answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

A strikeout is a pitching statistic. The pitcher is credited with a strikeout under his or her pitching stats. A putout is a fielding statistic for defense. The catcher is credited with the putout under his or her fielding stats.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2011-05-12 22:32:23
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Is a catcher and pitcher get credited with a putout on a strikeout?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Is a pitcher or catcher credited with a putout on a strikeout?

The catcher gets the putout.


Does a strikeout count as a put out in softball?

A putout is a fielding statistic. In the case of a strikeout, the putout is credited to the catcher.


If a catcher is credited with a putout on a strikeout does the pitcher get an assist as most stat programs do not give assists in this instance?

The pitcher does not get an assist unless the batter strikes out and the ball bounces to the pitcher, who throws the ball to the catcher, who tags out the runner.


Do catchers get put outs for strikeouts?

Yes. A catcher gets credited with the putout on a strikeout if the ball is caught cleanly. In the event of a dropped third strike, if the catcher tags the hitter, he again gets credited with the putout. If the third strike is dropped and the catcher must throw down to first, the catcher gets credited with an assist and the first baseman gets credited with the putout. In no case would the pitcher get credit for the putout or assist. Source: MLB Official Rule 10.09b


In softball who gets a putout for a strikeout?

The pitcher is credited with a strikeout. The catcher is credited with the putout, unless the batter-runner has to be retired at first base with a throw from the catcher. In that case, the catcher would get an assist and the base man covering first would get the putout.Source(s):Senior League Baseball World Series information director; Official Baseball Rules: 10.09(b)(1), 10.10(b)(1), 10.15(a)


Does a pitcher get credit for a strikeout if a runner gets to first base via the third strike drop rule?

Yes. If the runner reaches first base, it is usually due to an error on the catcher's part, so the scoring is 'K' for strikeout but 'E2' for the catcher dropping the ball. If the catcher recovers in time, then again the 'K' for strikeout is accompanied by '2-3' for the actual putout at first base.


If a batter bunts and runs into the ball how is it scored?

It would be scored as an out and the credit would go to the catcher, since he is the closest player to play. ANSWER: It depends upon whether the ball was contacted in fair or foul territory when contacted by the runner. In fair territory the runner is out, play is dead (runners can't advance), and the catcher is credited with the putout. In foul territory, it depends on the count. With two strikes the batter is out, and the pitcher is credited with a strikeout. With less than two strikes, it is treated as a strike.


If a batter bunts a third strike foul and the ball is caught by the catcher is it a fly out or a strike out?

It is a fly out. According to baseball rule 10.15 (a) (4) The pitcher is credited with a strikeout on a 3rd-strike foul bunt, unless "(4)... unless such bunt on third strike results in a foul fly caught by any fielder, in which case the official scorer shall not score a strikeout and shall credit the fielder who catches such foul fly with a putout."


Is dropped third strike by catcher scored a put out?

No, it is just recorded as a strikeoutYES ... It's scored a strikeout and a 2-3 put out ...Correction:Strikeouts are credited as putouts by the catcher According to Rule 10.09(b)(2)According to Rule 10.15(a)(2&3) a strike out is credited when a 3rd strike is dropped, thus, I suppose it would be a putout technically, however, it would not go down as 2-3 (this would give the putout to the 1st basemen)


Who gets credit for an out when a bunted ball hits the batter?

If the runner is in foul territory when the ball hits him, it is a foul ball. If it is a 2 strike bunt attempt, then the pitcher is credited with a strikeout. If the runner is in fair territory the credit would then go to the pitcher, who was the last fielder to touch the ball. My question, then, would be is it an assist or a putout? That answer I do not know.


When an a catcher get credit for a putout without touching the ball?

If there is a runner on first base and less than 2 outs, and on the third strike to the batter the catcher misses the ball entirely, the batter is still out and the catcher is credited with the putout. If a runner is one first base with less then 2 outs, a missed 3rd strike is not officially recorded as a putout by the catcher as there is nowhere for the runner to go as the batter cannot advance in this situation. The only time a catcher or any other position player can get a put out without touching the ball is in the case of runner-interference - - i.e. The batter pops up a ball a runner (either the batter or a guy from 3rd) runs into the catcher, not allowing him a chance to make a play on the ball -- the runner would be called out and the catcher would be credited with the out) -- another scenerio would be a bunt or swinging bunt where the batter makes contact with the ball in fair territory (not in batters box) -- this would be a batted ball touched by a base runner in fair territory -- the batter would be out, with the recorded out going to the closest position player (in this scenerio, that would be the catcher)


What is a put out in baseball?

A putout in baseball is the person who has the ball when the out is made. example: on a strike out the putout goes to the catcher on a ground out to the 1st baseman the 1st baseman gets the putout on a flyout the one who catches the ball gets the putout

People also asked