answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Depends. If the ball bounces of a defensive player, and is caught, the batter is out. If it hits a runner, the ball is dead and the runner is out but the hitter is awarded first base.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2011-10-03 02:09:05
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Is the batter out if the ball bounces off another player and it is caught before hitting the ground?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

What do you call hitting the ball before it bounces in tennis?

A 'volley'.


Is a batsman out if the ball bounces twice before hitting the wickets?

Yes, if the ball bounces more than twice it is a no ball but if it bounces twice it is legal. Although this is a very unlikely situation.


What is the ruling if a pitched ball bounces before it hits the batter in softball?

If it hit the batter the batter gets first and it's scored as a hit by pitch.


Does the ball have to bounce before being hit?

No, that would be perfectly legal. Hitting the ball before it bounces is called a volley.


What is the ruling if a pitched ball bounces before it hits a batter Is it a dead ball or live ball?

live ball


What is a bankshot kill on black ops?

A bank shot is a where you throw a Tomahawk and it bounces off a surface (or multiple surfaces) before hitting an enemy.


The Pitcher throws towards home plate. the ball bounces in the dirt before home plate and it hits the batter is it a dead ball or hit batter?

It is a dead ball and the batter is awarded first base and is ruled a hit by pitch


If a ball bounces before it crosses the plate and hits a batter is that a walk?

No it is a hits batsmen. The batter gets first base and the ball is ruled dead. Everyone who is forced moves up one base.


What's the difference between a rally and a volley?

A rally is an exchange of shots between players, while a volley is a type of shot which involves hitting the ball before it bounces on the ground.


What is the official scoring for the batter if he is hit in fair territory by his own batted ball?

That batter would be called out. If the ball goes directly from his bat to hitting the batter when they are not in the batters box, the batter is out. If a defensive player deflects the ball before it touches the batter then play continues as normal.


What is a ground out in baseball?

In baseball, a ground out is an out in which a batter hits a ball on the ground and one of the Infielders catches it before it hits the ground and a ground out can also be an instance of a batter hitting a ball in which an Infielder fields a baseball and then throws to another Infielder in order to record an out as long as the batted baseball was hit on the ground.


What does a bounce pass mean?

A bounce pass is when you pass the ball to another person on your team and it bounces at least once before they catch it.


After hitting a fly ball the batter assuming it will be caught for an out jogs toward and almost to the dugout the outfielder drops the ball and the batter runs to first Is he safe?

if the ball doesnt get to the first baseman before the batter does than yes, the batter would be safe and then benched(hence jimmy rollins)


If a ball bounces before it crosses the plate and is batted into fair territory is it a hit?

If the ball lands in the dirt and the batter swings at it, I believe that is a strike, even if he hits it into fair territory. This is another one that may have to be improved by somebody else if I'm wrong, but I don't think I am on this one.


What are frozen water drops?

If they freeze on the way to hitting the earths surface, they are called sleet. You can tell the difference between hail (which freezes before it leaves the cloud) is that sleet bounces when it hits the ground. You are talking about weather, right?


What is the same between cricket and baseball?

There are several similarities; they are both bat and ball games, both games have innings. Most of the differences stem from, in cricket, the ball bounces before it reaches the batter.


What is a unassisted ground out in baseball?

An unassisted ground out in baseball is the event of the batter hitting the ball and it hitting the ground before a fielder fields the baseball such as a first baseman fielding the baseball and then going over to first base in order to record the batter as an out which would consider it as an unassisted ground out because the Infielder did all of the field work of the out play.


Is it illegal to hit a served ball before it bounces?

yes


Is the batter out if he touches someone before he reaches first base after hitting the ball or being forced to first on a walk?

After a walk, no. After hitting the ball, no, unless when he "touches" someone he is interfering with a play on a batted ball, in which case he could be called out for interference.


Who wins the point if on return the ball bounces on both sides before being hit for example I return the ball and it bounces on the opposing side then my side and then goes out of bounds...?

It's your point. Your opponent must hit the ball, before it bounces back on your side, and make it bounce on your side.


How many bounces are allowed on the court before a point is won in tennis?

Only 1 bounce. If it bounces twice on your side, you've lost that point.


What happens if the pitcher gets hit by the batter's hit?

The ball is in play like any other batted ball and is considered fair whether or not it ricochets into foul territory after hitting the pitcher. If the ball hits the pitcher on the fly and is caught by a fielder before it touches the ground, the batter is out. If a ground ball touches a pitcher and another fielder grabs it and throws the batter out at first base, the pitcher is given an assist on the putout.


Is kinetic energy destroyed when you catch a ball in the air before it bounces?

No


Is the runner out if he leaves the base before batter hits the ball?

Absolutely not -- a runner can (and invariable does) leave the base even before the pitcher throws the ball to the batter! That's called leading off. A batter can attempt to run to the next base without the batter hitting it -- ie, stealing a base. PERHAPS what you're asking about is what happens if the runner leaves the base before the ball is hit AND the batter hits the ball AND the ball is caught by a fielder before it hits the ground AND the ball is then thrown to the base where the runner was AND the ball is held there before the runner returns to that base. If ALL of those things happen, then the runner is out.


Can you hit a tennis ball that is not on your side?

Yes and no. You cannot usually hit a tennis ball that is not on your side, but if the ball bounces on your side first and, when it bounces, spins back to the opponent's side of the court, you may hit it before it bounces again.

Study guides

๐Ÿ““
Create a Study Guide