Best Answer

There is no official rule covering a tie between a batter/runner and a thrown ball to first. Baseball rules do not recognize a tie between a base runner and a force out at any base. The umpire must make the judgment call on which arrived first. However, an umpire is taught to watch the runner and see when his foot touches the bag, and he is supposed to listen for the ball to pop the glove of whoever is playing on or covering first. So if it is a tie then this is where the runner will get the benefit of the doubt.

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago

There is no such rule as "tie goes to the runner" in baseball or softball. That is a common misconception. The umpire must judge whether the runner beat the ball or vise versa.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago

In sports, generally a "tie" goes to the offensive player, since you have to have some ruling on what happens in the case of a tie

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Why does the tie go to the runner in baseball?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

In baseball does a tie go to the runner?

Essentially, yes, the tie goes to the runner.However, there is no rule that states that a tie goes to the runner, in those exact words. The portion of the rule in section 6.05 that applies to this states, "A batter is out when after he hits a fair ball, he or first base is tagged before he touches first base." Since the rule states "before", it is assumed that a tie does in fact go to the runner. But since this is a judgment call you won't win an argument by yelling "a tie goes to the runner."

Is there an actual rule in the MLB rule book that states that a tie does in fact go to the runner?

The rule is rule 6.05 the subsection is (j). Here is what it says, "After a third strike or after he hits a fair ball, he or first base is tagged before he touches first base" In a tie the runner or the base is not tagged BEFORE the runner touches first so it can be interpreted as a tie goes to the runner. But it really is that the base or runner must be tagged before the runner reaches the base. Rule 6 applies specifically to the batter. Rule 7 applies to all runners. Rule 7.08 subsection (e) states that: Any runner is out when He fails to reach the next base before a fielder tags him or the base, after he has been forced to advance by reason of the batter becoming a runner. In this situation, the "tie" goes to the fielder. So putting these two rules together, a tie goes to the batter/runner at first and to the fielder for all other bases. In actual practice, umpires are instructed that there is no such thing as a tie and that they must determine what has happened first. Well actually according to Tim McClelland, MLB Umpire Crew Chief, a tie does not go to the runner, in the rules it states that a runner must beat the ball to the base so in fact the tie does not go to the runner.

How many innings are in baseball?

usually nine unless there is a tie ballgame then the game could go on and on until the tie is broken

If the baseball hits the base first and then the runner is the runner out?


If sonic goku Superman and road runner raced who will win?

they would probaly tie

Does the inning start with one out when using the tie breaker?

Starts with a runner on 2nd base and no outs.

When was Road Runner a Go-Go created?

Road Runner a Go-Go was created in 1965-02.

If a player bobbles the baseball is the runner out?

The runner is safe as long as the runner touches the base and is not tagged out. An out can only be recorded if the fielder has possession of the baseball the whole time through a play.

What does ''advance the runner'' mean?

In baseball "advance the runner" is a term used to say get a runner on base to move forward to another base.

Can you let another player run for you in baseball?

Yes. The substitute runner is called the "pinch runner".

In baseball can a runner on second run back to first while the runner on first goes to second?

NO. Base runner's must run the bases in the order they batted. If a runner overtakes another runner, he is automatically out.

The English fore runner of baseball?