answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

no, but the base runner is out if he is struck by a BATTED ball (but he isn't out if he touches a ball thrown by a fielder)

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-06-05 14:15:38
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Is the batter out if the base runner touches the ball?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

In softball how can a runner be out?

The batter is out, if they hit a ball in the air and a defensive player catches the ball before it touches the ground, in fair or foul territory. If a defensive player has the ball in control and touches a base before the runner, the runner is out. If a defensive player has the ball in control and touches the runner with the ball in their hand or glove, the runner is out.


A runner not touching the base and a fielder touches him with a glove and ball is?

The runner is out as long as the fielder you touches has the ball in his glove


If the runner is tagged out then the fielder drops the ball and the runner touches the base is he out?

No


Is the batter out when he hits his own player with a hit ball?

No, the batter is not out. The runner could be out though. For example in Little League if the runner touches the ball before it goes by a fielder, the runner is out. (The pitcher does not count as a fielder for the purpose of the rule) The runner is not out if he/she is touching a base.


What happens if a runner touches or interferes with a active ball?

If the runner is standing on a base, nothing happens; the ball is live. If the runner is not standing on a base, the ball is declared dead and the runner is out.


If a batted ball hits a base runner is the batter safe or out?

When a batted ball hits a runner, A) the runner is out for interference, unless B) the ball first touches a defensive player or an umpire, then the runner is not out and the ball is live, unless C) the umpire judges the runner deliberately made contact with the ball, whereupon the umpire may call the runner out for interference and may also call the batter out for the runner's interference.


There is a runner at 1st and 2nd base the batter hits the ball the SS fields the ball and throws it to the 3rd basemen who does not tag the player but instead touches the base with his foot Out?

Out. Force play.


Is the runner out if he leaves the base before batter hits the ball?

Absolutely not -- a runner can (and invariable does) leave the base even before the pitcher throws the ball to the batter! That's called leading off. A batter can attempt to run to the next base without the batter hitting it -- ie, stealing a base. PERHAPS what you're asking about is what happens if the runner leaves the base before the ball is hit AND the batter hits the ball AND the ball is caught by a fielder before it hits the ground AND the ball is then thrown to the base where the runner was AND the ball is held there before the runner returns to that base. If ALL of those things happen, then the runner is out.


Does a batter get credit for hit if the batted ball hits a base runner?

If a batted ball hits a runner in fair territory, the runner is out, and the batter is credited with a single and takes 1st base


Does a batter have to make a attempt to get out of the way of a dead ball hit pitch?

Rule 6.08 (b) states:The batter becomes a runner and is entitled to first base without liability to be out (provided he advances to and touches first base) when --(b) He is touched by a pitched ball which he is not attempting to hit unless (1) The ball is in the strike zone when it touched the batter, or (2) The batter makes no attempts to avoid being touched by the ball;If the ball is in the strike zone when it touches the batter, it shall be called a strike, whether or not the batter tries to avoid the ball. If the ball is outside the strike zone when it touches the batter, it shall be called a ball if he makes no attempts to avoid being touched.When the batter is touched by a pitched ball which does not entitle him to first base, the ball is dead and no runner may advance.


How do you score the batter if a base runner is hit by the ball?

The batter is credited with a single. The runner is out and play is dead.


Is a runner on base permitted to advance on a fly ball as soon as the fielder touches the ball?

Yes.

People also asked