answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

That would likely depend on the circumstances involved before the error occurred meaning if there were no outs or only 1 out then he would get a RBI no matter what but if there's 2 outs then he likely wouldn't get a RBI.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-06-11 04:17:34
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If there is a baserunner on third and the batter hits a ground ball which the fielder makes an error on does the batter get credit for an RBI?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

What is a forceout in baseball?

A baserunner may lose his right to occupy a base when a batter becomes a baserunner. The original baserunner could be thrown out when forced to advance, this becomes a force out. Example: Baserunner on first, batter hits a ground ball, the baserunner on first must try to advance, so the batter may try to advance to first, should a fielder field the ground ball and throw to another fielder at 2nd base, who then tags the base for the out, this is a force out of the runner who originally occupied first base.


What is the official scoring of a ground ball that hits the runner?

The baserunner is out and the batter is credited with a single. The putout goes to the fielder closest to the ball when it hit the runner.


Is a batter credited with a hit if an out isn't made on a fielder's choice?

No. If an out isn't made on a fielder's choice, it's an error for allowing the other baserunner to reach, but it's still FC for the batter. Say there's a runner on first. The batter hits an easily fielded ground ball to the shortstop, who chooses to attempt to put out the baserunner. That's a fielder's choice for the batter, no matter what happens next. If it's an out (6-4), bad throw (E6), second baseman fumbles it or fails to tag the base (E4A6), it's all the same to the batter.


If another fielder catches a fly ball after striking the first fielder is it an out?

As long as the ball does not touch the ground or a wall, the batter is called out.


What does GDIP mean in baseball?

Double plays initiated by a batter hitting a ground ball (but not a fly ball or line drive) are recorded in the official statistic GIDP (Grounded Into a Double Play), an indicator of one form of batting ineptitude. Should a run score on a play in which a batter hits into a double play (the first-and-third or bases loaded, none-out situation), official rules of scoring deny the batter credit for an RBI, although the batter always gets credit for an RBI on a one-out groundout or a fielder's choice play in which a baserunner scores.


What does A means in baseball fielding?

"A" is the abbreviation for an "Assist", a scoring record of a fielder who throws out a runner, such as a ground ball to short and the batter is thrown out at first, the shortstop is credited with an Assist. Two "Assist" may sometimes be credited, such as when the ball is hit to the outfield, the outfielder may throw to another fielder who then throws the baserunner out. In that case both players involved in throwing out the runner is credited with an "Assist".


What happens If a batter has two strikes and goes to the dugout before strike three.e out?

He can't. He can only be knocked out on strike three, tag-outs (which accurs when a fielder with the baseball tags the batter), or fly-outs (which a fielder catches the baseball before it touches the ground). However, if a fielder catches the baseball before it touches the ground, but it touched the ground before it was hit by the bat, then it's still fly-out.


Why is there no sacrifice ground ball in baseball?

There is no sacrifice ground ball in baseball because you don't try to sacrifice yourself to advance the runner on the ground ball. Also, on a bunt, it's hard to get the leading runner anyway, so the fielder most of the time goes for the batter at first. On a ground ball however, the fielder most of the time has an easy option for the lead runner as well as the batter.


If the ball is caught and then dropped - while the player is tumbling on the ground - is the batsman out?

Usually the batter is not out, but if the fielder drops the ball in the act of throwing it to an infielder the batter is out. So your question's answer is no he is not out.


If there is a runner third base and he hits the ball to the shortstop and he throws to home plate and he is safe Is the batter credited with a hit or a fielder's choice?

That would be considered a fielder's choice. Answers.com defines a fielder's choice as: "A play made on a ground ball in which the fielder chooses to put out an advancing base runner, thus allowing the batter to reach first base safely." Even though, in your question, the runner was not put out at home the play would be scored a fielder's choice and the batter would be credited with an RBI.


What is the scoring decision if a batter hits a ground ball to shortstop and the runner on second collides with the fielder as he is going to third base?

Fielder has the right to occupy the territory necessary to field the ball, runner must give right of way to the fielder. In this case, runner is out.


Can a fielder's choice result without an out taking place?

Yes. A fielder's choice is when a defensive player plays a ground ball and tries to throw out a runner other than the batter. A fielder's choice can be credited when no out is recorded on the play if the official score keeper determines that the batter would have been out if the play went directly to first. In this case it would be a Fielders Choice and the batter would not be credited with a hit.


Can you charge a hitter with a fielder's choice if there is not a force out at a base?

Yes. For example, runner on 2nd, batter hits ground ball to the shortstop, who, instead of throwing to first, throws to third base in an attempt to get the runner. The batter is charged with reaching first on a fielder's choice, even if the runner is safe or out.


What happens if the pitcher gets hit by the batter's hit?

The ball is in play like any other batted ball and is considered fair whether or not it ricochets into foul territory after hitting the pitcher. If the ball hits the pitcher on the fly and is caught by a fielder before it touches the ground, the batter is out. If a ground ball touches a pitcher and another fielder grabs it and throws the batter out at first base, the pitcher is given an assist on the putout.


If a batter hits a ball where they would otherwise safely reach first and a runner currently on a base gets tagged out due to a base running error is this considered a fielders choice?

That would depend on whether the runner that made the base running error was forced out. If there is a runner on first base and the batter hits a ground ball into left field and the runner trips and falls between first and second and the left fielder throws to second and gets the runner out, it would be considered a force out and the batter would not get credited with a hit. But if there is a runner on first base and the batter hits a ground ball into left field and the runner rounds second base too far and the left fielder throws to second and the runner is tagged out, the batter would be credited with a base hit.Answer:The above is incorrect. In order for the batter to receive a Fielder's Choice and not be credited with the hit, the scorer must determine that the batter would not have safely reached 1st base. In simple terms: "the fielder COULD have thrown out the batter, but CHOSE not to". In the example above, the left fielder could not have thrown out the batter at first. The batter is awarded the hit and the defense records a 7-4 put out.A force out does not determine a Fielder's choice. If there is a runner on 2nd with 1st empty: If the batter hits a sharp ground ball to second basemen who fields the ball cleanly and attempts to throw out the runner advancing from 2nd, the batter is given the fielder's choice whether the advancing runner is safe or out at 3rd.


What is a unassisted ground out in baseball?

An unassisted ground out in baseball is the event of the batter hitting the ball and it hitting the ground before a fielder fields the baseball such as a first baseman fielding the baseball and then going over to first base in order to record the batter as an out which would consider it as an unassisted ground out because the Infielder did all of the field work of the out play.


What is a ground out in softball?

A ground out is when the hitter hits a ground ball to a fielder and they throw her out at first base.


If a ground ball takes a bad hop does the hitter get a base hit?

If a ground ball takes a bad hop and the batter is thrown out at first, he is out. If a ground ball takes a bad hop and the official scorekeeper feels the fielder would have thrown out the batter if the bad hop had not occurred, an error is charged to that fielder. If a ground ball takes a bad hop and the official scorekeeper feels the runner would have been safe at first anyway, it will be scored as a base hit with no error.


If a line drive goes into the pitchers jersey is it an out?

A batter-runner is ruled out if any fielder gains full, controlled possession of the live baseball in flight. If a hit baseball were to hit off the head of one fielder, and be caught by another fielder who gained controlled possession before the ball touched the ground or a wall, the batter would be out. So the assumed conclusion would be that yes, if the pitcher were able to reach into his uniform and gain full, controlled possession of the baseball before it touched the ground, the batter would be out. It would be like any other bobbled ball that was eventually controlled before touching the ground. However, there may be specific ground rules relating to a player's uniform.


If a batted ball hits a fielder's glove and knocks the glove to the ground but stays in the glove is the batter out if the fielder picks up glove before the ball touches the ground?

For there to be a legal catch, there must be a catch and voluntary release of the ball. Therefore, if the ball knocks the glove off the fielder's hand, he didn't meet either of the criteria for a catch: he didn't catch it, and he didn't release the ball voluntarily.


In major league baseball if you catch a ball that bounce off the wall is it out?

No. Once a batted ball touches a wall it cannot be caught for an out. Finding this in the rules is a little complex. The fielder must catch the ball "in flight." A ball is "in flight" if it hasn't hit the ground or an object other than another fielder (e.g., a wall, umpire, baserunner). Once it hits the wall it is considered a bounding ball and no longer "in flight" even though it hasn't hit the ground yet. It's OK if the fielder just bobbles the ball or even if it's tipped to another fielder--it's still "in flight" and can be caught for an out. Took me quite a while to dig out the precise answer by going through the rules.


How do you mark an out in the scorebook if the batter is hit with the ball out of the batters box?

It is an unassisted putout given credit to the nearest fielder and the hitter is given a single when a batted ball in play hits a runner -- in this instance since the batter is the runner hit he would not get a single and since it is just out of the batters box it would just be recorded as G-2 -- or Ground-out to Catcher, whichever is your shortcut of choice for marking that


If a player catches a fly ball and in attempting to throw it to hold a runner but drops the ball is this an error on the player and is the hitter awarded a hit?

If the fielder catches the ball and, during the motion of reaching into the glove to grab the ball to throw, the ball drops to the ground the batter is called out. As long as the fielder has complete control of the ball before attempting to throw, the umpire will call the batter out.


What is the call a batter hita drive passed the third base bag the fielder dives but the ball carems off his glove and goes in to the stands is this a short home run?

ground rule double.


How many possible ways can a baserunner advance a base or bases?

Here goes nothing: base hit (including home run, ground rule double) walk hit by pitch fielder's choice (includes all advancing on a ground out sac fly (includes all advancing on a fly out) sac bunt balk error, including ball thrown out of play steal (includes pick off attempt) passed ball wild pitch indifference (like a steal, but catcher does not try to throw him out) catcher's interference (batter hits catcher's glove, runner on first moves up) fielder's interference (according to the rule, the runner must already be advancing to that base) fielder throws equiment at a ball in an attempt to stop it (technically a triple, I believe) fan interference