answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

yes it is a hit, but they can still be out if a defender taps either the base or the runner before he can "get safe" on base. It's the same thing as if a runner hit a bunt, they can still get out until they actually touch the base.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2011-04-05 14:04:19
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Is it a hit if a base runner misses first base?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

If a runner misses first and advances to second when the ball goes out of play can the runner still be called out on appeal?

YES he can be called out on an appeal... this would be the same as if a home was hit and the runner had not tagged first base ...


Do runners have to advance on a ground ball?

That depends on whether a runner is forced to vacate a base when a ground ball is hit. If there is a runner on first base and a ground ball is hit, the runner is forced to run to second base because the batter is running to first base. If there is also a runner on second base, that runner is forced to run to third because the runner from first is running to second. If a runner is not forced to run, they do not have to. If there are runners on first base and third base and a ground ball is hit, the runner at first is forced to run to second because the batter is running to first. But the runner on third is not forced to run because no runner is running to third base from second base.


If a player hits a triple and misses first base is that a hit?

It would be an out if the fielding team tagged the bag before the runner. However; if the picture threw a pitch to the next batter it would be a hit.


Does a runner have to leave first base on a ball hit in play?

No. The runner can stay on first base (if the ball is hit in the air and might be caught, for example). However, if the batter passes the runner at first, that runner is called out.


Can the first baseman stand on first base while the runner is advancing to second on an extra base hit?

Yes, as long as he does not interfere with the base runner.


What is a fielding error?

if a ball is hit to the any fielder and it hits any part of his body and he misses. if aresult of that is the base runner is safe. that is a error


What is it called when a runner gets to first base in baseball?

Base hit or single.


What is a base runner in softball?

after you hit the ball, you run to first base and you are a baserunner..


If a runner on first base is hit by the ball off of the bat in fair territory is the runner out?

yes


There is a runner on 1st base with 1 out Next batter hits a ground ball to the outfield and reaches first base and runner is out at second base Does the hitter ger credited for a single?

That would depend on how the runner was retired at second base. For example, if the runner slipped and fell on his way to second base and the outfielder had the time to throw him out on a force play, the batter would not get credited with a base hit. If the runner made it to second base safely and then slipped rounding the bag and the outfielder threw to second base and the runner was tagged out, the batter would be credited with a base hit. If a runner is forced out at any base, regardless of where the ball was hit, the batter is not credited with a base hit.


When a batter-runner reaches first base before the ball arrives but misses the base how can he be put out by the defense under NCAA rules?

Let's say that you're the batter/runner in this situation and I'm in the field. You hit the ball to third base and take off for first. I get the ball and through to first. You beat the ball to first but you miss the base. I would have to get you out by tagging you. If you go to second and I don't tag you, then I believe the pitcher can throw to first on the next pitch (As if he is picking off) and you will be out.


Does the hitter get credited for a single if he makes a ground ball hit to the outfield and the runner at first gets forced out at second base?

No. In no situation can a batter be credited with a base hit if a runner is forced out.


If a base runner is hit with the ball thrown by the catcher is the runner out?

The act of hitting a runner with the ball does not generally qualify in and of itself as an out. If the base runner is running legally (e.g. does not interfere), then there is no out, and the ball is live. However, if the batter/runner is running illegally, such as running outside of the 3 foot runner's lane between home and first base, the batter/runner will be out if hit by the catcher's throw. If he is going straight to the base, the runner is not out.


If a runner trying to advance to third unforced with two outs is tagged out after the batter has reached first base by the shortstop on a ball hit into the hole does the batter receive a hit?

no hit, assume runner trying to keep defensive player from throwing to first base.


2 outs runner on 1st baseball hit to 3rd base where is the throw to?

First base get the easy out


Is it a base hit when you get thrown out at second base when a runner advances to home?

It is a base hit once the batter-baserunner passes first base. This will not change by being thrown out at second.


Is it possible to hit a sac fly when there is only one runner on first base?

No. For it to be a sacrifice fly, a runner must score.


How would you score this if the batter hits a ball the drops in center field but the runner at first is thrown out at second?

If the runner at second is out by being forced out, the batter is not given a base hit .... the play is ruled the same as if the ball was hit to an infielder that threw to second to force the runner. If the runner at second is out by being tagged because they rounded the base too far, the batter is given a base hit.


What is the differecne between a tag play and a force play in softball?

A tag play is when it is required to tag a base runner to get them out. A force play is when it is required to have possession of the ball and touch the base to get the base runner out. By definition, a force play is in effect when a base runner is 'forced' to run to the next base because of the ball being hit and another runner being 'forced' to run to the base that the runner currently occupies. If there is a runner on first base and the batter hits a ground ball to third base, the runner on first base is 'forced' to run to second base because the batter is running to first base. In this case, a force play is in effect at second base (and at first base because a batter is always 'forced' to run to first base after hitting a fair ball. A force play is always in effect at first base when a batter hits a fair ball.). If there is a runner only on second base and the batter hits a ball to first base, the runner at second is not 'forced' to run to third base because no one is 'forced' to run to second base. In this case, a tag play is in effect at third base if the runner at second attempts to advance.


What does hit and run mean in baseball and when is it used?

A hit and run is when there is a baserunner, lets say on first base, and the runner takes off for second after the pitch as if he is trying to steal. The batter will swing at the pitch and try to put the ball in play. If the batter is successful and can get a base hit, the runner will probably advance one extra base than normal because he was running with the pitch. If the batter swings and misses or the defensive team called a pitchout, the runner will attempt to steal second base. If the batter hits a line drive at one of the infielders that is caught, chances are the runner will be doubled up for a double play. The hit and run is a risky play that can used as a way to open up holes in the infield for a batter to hit the ball through and as a way to create runs for a team that does not have many power hitters in their lineup. Click on the 'Hit and Run' link on this page to read more about the hit and run and how it is used.


How can a runner score from third without a hit and two outs?

1. A passed ball on a pitch, and runner scores. 2. A 3rd strike and catcher misses the ball, overthrowing at first, runner scores. 3. A squeeze play, missed bunt, with catcher missing the ball, runner scores.


How can people get out in softball?

To get someone out in softball the pitcher can strike them out. They can hit a pop-fly that is caught. The ball can beat the runner to first base by a defensive player tagging that base before the runner gets there. If the runner runs into a defensive player who is making the initial play on the ball, the runner is out. The runner could be tagged out before they touch the base.


What is the ending of Hit and Run?

The base runner is safe at third while the batter is safe at first


If a batter hits a pitch and the ball hits a runner how is it scored?

The play is dead, the runner that was hit is out, and the batter reaches first base and is credited with a single.


Base runner hit by batted ball?

The runner is out if he is in fair territory.