answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Essentially, yes, the tie goes to the runner.

However, there is no rule that states that a tie goes to the runner, in those exact words. The portion of the rule in section 6.05 that applies to this states, "A batter is out when after he hits a fair ball, he or first base is tagged before he touches first base." Since the rule states "before", it is assumed that a tie does in fact go to the runner. But since this is a judgment call you won't win an argument by yelling "a tie goes to the runner."

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2011-10-31 18:30:02
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: In baseball does a tie go to the runner?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Why does the tie go to the runner in baseball?

In sports, generally a "tie" goes to the offensive player, since you have to have some ruling on what happens in the case of a tie


Is there a tie goes to the runner rule in little league baseball?

There is no such rule as "tie goes to the runner" in baseball or softball. That is a common misconception. The umpire must judge whether the runner beat the ball or vise versa.


Does a tie go to the runner in baseball?

No - this is a "Sandlot" rule. In pickup games, with no umpire, you just say on a close play, the call goes to the runner. In real life, the umpire has to make the call based on how he sees it.


What is the Official Baseball rule when there is a tie between the runner and first baseman at first base?

There is no official rule covering a tie between a batter/runner and a thrown ball to first. Baseball rules do not recognize a tie between a base runner and a force out at any base. The umpire must make the judgment call on which arrived first. However, an umpire is taught to watch the runner and see when his foot touches the bag, and he is supposed to listen for the ball to pop the glove of whoever is playing on or covering first. So if it is a tie then this is where the runner will get the benefit of the doubt.


Is there an actual rule in the MLB rule book that states that a tie does in fact go to the runner?

The rule is rule 6.05 the subsection is (j). Here is what it says, "After a third strike or after he hits a fair ball, he or first base is tagged before he touches first base" In a tie the runner or the base is not tagged BEFORE the runner touches first so it can be interpreted as a tie goes to the runner. But it really is that the base or runner must be tagged before the runner reaches the base. Rule 6 applies specifically to the batter. Rule 7 applies to all runners. Rule 7.08 subsection (e) states that: Any runner is out when He fails to reach the next base before a fielder tags him or the base, after he has been forced to advance by reason of the batter becoming a runner. In this situation, the "tie" goes to the fielder. So putting these two rules together, a tie goes to the batter/runner at first and to the fielder for all other bases. In actual practice, umpires are instructed that there is no such thing as a tie and that they must determine what has happened first. Well actually according to Tim McClelland, MLB Umpire Crew Chief, a tie does not go to the runner, in the rules it states that a runner must beat the ball to the base so in fact the tie does not go to the runner.


How many innings are in baseball?

usually nine unless there is a tie ballgame then the game could go on and on until the tie is broken


If the baseball hits the base first and then the runner is the runner out?

no


When was Road Runner a Go-Go created?

Road Runner a Go-Go was created in 1965-02.


Can you hit a runner with the baseball to get them out?

yes. if the runner is on the inner (left side of chalk if you are the runner) part of the base path.


Does the inning start with one out when using the tie breaker?

Starts with a runner on 2nd base and no outs.


If a player bobbles the baseball is the runner out?

The runner is safe as long as the runner touches the base and is not tagged out. An out can only be recorded if the fielder has possession of the baseball the whole time through a play.


Is the base runner out if the Baseball is kicked by the base runner during play?

If the runner kicks a batted ball, the runner is out. If the ball had been touched by a fielder first, the runner is not out and can continue.

People also asked