answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

It is considered a legally batted ball subject to being a fair or foul ball. Also, if a pitched ball bounces in the dirt and strikes the batter, the ball is dead and the batter receives first base as he was legally hit by a pitched ball.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-07-02 19:57:13
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What happens if a pitched ball bounces and the batter hits it?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

What is the ruling if a pitched ball bounces before it hits a batter Is it a dead ball or live ball?

live ball


What is the ruling if a pitched ball bounces before it hits the batter in softball?

If it hit the batter the batter gets first and it's scored as a hit by pitch.


Pitched ball hits ground then batter?

If the ball hits the ground in play then it hits the batter it is call a hit by pitch and the batter will take first base ... You can also hit the ball as it bounces off the ground ...


If a batter hits a pitched ball that bounces in front of the plate and it goes out of the park for a home run is this the correct ruling?

Yes, it is scored as a home run.


What happens when the ball bounces on the tramlines?

It's out


What is it when a pitched ball bounces and the batter swings and hits it in fair territory and it is caught on a fly by a defensive player . Does it count as a fly ball or a ball that already bounced?

The bounce took place before the ball was hit so the ball is a fly ball.


Batter hits a pitch and the ball bounces and hits the batter is he out?

If the batter is in fair territory, the batter is out. If the batter is not in fair territory, for example the batter is still in the batter's box, the ball is called foul.


Is the batter out if the ball bounces off another player and it is caught before hitting the ground?

Depends. If the ball bounces of a defensive player, and is caught, the batter is out. If it hits a runner, the ball is dead and the runner is out but the hitter is awarded first base.


What is the ruling if a pitched ball bounces before it hits the batter - slide1?

When a pitch is made, at any time the pitch hits the batter, it is considered a base on balls (walk) unlessthe ball is in the strike zone (and hasn't touched the ground)the batter makes no attempt to move out of the wayIf the batter makes no attempt to move out of the way the pitch is just ruled a ball. But if it is ball 4, then the batter is awarded the walk.


What happens when a ball bounces at a height over the head and you play it?

The ball must be given a no ball


What happens if a tennis ball bounces in the tramlines?

it would be classed as out


What happens if you freeze a ping pong ball?

it bounces lower

People also asked

How many jelly beans will fill a cup?

View results