It is a dead ball and the batter is awarded first base and is ruled a hit by pitch
If it hit the batter the batter gets first and it's scored as a hit by pitch.
Depends. If the ball bounces of a defensive player, and is caught, the batter is out. If it hits a runner, the ball is dead and the runner is out but the hitter is awarded first base.
Yes, there is no restriction on changing pitchers during an at bat, unless the current pitcher just entered the game and the batter is the first batter he faces. The pitcher must face at least one batter before he can be replaced, unless the pitcher is injured, or ejected from the game.
No it is a hits batsmen. The batter gets first base and the ball is ruled dead. Everyone who is forced moves up one base.
Yes. Either the pitcher or the batter may be substituted for at any point in the at-bat. Only if it is not the first hitter that pitcher is facing, if it is the first batter he faces, he must pitch the entire at-bat unless injured, then he may be removed from the game
The starting pitcher and any substitute must pitcher to a minimum of one batter, or have an Out made, before he can be replaced. Other than that, the Manager can change the pitcher whenever he wants to.
Yes. A pitcher may be removed and replaced by another at any point during a defensive half inning, regardless of if the pitcher has commenced an at bat or not. ---------- Above answer is not completely correct. The starting pitcher, and any replacement pitcher, must pitch to at least one batter before that pitcher can be removed...except due to injury or illness.
The ball is in play like any other batted ball and is considered fair whether or not it ricochets into foul territory after hitting the pitcher. If the ball hits the pitcher on the fly and is caught by a fielder before it touches the ground, the batter is out. If a ground ball touches a pitcher and another fielder grabs it and throws the batter out at first base, the pitcher is given an assist on the putout.
A dropped third strike is a "special case". When a 3rd strike is dropped, the batter becomes a "runner". If the ball bounced as you described and it was a 3rd strike, it will be treated as a hit. Any pitched ball that hits in front of the plate is considered a ball unless, of course, the batter swings at it.
The pitcher has to establish which hand he will be throwing with before a batter steps into the batters box.
Yes. However, rules state a pitcher must pitch one complete at bat before being taken out of the game (unless the pitcher gets injured and cannot continue). So, as long as the batter being pitched to is not the first batter the pitcher is facing, the pitcher may be removed in the middle of the count.