Best Answer

no, and I'm guessing you mean Basketball rules and regulations ahah.

User Avatar

Wiki User

2010-11-04 02:27:25
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Is a ball that hits only the backboard considered an air ball?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

If a basketball player shoots a 3 pointer only hits the backboard ball hits ground same player retrieves ball is that considered traveling?


Can you get the rebound if it only hits the backboard?

Only if your the person who did not shoot the ball

If a basketball player shoots a 3 pointer only hits the backboard ball hits ground and that same player retrieves ball is that traveling?

No if it was airball and nobody touched it it would be traveling. Once it has it the backboard its anybody's ball.

If a basketball is shot and hits the top of the backboard is it out of bounds?

Only if it stays there. If it comes down inside the lines, then it's still in play. If the ball touches the very top of the backboard it is considered and declared out of bounds to most referees.

Is it legal in basketball on the second free-throw shot for the shooter to rebound the ball off the backboard?

yes but only if it hits the rim

Is tipping the ball to a teammate a rebound?

only if the ball comes off of the rim or backboard of the basket

When the tennis ball hits the line it is in or out?

The ball is only considered out if the whole ball is in front of the line, meaning if only a fracton of the ball lands on it and the rest is over, it is still called in.

Can a basketball legally hit the top of the backboard?

Yes, as long as the ball bounces back towards the free throw line. There is a plane not only on the top of the back board but on the sides as well and if the ball bounces fully past it on the top or the side it is considered out of bounds.

Is the ball dead or live when a batter ball hits a runner?

It is a dead ball and the runner is out. If the ball hits two runners, only the first runner is out, because the ball is immediately dead when it hits the first runner.

If the ball touches the top of the backboard is it still in play or does it go to the other team?

The Ball is still in play. Back surface is the only out-of-bounds part of the backboard. (Supporting elements, such as pipes or poles or arms, etc. are obviously not part of the backboard or rim and are out of bounds.)The ball traveling OVER the top of the backboard is OUT of bounds. I believe this rule was put in place because Wilt Chamberlain would score from the other side of the board.Some sources say that if the backboard is 'fan shaped' or arched top, then the over-top rule does not apply, but does if the backboard is rectangle.It's amazing to me how many times this happens at the gym and players call it out of bounds. Cmon! You gotta know the rules if you want to play the game. No one ever knows this rule, but here it is:Rule 4, Section I - c. All five sides of the backboard (top, bottom, both sides and front face) are in play. As long as the shot stays on the top of the backboard, it is still in bounds. When it falls through the basket, the goal counts. But once the ball crosses over the backboard - regardless of where it comes to rest - it is out of bounds.

In softball is it fair if the ball is on the foul line?

In both baseball and softball all lines are considered to be fair territory. If a batted ball hits the line on the fly, but then rolls into foul territory, it is still considered a fair ball. This rule only applies to a ball hit past either the first or third base bag. A ball that hits the line, or inside the line, before reaching the first or third base bag is a foul ball.

What is the three hits rule in volleyball?

While the ball is on one side of the court, it can only be touched (hit) three times. The only exception is if the opposing team spikes the ball and a front row player touches it. This touch is not considered one of the three hits. Usually the three hits are a bump (pass), set, and spike.

People also asked