yes there is a penalty shot awarded in Ice Hockey when a player is on a break away and is tripped or interfered with from behind.
When a player is on a break-away with no defense between him and the goalie, and he's tripped, hooked, or anything that causes him to lose control and is considered a penalty, he is awarded a penalty shot.
It is called a penalty shot.
The term penalty shot is used in ice hockey and polo. In soccer, the term penalty kick is used.
I am pretty sure that a penalty shot is considered a shot on goal; however, shots from a shoot out do NOT count as a shot on goal.
Yes, Yes it does
No, a penalty shot is called when a player has a clear breakway and is obstructed in any illegal way. When a referee calls a penalty shot, there is no choice, the player who was obstructed must take the shot.
In ice hockey, if you throw it at some one to poke the puck away or trip them, I believe that it's a penalty or a penalty shot. In field hockey, you will probably be given a yellow card, along with the appropriate penalty.
No, skaters cannot intentionally cover the puck or else it's a 2:00 delay of game penalty against the player. If the puck is covered by a skater in the crease, a penalty shot is awarded to the opposing team. The crease is the painted area in front of the goal, and that area extends upward from the ice surface up to infinity. (Think of a half cylinder extending upwards from the ice.) If a defending skater cups his hand around the puck or otherwise covers it while in this "half cylinder" a penalty shot is awarded. The puck does not have to be touching the ice.
A power play is when the opposing team has a penalty. a penalty is when you have a penalty and are trying to kill it off.
It depends. In men's ice hockey you are allowed to hit people. In woman's ice hockey you can get a 2 minute minor penalty for body checking.
A box between benches that a player has to sit in for the duration of his penalty time
12 including goalies unless there is a penalty.