Yes. The only time a manager can go to the mound and it not be considered a visit is if the manager believes his pitcher is injured. In that case the home plate umpire will accompany the manager to the mound and listen to the entire conversation to ensure that the manager and pitcher are not talking strategy but solely about how the pitcher is feeling.
There is no time limit addressed in the official MLB rules. This is left up to the discretion of the home plate umpire. But, if the manager is still on the mound after 15-20 seconds the umpire will start his walk to the mound to break things up.
Yes, unless one of the trips was to check on the pitcher to see about an injury. A trip to the mound to check about an injury does not count towards the two trips per inning rule.You will notice when a manager makes a 'regular' trip to the mound, the home plate umpire stays away for 30 seconds or so and, if the manager is still at the mound after that time, will walk out to the mound to break up the conversation and get the game started again. But if a manager goes out to check about an injury, the home plate umpire is there listening to the conversation to ensure that no strategy is being discussed.
In MLB, a manager/coach is allowed one visit to the mound per inning. Should the manager/coach make a second visit in an inning, the pitcher must be removed. An exception to this rule is when the manager/coach makes a visit due to an injury to the pitcher. In this case, no visit is charged. You might notice, when a manager/coach makes a 'regular' visit, the home plate umpire stays at home plate and will not approach the mound until a certain amount of time has elapsed to break up the conversation and get the game moving. When a manager/coach makes a visit for an injury, the home plate umpire will stand near the manager/coach and pitcher monitoring the conversion to ensure it is only about the injury and not about any strategy.
Yes, but the umpire has the right to shorten the meeting to allow players to reposition without causing a delay in the game.
Yes, it doesn't matter if it's the Pitching Coach or the Manager, it still counts as a visit to the mound. The only instance in which mound trips by coaches do not count is if they're checking on a pitcher to make sure they're not hurt and they let the umpire know before their trip to the mound.
Once time has been called, a coach or manager can meet within anyone he cares to during his visit to the pitcher's mound, but the umpire won't let the meeting lasy any longer than about a minute.
The Play is over when the umpire calls time. Does not matter where the ball is. the Umpire has to determine if the play if over.
If time has been called, a manager, all of his coaches, and any number of players from the field of play could, in theory, come to the mound to converse with the pitcher and each other. You will probably note that, when this happens, the umpire also comes there, in order to ensure they are actually discussing baseball strategy and not trying to stall. Note, however, that a non-player can come to the mound only once per inning -- if either a coach OR a manager does so in an inning, the pitcher must be removed.
Not sure I understand the question. The defensive team's manager or any member of the coaching staff can go to the mound to talk to a pitcher. When the second visit of an inning occurs to a particular pitcher, that pitcher must be taken out of the game. Visits to the mound are credited to the team and not the manager or a specific coach.
More than likely a pitcher's mound is removed by smoothing the dirt out with a bulldozer.
I'm assuming you're talking about a second visit in the same inning. If so, the answer is no. The manager cannot substitute his own leave to keep the pitcher in the game. Rule 8.06 A professional league shall adopt the following rule pertaining to the visit of the manager or coach to the pitcher: (a) This rule limits the number of trips a manager or coach may make to any one pitcher in any one inning; (b) A second trip to the same pitcher in the same inning will cause this pitcher's automatic removal from the game; (c) The manager or coach is prohibited from making a second visit to the mound while the same batter is at bat, but (d) if a pinch-hitter is substituted for this batter, the manager or coach may make a second visit to the mound, but must remove the pitcher from the game. A manager or coach is considered to have concluded his visit to the mound when he leaves the 18-foot circle surrounding the pitcher's rubber.