A called strike cannot hit the ground and then go thru the strike zone. Baseball rule section 2.00 Definitions of Terms: A ball is a pitch which does not enter the strike zone in flight and is not struck at by the batter. If the pitch touches the ground and bounces through the strike zone it is a "ball". If such a pitch touches the batter, he shall be awarded first base. If the batter swings at such a pitch after two strikes, the ball cannot be caught, for the purposes of rule 6.05 (c) and 6.09 (b). If the batter hits such a pitch, the ensuing action shall be the same as if he hit the ball in flight.
It is considered a legally batted ball subject to being a fair or foul ball. Also, if a pitched ball bounces in the dirt and strikes the batter, the ball is dead and the batter receives first base as he was legally hit by a pitched ball.
Yes, you are awarded first base. When a pitched ball hits the ground before reaching home plate it does not become a dead ball. You can swing and miss and it is a strike. You can swing and hit the ball and it is a live ball. If the ball bounces and then comes up over the plate it can NOT be a called strike.
Yes it is a hit. If the ball bounces off a car three miles away and come back in the strike zone the batter can hit it. If he doesn't it is a strike. As long as it gets to the batter it is playable unless it hits the batter.AnswerOfficial baseball rules, definitions of terms section 2.00: A ball is a pitch which does not enter the strike zone in flight and is not struck at by the batter. If the pitch touches the ground and bounces through the strike zone it is a "ball." If such a pitch touches the batter, he shall be awarded first base. If the batter hits such a pitch, the ensuing action shall be the same as if he hit the ball in flight. That first answer is so far off base it isn't even funny -- as soon as it hits the dirt it can only be a strike if the batter swings -- this isn't crickett
If the ball lands in the dirt and the batter swings at it, I believe that is a strike, even if he hits it into fair territory. This is another one that may have to be improved by somebody else if I'm wrong, but I don't think I am on this one.
It has to be caught it-the-air first. "Dropped Third Strike" is a misleading term. It should be called the "Uncaught Third Strike". So, if the ball touches the dirt before reaching the catcher, it is indeed a dropped third strike.
There is alot of answers to this questions. If the batter is inside the batters box then it is a foul ball even if the ball hit fair territroy first. If the batter is outside the batter's box then the batter is called out. But if the batter is bunting with a 2 strike count and touches the ball inside the batter's box, then he is out because it is considered to be a fould ball and a two strike foul ball bunt is an out. Also if the batter bunts with a one strike count or less and touches the ball inside the batter's box then it is a fould ball but again if he touched the ball after bunting the ball outside the batter's box then it is an out.
It is a dead ball and the batter is awarded first base and is ruled a hit by pitch
Your question is worded weird but, if the court is made of clay, the ball would bounce better than a dirt court, so it affects how well the ball bounces
In today's games, most baseballs are removed from play in both cases. You just may not notice the ball being removed after and grounder, but it normally is.
can a ball go faster on dirt
On Dirt On Dirt
A ball can go further on grass than dirt because in dirt there are some rocks that can stop the ball.