A catch, usually by an outfielder running in on the ball, that is made with the glove practically touching the ground (at the height of the shoestrings).
if the umpire thinks the fielder with the glove "has control of" the ball, then runner is out. i can't imagine this happening.
If the baseball hits the fielders glove, then goes over the wall on a fly in fair territory, it is a home run.
Yes, runner cannot intentionally dislodge ball from fielders glove.
For there to be a legal catch, there must be a catch and voluntary release of the ball. Therefore, if the ball knocks the glove off the fielder's hand, he didn't meet either of the criteria for a catch: he didn't catch it, and he didn't release the ball voluntarily.
In the game rounders, fielders must be outside of the bases in order to catch the ball after the pitch. They don't have to be in specific locations and can move around to the best location to catch the ball before it hits the ground.
No, As soon as it hits anything other then a player, its a hit. For example, If it hits the bag or the wall or your glove then the wall, its a hit. If it hits someones foot first and then its caught, its a catch
its a catch
ground rule double.
1) You make fair contact with the ball, and either ground-out or fly-out. 2) You take your lead to early (before the ball is released from the pitchers hand) and the base umpire catches you. 3) You strike out. 4) You foul tip the ball into the catchers glove 5) You run on a hit ball and the play is made at the bag you are attempting to advance to on a fielders choice. 6) You are running the base path and the hit ball hit you before it is fielded by the defense.
As long as the ball does not touch the ground or a wall, the batter is called out.