base was occupied at the start of the pitch. With two outs the batter may take first base on a dropped third strike even if it was occupied at the start of the pitch.


If catcher drops the ball can the batter run to first?

Only on a third strike with 1st base un-occupied. This does not apply to Little League. Note: he is entitled to TRY to run to first base. He can be thrown out by the catcher if the throw reaches the baseman before the runner. If he beats the throw, then he is safe. The pitcher is given credit for a strikeout. The catcher is given an error.


What Ways can you get to first base in softball?

There are several different ways to get to first base. One is if you hit the ball and make it safely to first without getting tagged or thrown out. Another way is being walked. This means the pitcher throws you 4 balls. In some leagues, if you strike out and the catcher drops the third strike, you can also run to first. This can only happen when there is no one on first base. The catcher can tag you or throw you out.


How many outs before a baseball team switches sides?

After three outs half of the inning is over and the teams switch sides. Well, that's true most of the time. However, if the catcher drops the ball on the third strike of the last out in an inning, the batter may attempt to steal first, and must be thrown or tagged out by the catcher (or the catcher can touch home base for the force-out in a bases loaded situation). So it is possible for a "side" to have four or more outs before the side is retired. This happens with a fair bit of regularity. It could be more than four if the final strike for the fourth out is also dropped by the catcher, and the runner safely gets to first. I don't know if this particular situation has ever come to pass in a MLB game.

Study guides

๐Ÿ““
Create a Study Guide