answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

yes, so as a result it is possible to strike out four batters in an inning

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-05-24 16:53:35
This answer is:
๐Ÿฆƒ
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Is the pitcher credited with a strike out if the catcher drops ball on third strike?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Why can a hitter run to first base on a strike 3 when the catcher drops the ball?

A hitter can only run to first if the catcher drops the third strike. Because of the dropped third strike rule.


How can a pitcher make 4 strikeouts in one inning?

if on one of the strike outs the catcher drops the ball and the batter reaches first base safely the out does not count


How do you score a missed third strike if catcher drops third ball and the batter is safe at first?

It is scored as a strike out for the pitcher (as far as the pitcher's stats) but not an out against the team at bat. The base runner's advance to 1st is scored as a passed ball (error) on the cather.


Does runner run if catcher drops third strike?

Yes


What happens when strike three goes by and you swung and missed and the catcher drops it?

This play is referred to as "redeye". If a batter misses (or does not swing) at the 3rd strike, and the catcher drops it, the runner must run to first before the catcher throws the dropped pitch to first. If the runner is beaten by the throw, it is simply a strikeout in the books. If the runner beats out the throw, it still goes as a strikeout, but his advance to first will be listed as an error by either the pitcher or the catcher (depending on how bad the pitch was, and the reason it was not caught). In Little League (60 foot basepaths) batter is out on strike three no matter what the catcher does.


Can a batter advance on strike 3 when bases are loaded?

Yes, if the catcher drops the ball


How do you score a missed third strike if catcher drops the ball and the batter is out at first?

"Dropped third strike", batter swings and misses the third strike, he then runs to an unoccupied first base, but catcher throws him out at first to complete the STRIKE OUT. it's a STRIKE OUT (Capital "K" in the book).


If the catcher drops the third strike and the batter is safe at first base is that an error on the catcher?

Yes the official scoring notation is K-E2 (strikeout - error on the catcher)


What is the third strike drop rule?

it is where if the catcher drops the third strike pitched then the batter can run to first base. HOpe this helps :)


Is it possible to strike out but still get to first?

yes in major leagues. im not sure about other leagues. if the batter gets a strike three he may try to go to first but the catcher will attempt to throw him out. it is best to do this play on a third strike that the catcher drops or fumbles. this type of play is rrare


Can balls drop?

No. If a catcher drops the ball, it's considered uncaught. It counts as though the catcher missed the ball entirely. If a pitcher drops the ball, they may be charged with a balk. Obviously, these situations are rare in MLB and all professional play.


If catcher drops the ball can the batter run to first?

Only on a third strike with 1st base un-occupied. This does not apply to Little League. Note: he is entitled to TRY to run to first base. He can be thrown out by the catcher if the throw reaches the baseman before the runner. If he beats the throw, then he is safe. The pitcher is given credit for a strikeout. The catcher is given an error.


What Ways can you get to first base in softball?

There are several different ways to get to first base. One is if you hit the ball and make it safely to first without getting tagged or thrown out. Another way is being walked. This means the pitcher throws you 4 balls. In some leagues, if you strike out and the catcher drops the third strike, you can also run to first. This can only happen when there is no one on first base. The catcher can tag you or throw you out.


The number of strikeouts in an inning of baseball?

There can be an infinite number of strikeouts in one inning. Usually and most of the time there are three but there are times it can be 4 or more. If the catcher drops a third strike and the batter reaches first base safely, that is still recorded as a strikeout for the pitcher.


Catcher drops glove with ball still inside on third strike is batter out?

the batter has a strike out but the catcher glove dropping is the same a the ball dropping and thebatter will run to first ... which the catcher will throw the ball to for the put out ... It is a strikeout, but the batter is not out until he is either tagged out by the catcher, or the ball is thrown to first for the put out, or the batter leaves the home plate area to return to the dugout.


What happens if the pitcher drops the ball while in contact with the runner?

If the pitcher is in contact with the runner, the runner is safe if the pitcher drops the ball. If the pitcher is in contact with the rubber, it is a balk if he drops the ball.


Catcher drops a third strike and overthrows first baseball rolls past left field foul pole out of play Where should the batter who struck out be?

Second base.


Why can a hitter run to 1st base if the catcher drops the ball?

The batter can advance because the ball is still live, same as every runner on any base. The catcher must catch the ball directly from the pitcher to complete a strikeout.


Umpire calls a batter out and catcher drops the ball and batter advances to first is he safe or out at first?

If he is called out on strikes and the catcher drops the ball, the batter may try to run to first base. In order to be put out, the catcher must throw the ball and get him out at first before he gets to the base. If the runner beats the throw, then the runner is safe. The pitcher is given credit for a strikeout. The catcher is given an error. This is how pitchers can have 4 strikeouts in an inning, which happened in MLB this week.


Is an out called if the batter nicks the ball and the catcher catches it before it hits the ground?

Only if it is on a third strike. That would be considered a foul tip and, by official rule, is different from a foul ball. A foul tip is when the catcher catches a ball that is 'tipped' by the batter and the ball goes straight back into the catcher's mitt. If the catcher drops the ball it is considered a foul ball and not a foul tip.


When a runner is on first base and there is two outs and the batter strikes out and the catcher drops the ball can the batter run to first base?

Yes, with two outs the uncaught third strike rule is not in effect.


What is a drop ball?

it is a pitch in fastpitch softball that's starts knee to thigh high and drops through the strike zone while crossing the plate preferably into the dirt right in front of the catcher.


If the catcher drops the ball on a walk is the player out?

no


In baseball how many outs are there per inning?

Seriously if you are asking This you don't deserve to know but there are usually 3 but there can be more if the catcher drops the ball on a third strike(which is usually an out) if this happens you may run to first and if the catcher or other opposing player does not make the throw before you make it you are safe


In softball what is the rule for drop 3rd strike?

First of all, I'm assuming you are referring to fast pitch softball. the rule is that the batter is automatically out with a third strike ball is not caught by the catcher AND when first base is occupied AND there are less than two outs. The runners are not forced to advance but they can run at their own risk. If they do choose to run, a tag is required since this is not a force play. If the catcher drops the third strike, the batter can run to first base. But, the catcher can throw to first and get them out. This rule does not apply if there is a runner on first already, the batter just gets out.