answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

No, once the fielder comes in contact with the batted ball a runner cannot be called for runner interference unless he intentionally goes out of his way (basepath) to make contact with the fielder

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-06-21 20:20:49
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If a infielder boots the ball from out of the base path into the base path and the runner runs in to him while he is trying to field the ball is the runner out?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

If a base runner is advancing the infielder approaches and makes contact with the runner as he is running through the basepath to field the ball is the base runner out?

If the fielder has fielded a ball and has it in his possesion yes. If the fielder is in the path of the base and does not have the ball, the answer is no New answer: The fielder may enter the base path to field a BATTED ball and the runner must avoid contact whether the fielder has possession or not. The above answer is correct for a thrown ball only. (ie. the third baseman cannot position himself on the basepath while waiting for a throw from left field while the runner is advancing from 1st to 3rd on a hit.


How would you score this if the batter hits a ball the drops in center field but the runner at first is thrown out at second?

If the runner at second is out by being forced out, the batter is not given a base hit .... the play is ruled the same as if the ball was hit to an infielder that threw to second to force the runner. If the runner at second is out by being tagged because they rounded the base too far, the batter is given a base hit.


Are the chances of a short person making it to the major leagues better as a catcher or an infielder?

infielder there are more on the field and catcher is the hardest position to play


What is the difference between Field and paddock boots?

Field boots are knee high leather boots that lace up at the ankle. Paddock boots are short leather boots that can either zip or lace.


Where does the field umpire stand if a runner is on first?

The field umpire will stand between the first base runner and the wall.


What is Field boots dressage boots?

Field boots are simply just boots that are not dress boots and that you do not mind getting scratched or mucked up with dirt or anything. Where a dress boot is one that is worth more, is more easily scratched, and you wear in shows or fancy events.


If a base runner is hit by the ball is it a dead ball?

No. Runner is part of the field, therefor the ball is in play and the runner is out.


Who was the first track and field runner?

It is unknown who the first runner is, seeing as track and field running have been around sense the caveman era.


What is the required footware for show jumping?

Tall boots with a 1/2 inch heel is the norm show jumping. There are different varieties but the 2 basics are the 'field boot' and 'dress boot'. Field boots have lacing at the instep for easier on and off. Field boots are perfectly fine for most showing. Dress boots are for bigger shows, hunter classes, dressage. They a like field boots but are smooth all the way up with no lacing on the instep.


Is runner out if fielder does not field the ball and the runner is then hit by the ball?

If a runner in fair territory is struck by a batted ball prior to the ball having been fielded, the runner is out.


Runner from 2nd base runs into the shortstop fielding the ball is the runner out?

the fielder has the right to field the ball... the runner is OUT if he interferes in ANY way.


Does the run count when a batter bunts and the runner on third scores before the first baseman tags the batter for the third out?

No, because the third out was made on the same play. It is no different than if the batter hits a ground ball to the shortstop or any other infielder and is thrown out at first base for the third out. However, if there are two outs and there is a runner on third and the batter hits a single into left field but is thrown out at second when attempting to turn the play into a double and the runner on third makes it home before the third out at second is recorded, the run does count. Hope that isn't too confusing.


What is a bad hop?

A bad hop is a baseball term for a ball which bounces in front of an infielder in an unexpected way, often as a result of imperfections in the field.


Can a runner go to the dugout and then return to the base?

once the runner leaves the field and enters the dugout they are considered out.


What is the difference between dressage boots and riding boots?

There are two basic styles of riding boots for English riding. Field and dress boots. Most dressage riders use dress boots while competing.


CAn a runner turn in towards the playing field?

It's not wise. A batter running towards the playing field can be mistaken for trying to take second base. The manager won't let him do it anyway. They are drilled from little league on up never to turn in towards the playing field. By the time they are in the pros, it's second nature.


Is it possible to hit a single but not get to first base?

Yes it is posible. If a batter is to hit it into left field which would normally get him a single, but he also tries for second and is thrown out trying to get to second it will count as a single even though the runner is out.


Who is the fastest field runner?

Currently Usain Bolt is the fastest runner in the world holding the 100 and 200m titles.


How fast is the fastest runner in mph?

In Track & Field the fastest runner is Usane Bolt from Jamaica at approximately 30 MPH.


What is a game like field runner online?

Temple run


What is a short distance runner for tack and field called?

A sprinter


What is a Gazelle Runner?

an amazingly fast field hockey player


Does a runner who is at first when the ball was hit and caught in the air in center field get to go to third if when they try to double him off at first and over throw and the ball goes out of the fie?

Yes ... MLB Rule 7.05(g) states that a runner may advance ... "Two bases when, with no spectators on the playing field, a thrown ball goes into the stands, or into a bench (whether or not the ball rebounds into the field), or over or under or through a field fence, or on a slanting part of the screen above the backstop, or remains in the meshes of a wire screen protecting spectators. The ball is dead. When such wild throw is the first play by an infielder, the umpire, in awarding such bases, shall be governed by the position of the runners at the time the ball was pitched; in all other cases the umpire shall be governed by the position of the runners at the time the wild throw was made".


Is runner out or safe if a batted ball hits him while on base?

The base runner is out regardless if he/she is touching a base or not, assuming he is hit in fair territory.The only exceptions are:Runner is standing on the base and is hit by an "infield fly"Ball got by a fielder (other than the pitcher) attempting to field the ballBall touched a fielderThis is all stated clearly in rule 7.08 (f):[Any runner is out when --] He is touched by a fair ball in fair territory before the ball has touched or passed an infielder. The ball is dead and no runner may score, nor runners advance, except runners forced to advance. EXCEPTION: If a runner is touching his base when touched by an Infield Fly, he is not out, although the batter is out;


Is the batter out if the batter hits a ball and throws his bat and the bat hits the catcher and as a result the catcher is unable to field a throw for a play at the plate?

Yes. If at any point in a game, the batter or baserunner interferes with the fielder, he is an automatic out. If he impedes the throw to get out another runner, the other runner is out as well. For instance, on a double play, if the runner going to second is already out by force at 2nd, and he plows into the short stop trying to throw the other runner out at first, the runner going to first is also out. The baserunner must always slide or otherwise avoid excessive contact with the fielder on a double play.