answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Yes. Its called a "Spitball". A spitball is when a pitcher either licks his fingers, spits on the ball, or uses any substance (i.e.: cooking oil, gel deoderant) that has a slickness to it. This causes the pitcher to give an extra break on a pitch. (i.e.: Instead of the normal 22 rotation spins on a curveball, ittl go 25-30 times for more of a break)

AnswerRule 8.02 of The Official Rules of Baseball:

" The pitcher shall not --

(a) (1) Bring his pitching hand in contact with his mouth or lips while in the 18 foot circle surrounding the pitching rubber. EXCEPTION: Provided it is agreed to by both managers, the umpire prior to the start of a game played in cold weather, may permit the pitcher to blow on his hand.

PENALTY: For violation of this part of this rule the umpires shall immediately call a ball. However, if the pitch is made and a batter reaches first base on a hit, an error, a hit batsman or otherwise, and no other runner is put out before advancing at least one base, the play shall proceed without reference to the violation. Repeated offenders shall be subject to a fine by the league president."

There is no reference to the umpire penalizing a pitcher for licking his fingers other than the umpire shall immediately call a ball. There is reference to repeat offenders being subject to a fine from the league president.

basicaly if ur going to lick ur fingers do it on in the dirt arount the rubber do it on the grass

UPDATE:

Starting with the 2010 MLB season. MLB rules state that a pitcher my go to his mouth to lick his fingers on the mound as long as he is not on the rubber. The pitcher must whipe his hand againt the uniform before returning to the rubber. If this act is performed either on the rubber or he does not whipe his fingers this will be called a balk

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-06-10 21:18:09
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Is it true that a pitcher can be penalized by the umpire for licking his fingers if he has been warned?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Can a pitcher lick his fingers in little league?

Techniqually he can, but after licking him hands he musct absoulutly must wipe it off so that the umpire can see it. Area's that can consist of this are like on the thigh of the leg or ide of the thigh.


Can an umpire eject a pitcher in baseball?

Yes, in major baseball an umpire can eject a pitcher. Last year as an example, a Yankee pitcher was ejected because the home plate umpire checked to find pine tar on the pitchers belt. This is illegal for a pitcher to have any foreign substance on his body or uniform or cap. Another example is, the umpire's opinion, a pitcher has hit too many batters after being warned. That's an ejection as well. Additionally, any player or manage or a pitcher who argues balls and strikes called by the home plate umpire is an automatic ejection.


Who catches the ball thrown by the pitcher in baseball?

umpire


What is the penalty if a pitcher gets caught licking his fingers?

the pitcher is allowed to lick his fingers only while off the entire pitching circle (all the dirt around the mound). if the pitcher is caught licking his fingers on the mound, it is considered a Balk and eith a ball is awarded to the batter (no men on base) or the runners on base are allowed to advance.AnswerRule 8.02 of The Official Rules of Baseball:" The pitcher shall not --(a) (1) Bring his pitching hand in contact with his mouth or lips while in the 18 foot circle surrounding the pitching rubber. EXCEPTION: Provided it is agreed to by both managers, the umpire prior to the start of a game played in cold weather, may permit the pitcher to blow on his hand.PENALTY: For violation of this part of this rule the umpires shall immediately call a ball. However, if the pitch is made and a batter reaches first base on a hit, an error, a hit batsman or otherwise, and no other runner is put out before advancing at least one base, the play shall proceed without reference to the violation. Repeated offenders shall be subject to a fine by the league president. "The penalty for a pitcher licking his fingers on the mound is a ball. If the batter has 3 balls on him this would be considered the fourth ball and the batter would be credited with a base on balls. There is no penalty for a pitcher licking his fingers while not on the pitching mound as long as he wipes his fingers off prior to stepping onto the pitching mound.update:starting with the 2010 season, a pitcher can go to his mouth while on the mound as long as he is not on the rubber, and he makes an obvious motion of whiping his hand on pants before returning to the mound. This was changed in order to speed up the game


Can you make a sentence out of umpire?

The umpire stood behind home plate, waiting for the pitcher to send the ball his way.


What is the word that the umpire calls when a pitcher throws a strike ball?

Strike.


Is it a trip to the mound when the manager goes to the plate umpire to remove his pitcher?

yes


Can a batter be awarded first base if the umpire feels that the pitcher is intentionally throwing at him?

No.


Does the play stop when a live ball is returned to the pitcher's glove regardless of whether the pitcher is on or off the mound in softball?

The Play is over when the umpire calls time. Does not matter where the ball is. the Umpire has to determine if the play if over.


Can a baseball pitcher request the umpire to clean off home plate?

Sure. And he can request a new ball, too. But the umpire is not required to honor either request.


How long does a batter have when the umpire says Batter up?

The MLB Rule says:6.02(a): The batter shall take his position in the batter's box promptly when it is his time at bat.6.02(c): If the batter refuses to take his position in the batter's box during his time at bat, the umpire shall order the pitcher to pitch, and shall call "Strike" on each such pitch.So there's no rule that says how long the batter has to step into the batter's box, only that he do it "promptly." But as an umpire, I can tell you the umpire will not put up with much messing around on the batter's part. If he tells the batter to step in, and he doesn't, the batter will get penalized.


What happens if a hit ball hits the umpire standing behind the pitcher?

you play it as a live ball

People also asked