If the runner does not run to first base but instead walks back to the dugout he will be called out once he leaves the baseline. Then what happens is he may be fined by the team for not hustling.
Yes.
Anytime a third strike is dropped the runner can advance to first unless he is tagged or the ball is thrown to first before he reaches.
The dropped third strike rule in baseball allows the batter to try to run to first base after the catcher fails to catch the third strike. This rule adds excitement and strategy to the game, as it gives the batter a chance to reach base even after striking out.
yes
Yes, it is scored as an official time at bat and a strikeout.
No, As long as it is unintentional as ruled by the the umpirers
No he does not. He can take the pitch and if the catcher drops it or the ball gets by him the dropped third strike rule is in affect unless there is somone on first with less than 2 outs. If there are 2 outs the rule is in affect even with a runner on 1st.
Defensive indifference occurs when a defensive team does not attempt to make a play on a runner advancing to the next base, often seen when the game situation suggests it won't affect the outcome. In the case of a dropped third strike, if the batter does not attempt to run to first base, and the defense does not try to throw him out, it can be considered defensive indifference. However, if the batter does run and the defense makes no effort to tag him out, it is not classified as defensive indifference but rather as an error or a missed opportunity to make a play. The distinction lies in whether the batter attempts to advance after the dropped third strike.
A called strike cannot hit the ground and then go thru the strike zone. Baseball rule section 2.00 Definitions of Terms: A ball is a pitch which does not enter the strike zone in flight and is not struck at by the batter. If the pitch touches the ground and bounces through the strike zone it is a "ball". If such a pitch touches the batter, he shall be awarded first base. If the batter swings at such a pitch after two strikes, the ball cannot be caught, for the purposes of rule 6.05 (c) and 6.09 (b). If the batter hits such a pitch, the ensuing action shall be the same as if he hit the ball in flight.
Yes, it is. When a pitcher strikes someone out, the ball will occasionally pop out of the catcher's glove while the batter is swinging. When that happens, the batter can run for first. The pitcher, however, is still credited with the strikeout.Therefore, a pitcher could strike 6 people out if 3 people reached base when the catcher dropped the ball 3 times and if the pitcher struck out 3 batters regularly.
If the pitch is in the strike zone, and the batter does not swing, it is a "strike." If the pitch is not in the strike zone, and the batter does not swing, it is a "ball."
Well, first of all, a dropped third strike is an out if the catcher's throw beats the runner. It's that way because that's just the rule.