answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

In Baseball "advance the runner" is a term used to say get a runner on base to move forward to another base.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-10-10 22:49:37
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What does ''advance the runner'' mean?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Can a runner advance if a batter bunts foul on his 3rd strike?

No a runner cannot advance


Can a runner advance from first or second on a caught foul ball?

Yes, a runner can advance if he tags up.


Is it illegal in football for a player to advance the runner?

Technically, yes, it is illegal to advance the runner. The official penalty is called "Helping the Runner." It is rarely enforced, however.


When can a runner on base advance on a foul ball?

No.


Can a runner advance to second with less than 2 outs in ASA softball?

What's the rest of the question? A runner can advance for many reasons. No outs, one out or two outs has no barring for the runner advancing.


If there is a foul tip into the catchers glove and is caught can the runner advance to the next base?

A Foul Tip, which is different than a Foul, is a live ball, and runner's can advance.


Old mlb rules hitting runner with ball?

If a runner is touched by a fair ball in fair territory before the ball has touched or passed an infielder, the runner is out. The ball is dead and no runner may score. And no runner can advance, except runners forced to advance. [Rule 7.08(f)]


Runner on base advance after a fly ball catch in foul territory?

yes, but runner must not advance to next base until ball is caught by defensive player.


If a batter hits the ball and the ball hits a runner leaving 2nd base the runner is out Is the batter out Do the other 2 baserunners get to advance to the next base?

When the ball hits the baserunner it is a dead ball at the runner the ball hit is out. The batter is credited with a single. Since the batter is given a single, any baserunner required to advance will advance, however, no runners ahead of the runner who was out will advance: i.e bases loaded, the runner at 2nd is hit by the ball, the runner at 2nd is out, the runner at 1st goes to 2nd and the batter goes to first. the runner at 3rd does not get to advance, he will stay at 3rd, so the bases will remain loaded runners at 2nd and 3rd, -- the ball hits the guy at 3rd base (while he is in fair territory), runner at 3rd is out, runner at 2nd returns to 2nd, and batter goes to first, you now have runners on 1st and 2nd hope this helps


Does the run count if the the runner crosses home before the out is committed?

Presumption - you mean "Does the run count if the runner crosses home before the THIRD out is committed?" It depends on the nature of the third out. If the out is a force out (e.g. fly ball out, out on an appeal, or force out at a base the runner must advance) then the run does not count. If the third out of an inning is a non-force play where the runner does not have to advance (e.g. a runner stretching a single into a double is thrown out at 2nd), then the run counts if the scoring runner reaches the plate prior to the out being made.


Baseball words that start with a?

· ace · advance a runner · assist · at bat


In baseball when a basemen has to tag the runner?

A runner must be tagged to be Out if he is not forced to advance as a result of the batter putting the ball into play.


Can the runner in baseball advance after he is hit by a thrown ball and it goes out of bounds?

Once the ball goes out of play, the number of bases the runner is to advance will depend on the ground rules at that ball park, generally when a ball goes out of play the runner gets 1 base


What does advance directives mean?

what does advance directives mean


Does a runner on first have to advance on a ground ball?

Actually it is possible for a runner on first not to advance on a ground ball, though it is very unlikely. If the hitter is thrown out at first base on a force play before the runner on first is thrown out, he can return to first base if at all possible.


What is a kick ball force out?

When the ball is kicked and the runner has to advance to the next base


Can you get 6 hits and no runs?

yes, single, single and the runner is thrown out trying to advance from first to third, 1 out, single and the runner is thrown out trying to advance to third, 2 out, single runner to 2nd, single runners to second and third, a line drive to left and they throw the runner out going to second but it is ruled a single.


Can he advance after he is hit by a thrown ball if it goes out of bounds?

NO... anyball landing foul is a foul ball and is a dead ball ...Clarification:the way i read this question is "if a thrown ball hits a runner and goes out of play can the runner advance?" -- If this is the question you are asking, then, yes, a runner can advance on a thrown ball that goes out of play. Runner will be allowed to advance 1 base after the ball goes out of play. The only time this wouldn't be the case is if the runner was running to 1st and the ball hits him and it is deemed interference, he would then be called out.The question is a bit unclear, so it really depends on what you are asking


With runners on 2nd and 3rd if the batter gets hit by a pitch can the runner on 3rd advance home?

No. When a batter is hit by a pitch, the ball is dead and no runners may advance. However, if the bases were loaded, then all runners are forced to advance and the runner from third would score.


In slow pitch with stealing may a runner advance on and illegal pitch?

yes, on an illegal pitch the upmire will let you advance a base.


What if Two player are on the same base at the same time?

In baseball? This is not allowed. The lead runner must attempt to advance to the next base; if it is tagged with the ball before the runner reaches it that runner is out.


What if the runner never tags up on a fly ball proceeds to run the bases and the ball is thrown out of play what's the ruling?

Runner would advance a base but if appealed that runner could be out.


If the bases are loaded with one out and the batter hits a ground ball - which hits his runner who is going from 1st to 2nd - does the runner on third advance to score?

I would say the runner is called out (would be Out #2) and the runner on third could advance to score. However, if there were two outs, the runner would be called out (Out #3) and therefore, the runner on 3rd would not be able to score (unless of course he crossed home plate before the runner got hit by the ground ball, then it would count)


What are some baseball related words that begin with the letter A?

· ace (pitcher) · advance a runner


What is a base runner's successful advance from one base to the next on his own?

strikers zone