answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

No the runner is not out unless the first baseman tags him, the first baseman touches the bag before the runner there, or the runner steps out of the baseline. The runner could go back and forth on the base path for as long as he can stay safe. So simply, no the runner is not out yet.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-06-01 17:29:17
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Runner hits the ball and takes off to first and the first baseman grabs the ball and attempts to tag the runner but the runner takes a step back to home plate. Is the runner considered out?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

In MLB does the baseman need to touch the base to get the runner out?

If it is a force (i.e. there are people on all the bases behind the runner) play, then yes, the baseman needs to touch the base to get the runner out. If the runner is not required to move to that base, then the baseman must tag the runner to get him out. The baseman does not NEED to touch the base to record the out. The defense may tag the runner OR the bag.


Why does a second baseman have to tag a base stealer?

Any time a runner is not forced to advance to the next base, the defensiver player must tag the runner. If a runner is attempting to steal 2nd, either the 2nd baseman or the shortstop must tag the runner.


Can you toss your glove with the baseball in it to a first baseman and the runner be out?

lol and yes if you he has the ball making this wacky play the runner is out


If on a fielders choice the 2nd baseman doesn't touch the base can the runner be out?

If the runner gets tagged, then he is out. If the base doesn't get stepped on or the runner gets tagged, then he is safe.


Man at first ground ball first baseman tags first runner does not advance to second stays on first is this a double play?

If the runner remains standing on the bag when the 1st baseman touches the bag and the 1st baseman does not tag the runner prior to touching the bag, then the runner is safe and you have no double play. Answer To clarify, once the Batter becomes a batter-runner, the runner at first loses his right to occupy first base and is forced to advance. If he is tagged while standing on the base, he is out. If the first baseman then steps on first base the Batter-runner is also out -- Double Play. BUT, if the first baseman first steps on the base the batter-runner is out and the force is removed. If the runner standing on first base is now tagged he is safe.


Is there such a call as runner enterference in baseball?

Yes. Most runner interference calls are made on the runner sliding into the second baseman or shortstop to break up a double play.


Can a second baseman go in the base line of second when runner is coming from first?

if he interferes with the runner that would be called obstruction


When there is a person running to 2nd does the 2nd baseman have to have his foot on the base to get the runner out?

if the runner is stealing no but if there was a ground ball and he is running then yes


When there is a runner on first - the batter hits a ground ball to the first baseman who steps on first and then tags the runner who remains on first - Who is out?

If the first baseman tags first base, the runner originally on first is therefore not forced to second base and he is safe at first.


If you have a runner on first and a runner on third and the runner on first attempts to steal second at the same time the runner on third takes off and scores does the batter get the RBI?

ed Parker isn't


Can a first basemen interfere with a runner if play is at first base?

Yes a first baseman can interfere with a runner if the play is at first base


In baseball is the third baseman allowed to block the base against the incoming runner?

If the 3rd baseman blocks the base without having the ball in his possession, it's obstruction, and the runner could be awarded home by the umpire, but at the very least, the runner will be safe at 3B.


The runner at 1st does not run and now the batter and runner are standing at 1st base. Does the 1st baseman have to tag the runners or by touching 1st base is the runner out that did not attempt torun?

To my understanding, either way. But the net result is that the lead runner is out.


Can a first baseman be called for a balk?

Yes if he there is a runner on first and the first baseman has his foot is across foul line .


Does first baseman hold runner on with runners on first and 2nd?

The first baseman will in some cases. If the runner at first is a very important potential run with less than two outs, yes they will be held. Holding the runner on decreases the lead-off the runner has, so by holding the runner, the runner has longer to go to score. If there are two outs, the fielders will normally not hold the runner because if any out is recorded, the inning is over. In this case you want the fielder in the best position to get the out. In other cases, it is just the coach's philosophy.


Can a runner knock over the first baseman on his way to first?

only if he is in your baseline


If the first baseman tags a runner instead of the base is it a force out?

yes it is a force out


Does a 1st baseman foot have to touch 1st base while holding the runner on?

no


When must a base runner be tagged in softball?

When there isn't a runner behind them forcing them to run. For example, if a runner is on 2nd base but there is no one on 1st base, the runner must be tagged on their way to 3rd in order to get them out. However, if there IS a runner on 1st, the 3rd baseman can simply touch the base because it is a force out.


Bases are loaded and one out A ball is hit to the second baseman and he fields it cleanly but is hit by the runner therefore can't make a play.what is the ruling?

Runner is out.


Can the first baseman stand on first base while the runner is advancing to second on an extra base hit?

Yes, as long as he does not interfere with the base runner.


When there is a runner on first and the batter hits a ground ball to the first baseman should the first baseman throw the ball to second?

If the first baseman has time they should tag the runner. If the runner is already too far they should throw it. If the first baseman is close to first, they should step on first and then throw the ball to the shortstop at second. Note: Tagging first base first takes away the force out at second and the runner must then be tagged. They are also allowed to return to first base.


Is it still considered a force if with a runner on first the fielder chooses to throw to first but the runner is safe but the runner from first falls and the first baseman throws to second base?

Once the batter/runner is forced out at 1st base, the force out of all other base runners is no longer in effect. Therefore, even if the original runner at 1st falls, he must be tagged out. He could, in fact, return to first and be safe there if he is not tagged out.


Runner on 1st - Pitcher steps off behind mound and throws to 2nd baseman in between 1st and 2nd then walks runner back to 1st - Is this a balk?

No, the pitcher stepped off the rubber and the runner was asleep(?) No, the pitcher stepped off the rubber and the runner was asleep(?)


Is a runner on first out if he makes contact with the 2nd baseman while running to 2nd base on a popup before the 2nd baseman catches the ball with contact occurring after runner reaches 2nd base?

No. A runner is out anytime while running to a base if he makes contact with the ball or the glove that the ball is in. On a pop-fly, a player with the ball only needs to touch the base the runner left from if the runner did not tag-up to the bag after the ball was caught.