answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Assuming that the runner is off of a bag then yes.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-04-22 19:19:51
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If you are a catcher and you have the ball in your bare hand tag the runner is it an out?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Is a runner out if the fielder has the ball and his other hand in his glove when he tags the runner?

So long as the fielder has full possession of the ball the runner is considered out whether the ball is in the glove, in the bare hand, or in the glove covered with the bare hand.


If you are a catcher and you have the ball in your bare hand and tag the runner with your gloved hand is it an out?

No, the ball must be in the glove in order to record a tag out with the glove hand. If the ball is in your throwing hand, you must make the tag with that hand.MLB Rule 2.00 makes this clear:A TAG is the action of a fielder in ... touching a runner with the ball, or with his hand or glove holding the ball, while holding the ball securely and firmly in his hand or glove.


Is a runner out if the first baseman has his hand on the ball while the ball is still no the ground but does not lift the ball off the ground?

Yes. They would be out. Think of it like this. If a runner is running home from third and the catcher slides onto the plate with the ball, the runner is still out, even though the catcher is on the ground. As long as the Defensive player has possession of the ball, and is touching the base, the offensive player would be considered out.


Is a runner out if a fielder has the ball in his hand and touches the base with his glove?

If the play at the base is a force out, yes. MLB rules state that a player must have complete control of the ball with the glove or bare hand for an out to be recorded. Control of the ball with the hand or glove and contract with the base is what is needed to make a force out. The rule is different, however, if the play is a tag play instead of a force out. In that case, if the fielder had the ball in his hand and tagged the runner with the glove, the runner would be safe. On tag plays the runner must be tagged with the ball or with the glove that is securely holding the ball.


On a force play can a fielder touch the base with his glove while holding the ball in his other hand to get the runner out?

Yes, if it is a force out, as long as the fielder has the ball in his possession (glove or free hand) if he touches the bag before the runner with any part of his body then the runner would be called out. Now if this was a play that required a tag, and the ball was in his bare hand and the tag is made with the glove, or visa-versa, then the runner is safe


Is there a rule in the Major League Baseball rule book that allows a catcher to block home plate?

Yes. In Rule 7.06 of the MLB Rulebook it states: " The catcher, without the ball in his possession, has no right to block the pathway of the runner attempting to score. The base line belongs to the runner and the catcher should be there only when he is fielding a ball or when he already has the ball in his hand."


Can you tag the base with your bare hand with the ball in your glove?

The official rules state that a fielder need only hold a ball in his hand and touch a base. If the runner is forced to that base and the fielder touches the base while he is holding the ball, he is out. It does not say he has to step on the base. It just says he has to touch it. The runner, on the other hand, must be tagged with the hand that holds the ball.


What if catcher throws and hits base runner?

The runner is safe, in order for the runner to be considered out the fielder would have to have the ball in his glove or hand and tag the runner. *edit: It depends on where the runner is when he is hit. If the runner is running a direct path to first and is within the 3ft baseline, the runner is safe. If however the runner takes a lane outside the 3ft path, in a deliberate attempt to block the catcher's throwing lane, the runner is out for Interference.


Can you hold the ball in bare hand and touch base with ball for an out?

Yes.


Can a catcher balk in baseball?

The catcher can cause a balk, but the balk is charged to the pitcher. If, during an intentional walk, the catcher steps out of the catcher's box before the ball leaves the pitcher's hand, it is a balk. Or, if a runner is trying to score from 3rd base by a steal or squeeze play and the catcher touches the batter or the batter's bat, or steps on home plate or in front of home plate without the ball, it is a balk.


Batter hits ground ball to 2nd basemen 2nd basemen throws to 1st basemen The first basemen catches the ball with bare hand and tags the Runner with Glove before he reaches 1st base What is the call?

he or she is safe the ball must be in the glove


In softball how can a runner be out?

The batter is out, if they hit a ball in the air and a defensive player catches the ball before it touches the ground, in fair or foul territory. If a defensive player has the ball in control and touches a base before the runner, the runner is out. If a defensive player has the ball in control and touches the runner with the ball in their hand or glove, the runner is out.


How can you successfully get an un-forced base runner out?

You can tag that runner with a glove or hand holding the ball, while the runner is not standing on a base.


If a fielder has the ball in their hand and tags the runner with the empty glove is the runner out?

No, the runner would not be out. The fielder would have had to have tagged the runner with the ball itself or with the ball was in the glove in order for the runner to be out. For more clarification: "A TAG is the action of a fielder in touching a base with his body while holding the ball securely and firmly in his hand or glove; or touching a runner with the ball, or with his hand or glove holding the ball, while holding the ball securely and firmly in his hand or glove" This is directly from the Major League rules. Tagging is not just tagging a runner off base. Tagging can also be throwing a runner out as per Major League rules. http://mlb.mlb.com/mlb/official_info/official_rules/runner_7.jsp Read rule 7.08


Can you tag the base with your bare hand with the ball in your glove hand?

MLB Rule 2.00 states:A TAG is the action of a fielder in touching a base with his body while holding the ball securely and firmly in his hand or gloveThus, if the ball is held "securely and firmly" in your glove when you touch the base with ANY part of your body -- even your hand or the bottom of your foot -- that would be considered a "tag."Rule 7.08(e) states:Any runner is out when --...(e) He fails to reach the next base before a fielder tags him or the base, after he has been forced to advance by reason of the batter becoming a runner.Thus, if a fielder tags the base the runner must advance to, prior to the runner reaching that base, that runner is out. And touching a base with your hand while holding the ball in your glove would be considered a tag of the base.Note, however, that tagging a player is different, as stated in Rule 2.00 :A TAG is the action of a fielder in ... touching a runner with the ball, or with his hand or glove holding the ball, while holding the ball securely and firmly in his hand or glove.Thus, although you can tag a BASE with the hand that does not hold the ball, you can only tag a RUNNER with the hand (or glove) that is holding the ball.


Is the runner out if the fielder has the ball in the glove and touches the base with his hand on a force?

Yes, the runner would be out because of the force play meaning that the runner has to go no matter what.


Is the runner out if the first baseman drops the ball but then places his other hand over the ball while the ball is lying on the ground before the runner reaches first base.?

The first baseman must "have control of the ball". If his hand is on it pinning it to the ground, the call is safe. If he picks it up or in any other way, shows he/she has "control" of the ball, the call is out.


In baseball if a ball is hit to first base and the first baseman grabs the ball in one hand and then touches the base with his glove on the hand that does not hold the ball is the runner out?

YES! Because it is a FORCE out and not a TAGGED out.


Can a runner advance if the hitters bat touches the ball and the catcher catches it?

YES if you are playing by MLB rules. In Major League Baseball that situation would result in a FOUL TIP, the pitch is considered a strike, and the ball is in play. According to MLB definitions, "A FOUL TIP is a batted ball that goes sharp and direct from the bat to the catchers hand(glove) and is legally caught." If a batted ball takes a "sharp and direct" path towards the catcher's glove and IS NOT caught then it is a FOUL BALL, the ball is considered "dead", and the runner CAN NOT advance. For example, if a runner attempts to steal second base and as the pitch arrives a FOUL TIP occurs, if the runner is not thrown out, a stolen base is awarded UNLESS the FOUL TIP results in a third strike to make the third out of an inning.


Can a runner advance while the pitcher is in the circle with the ball?

The batter must return to the base when the pitcher is in the circle with the ball. However, as soon as the ball leaves the pitcher's hand, the runner may take a lead off or try to steal.


If a batter tips the ball with two strikes and the catcher stops it with his chest protector and then catches it is it a out?

I don't know for a fact, but I would guess yes. It's a case of the player "bobbling" the ball, and then gaining control of it. ---- According to MLB Rules, the definition of a foul tip is: "A FOUL TIP is a batted ball that goes sharp and direct from the bat to the catcher's hands and is legally caught. It is not a foul tip unless caught and any foul tip that is caught is a strike, and the ball is in play. It is not a catch if it is a rebound, unless the ball has first touched the catcher's glove or hand." By definition, if the ball hits the catcher's glove or hand and then hits the chest protector, it can be caught by the catcher and considered a foul tip. If the ball hits the chest protector first, the ball it is considered a foul ball and not a foul tip and the catcher cannot catch it for an out.


When is a runner allowed to leave one base to move to another?

after the ball is released from the pitcher's hand


Do you field a baseball bare handed?

The proper method for fielding a baseball would be to use two hands. watching the ball all the way in to the glove and securing the ball inside the glove with your opposite hand, only after gloving the ball would you actually touch the ball bare handed.


Did Bo Jackson ever catch a fly ball in major league baseball with his bare hand?

yes


What is a bare hand?

A bare hand is a hand without any gloves or other items of clothing on it.