No. Nor is it a "time at bat", just like a base on balls, a sacrifice hit, or a sacrifice fly.
The batter gets to take his base because the catcher has caused interference.
Catcher's Interference is an Umpire's call due to the Catcher making some type of contact with either the batter or his bat during a pitch or does other actions to interfere with a batter's ability to hit the oncoming pitched ball however an Umpire can only call Catcher's Interference as long as the batter is in a legal position while in the batter's box and in the event of Catcher's Interference being called the batter is awarded first base automatically and the runners advanced only if forced to.
if the cathcer is too close, a cather interference, if the batter is too far back, a batter interference
Yes, this has happened enough to have a specific rule about it. If the bat strikes the catcher or his equipment (almost always his glove) while the batter is swinging, the umpire calls catcher interference and the batter takes first base.
Walk, interference from the catcher when the batter was trying to swing at a pitch, by being hit by a pitch, or by swinging and missing at the third strike and the catcher doesn't catch the ball. The batter can then run towards first base but has to beat the throw to be able to be considered safe. - Error - Hit by Pitch - Walk - Dropped 3rd strike - Catcher interference - Fielders Choice
I was listening to a Tribe (Indians) game the other day, and that very thing happened. Apparently they awarded the batter a hit (or that might have been called ball 4, I'm not entirely sure which, but I THINK it was a hit. It's definitely not a strike. Rule 10:13(f) When an umpire awards the batter or any runner one or more bases because of interference or obstruction, charge the fielder who committed the interference or obstruction with one error, no matter how many bases the batter, or runner or runners, may advance In a 'catcher interference' call, the batter is awarded first base, and it is not an official 'at-bat', thus not counting in the batter's total 'at-bats' for the game. On "catcher interference", the batter is awarded first base, no official at-bat is charged (as it is notated in the box score as "'Joe Blow' awarded first base on catcher interference) and the catcher is charged an error.
If a play follows the interference, the manager of the offense may advise the plate umpire that he elects to decline the interference penalty and accept the play. In this case the interference is disregarded and normal scoring applies. If the manager elects to take the interference penalty, it is scored as an error charged to the catcher. If the batter reaches first base on a hit, an error, a base on balls, a hit batsman, or otherwise, and all other runners advance at least one base, the play proceeds without reference to the interference and normal scoring applies.
ya....if they swing and hit the glove then its called catcher interference. the batter then gets to go to first base
Hit by pitch, base on balls, catcher's interference, passed ball or wild pitch on the third strike
Baseball rule 10:06 (e) a base hit shall not be scored when a runner is called out for interference with a fielder attempting to field a batted ball, unless in the scorer's judgment the batter runner would have been safe had the interference not occurred.
walk, error, fielders choice, player interfeerence, dropped 3rd strike, pinch runner and hit by pitch 1. Base on Balls 2. Intentional Base on Balls (scored separately to 1) 3. Hit by Pitch 4. Error 5. Fielder's Choice 6. Passed Ball 7. Wild Pitch Pinch Runner is NOT a way of scoring a REACH of 1st base. Runner Interference (if the batter himself is not out) is scored as a base hit. Catcher Interference is scored as an error. Fielder Obstruction is scored as an error. Any scenario you can think of will be scored as one of the above 7, or a base hit. (I am only referring to how the reach of first base is scored)
If the ball hits third base on a hit, it is foul according to Major League Rules