answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

yes unless he is standing on the base

It is also interference.

Y-THINK-Y

These answers assume we are talking about a batted ball (not clear from the question). A runner hit by a ball thrown by a fielder is not out, unless his interference with the throw was intentional.

It is NOT interference if the ball first passes a fielder other than the pitcher. EXAMPLE: If the runner were to be running behind the fielder, and the ball went through the fielder's legs and hit the runner, the ball is live and there is no interference.

A runner hit by a fair batted ball while standing on the base is out.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2012-08-16 20:59:46
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Is a runner considered out in baseball if he gets hit by the ball?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

If a base runner and the ball reach the base at the same time on a force play is the runner safe or out?

MLB rules state the ball must beat the runner to the base on a force play. If the ball and the runner reach the base at the same time the runner would be considered safe. However, there are no ties in baseball. The runner either gets there before the ball or after...Ties are only a myth.....


Is it considered an at bat if a player gets put out by a ground ball if a runner on third also scores?

Yes.


Can the runner in baseball advance after he is hit by a thrown ball and it goes out of bounds?

Once the ball goes out of play, the number of bases the runner is to advance will depend on the ground rules at that ball park, generally when a ball goes out of play the runner gets 1 base


What happens if in baseball the ball goes into the runners jersey?

If you are referring to runners already on base, then that runner is considered out because of interference with the ball that was in play.Clarification:Above answer refers to a batted ball that was not touched by a defensive player first. In a situation where a thrown ball or a deflected ball gets stuck in a offensive player's (runner's) jersey then it is a dead ball. The runners will get to advance to the base they are going to and then the play is over


Runner on base gets hit with batted ball is he out?

yep


If a runner is sliding and gets hit by batted ball is he out?

Yes.


What is the ruling if an umpire gets hit with a line drive with a runner on third base?

If the umpire is in fair territory, it is a fair ball and all the runner(s) can get, as the Umpire is considered part of the playing field. If he is in foul territory, then it is a foul ball.


If a base runner on second gets hit with a line drive is the pitcher considered a fielder that the ball passed?

No. On any batted ball the pitcher is NEVER in consideration as a fielder. Only the infielders are to be considered for the purpose of that rule.


What happens if in baseball the ball gets stuck in a runners jersey?

If it was a hit ball and the ball was stuck in the runners jersey then the runner is out assuming he had the first contact with the ball. If a fielder has the ball stuck in the jersey then the ball is dead and the hitter would be safe at first.


Is the batter out or safe if a base runner gets hit by a ball?

the runner is out not the hitter but if he doesn't reach base before the ball is thrown to the base he would be out too.


What does backstop do in rounders?

The backstop just prevents the ball from going out into the stand from a wild pitch or baseball. It also helps the catcher get to the ball faster if a ball gets past and a runner is stealing a base or coming home


Is a runner out if he gets hit by a line drive?

If a runner is hit by ANY kind of batted ball, before a fielder has a chance to catch it, the runner is out and play is halted.

People also asked