answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

No.

A runner is out anytime while running to a base if he makes contact with the ball or the glove that the ball is in. On a pop-fly, a player with the ball only needs to touch the base the runner left from if the runner did not tag-up to the bag after the ball was caught.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-02-28 17:05:54
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Softball

24 cards

What is the function of the heart

From what country did the Munich Massacre hostages originate

In what year did the Munich Massacre take place

How do you take an accurate pulse

โžก๏ธ
See all cards
3.0
โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…
4 Reviews

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Is a runner on first out if he makes contact with the 2nd baseman while running to 2nd base on a popup before the 2nd baseman catches the ball with contact occurring after runner reaches 2nd base?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

If a ball is hit over third base and the third baseman reaches across the line and catches the ball is the batter out?

If the ball never touches the ground before the 3rd baseman catches the ball the batter is out.


Is a batter out if the first-baseman controls the ball on the ground before the batter reaches first?

no.Unless the first baseman is touching first base.


If a player is the dead ball area and reaches into foul territory and catches the foul ball is the batter out?

A batter is out anytime a fielder catches a foul fly ball.


If a player from first to second runs into the base before the ball gets there but the baseman reaches for the ball and knocks the runner off the base and falls on him then tags him is he out?

no


Where in the atmosphere do things burn up?

As soon as the "things" come in contact with the atmosphere; in other words, as soon as the plummeting object reaches air. It should begin occurring in the sphere directly above the stratosphere and last until reaching the ground.


Runners are on 3rd and 1st. The ball is hit to the 2nd baseman. The shortstop covers the bag and the batter reaches 1st before the throw reaches 1st base. The runner at 3rd scores. Is it an at bat?

Yes. The batter would be credited with an at bat and an RBI.


Can a first baseman go in the base line of the batter running to first?

If the first baseman is making a play on a batted ball it is the responsibility of the runner to yield. If there is contact the runner may be declared out. If the first baseman is fielding a thrown ball and there is contact the umpire will usually call the play as it happens and consider the contact incidental. If the first baseman is standing in the baseline while making no play on the ball, he can be legally knocked down and the umpire can rule that the contact prevented the runner from advancing and award as many bases as he determines. That will generally just be one extra base unless the runner gets up and reaches second safely and is thrown out at third. When the contact occurs the umpire should have his hand out in a fist signifying that there has been obstruction and then make his ruling after the play is over. No base will be awarded if there is a runner on first when the batter hits the ball and said runner cannot reach third safely. In this case the contact becomes moot as the runner on second may not be awarded an extra base for obstruction on a player behind him. Many teams put a big kid at first to stand in the way and delay the runners. If an appeal to the coaches and umpires does not get him to move then your players will have to run him over or take the contact get up and try for the next base. If the first baseman is just plain "purposely" blocking the bag as the runner has arrived and the ball is on its way but not there yet the batter should be awarded first base.


Is the runner out if the first baseman drops the ball but then places his other hand over the ball while the ball is lying on the ground before the runner reaches first base.?

The first baseman must "have control of the ball". If his hand is on it pinning it to the ground, the call is safe. If he picks it up or in any other way, shows he/she has "control" of the ball, the call is out.


What is the name of melted rock above the Earth's surface?

Melted rock occurring above the Earth's surface is called 'lava'. Before it reaches the Earth's surface it is called 'magma'.


Why cant electricians wear contact lenses?

Contact lenses are made from plastics and electricians are usually exposed to heat. When direct heat reaches the contact lenses as the electricians wear it, Chances are; The contact lenses might melt into the eyes and you could never remove them.


How do you collect child support arrears after child reaches 18?

Contact your State's child support agency. They have methods of collecting this money.


What happens to the rainwater when it reaches the surface?

When the rainwater reaches the surface, it comes in contact with the atmospheric dust particle. This dust particle mixes with the rain water, making its character bit contaminated. In this way the rainwater looses its color also.

People also asked