answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

a batter is OUT when a third strike is not caught by the catcher when 1st. base is OCCUPIED BEFORE (2) are out. RULE 6.05 (c)

So in the case mentioned above the batter is out and the runners may advance at their own peril. The batter does not get an RBI.

Rule 6.09 (b) states that the batter becomes a RUNNER when the third strike called by the umpire is not caught providing (1) first base is UNOCCUPIED,or (2) first base is OCCUPIED WITH TWO OUTS. In the case above the catcher after retrieving the ball could try to throw to first to get the batter runner out or he could tag home before the runner from third touches the plate for a force out. If the both runners are safe I'm not sure if the batter runner would get an RBI. I would guess he doesnt---sort of like no rbi if the batter hits into a double play and a run scores during that play.

AnswerRule 10.04(a) Credit the batter with a run batted in for every run which reaches home base because of the batters safe hit,sacrifice bunt, sacrifice fly, infield out of fielders choice: or which is forced over the plate by reason of the batter becoming a runner with the bases full (on a base on balls, or an award of first base for being touched by a pitched ball, or for INTERFERENCE or obstrction.

The batter is automatically out and the runners may advance at their own risk. The uncaught third strike rule only applies when there are two outs or when there are less than two outs and there is no runner on first base. In either case, the batter would never be given an RBI for a run scored via the uncaught third strike rule. The batter would be charged with a strikeout in all cases.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2011-09-12 21:32:06
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If the bases are loaded with 1 out and batter swings at 3rd strike but the ball gets past the catcher and does not tag him the runners advance a base is the batter charged with a strikeout and an RBI?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Pitchers pitches the ball is pitched bounces off catcher and gets stuck in the umpires equipment do runners advance?

no dead ball


Can runners advance during the infield fly rule?

Yes, runners may advance at their own risk.


What is a passed ball and a wild pitch?

A wild pitch is one that bounces before reaching the catcher that he cannot stop or a pitch that is beyond his normal reach. Most times these pitches go behind him or to his side allowing base runners to advance. A passed ball is a pitch that is mishandled by the catcher and normally goes behind him or to his side. Base runners may advance on these also.


If a pitched ball hits catcher and goes out of play what happens to the runners?

It is ruled a dead ball and each base runner would advance one base.


Why is it important for to catcher to catch the ball once the batter misses?

The catcher needs to catch the ball because the ball is still a "live" ball. (Unless it's a foul ball that the catcher wouldn't likely catch that anyway. Any base runners may advance when the ball is "live" at their peril. If the ball is not caught, there isn't much peril to runners running to the next base.


If a batter bunts and runs into the ball how is it scored?

It would be scored as an out and the credit would go to the catcher, since he is the closest player to play. ANSWER: It depends upon whether the ball was contacted in fair or foul territory when contacted by the runner. In fair territory the runner is out, play is dead (runners can't advance), and the catcher is credited with the putout. In foul territory, it depends on the count. With two strikes the batter is out, and the pitcher is credited with a strikeout. With less than two strikes, it is treated as a strike.


Is the play dead if the ball hits the batter in fair territory. Can runners advance?

Yes the ball is dead, and no the runners cannot advance.


If an umpire or catcher throws ball past pitcher after a new ball is used or if a ball is checked by ump and given back to catcher can baserunners run?

An umpire is not supposed to throw the ball back to the pitcher with runners on base. If he does the ball is dead from the time he touches it to the time the pitcher has the ball on the pitching mound. So the runners cannot advance.


What catcher threw out the most runners in his lifetime?

Yadier Molina threw out 2,678 runners at any bag.


Can runners advance on a fly out with bases loaded?

Runners can attempt to advance on a fly out, provided that they tag up (touch the bade they are currently on after the ball is caught).


Can a runner on third steal home on ball 4?

Yes. If a runner is forced to advance on a walk, he earns that base free of charge, but if he wants to advance to another base, that's totally at his own risk. If the ball gets away from the catcher on ball four, the runners can advance if they want to.


With runners on 2nd and 3rd if the batter gets hit by a pitch can the runner on 3rd advance home?

No. When a batter is hit by a pitch, the ball is dead and no runners may advance. However, if the bases were loaded, then all runners are forced to advance and the runner from third would score.


In baseball how can the catcher commit a balk?

catcher's balk A rarely called violation of catcher's interference charged as a balk when a catcher leaves the catcher's box before the pitch is delivered, especially on an Intentional Base On Balls (IBB). The balk penalty would award the batter first base and any runners would advance.[Official Baseball Rules, 2004 Edition, published by Triumph Books], Rule 4.03(a)


On offense can you advance on an infield fly rule?

Yes, the runners may advance at their own risk.


On a dropped third strike can runners advance?

Yes, a dropped 3rd strike acts the same as a passed ball or a wild pitch so runners can advance to the next base.


If bases are loaded and batters swings and misses where do the runners go?

The runners stay on base unless: if it's strike 3, out 3, the inning is over and runners leave the field and switch to defense as long as the game isn't over; if it's a wild pitch and not strike 3, out 3, the runners can advance at their own risk; if it's strike 3 and not out 3 and the catcher fails to catch the ball, all runners (including the batter) can run to the next base


Can runners advance on a ball thrown out of play?

Yes. On the first throw by an infielder, all runners advance 2 bases from where they were at the time of the pitch. If the throw is a subsequent throw during an extended play or a throw by an outfielder, all runners advance 2 bases from the last base they legally held at the time of the throw.


Can base runners advance on a hit by pitch?

When a batter is hit with a ball, it is a dead ball. Runners may advance to the next based only if they are forced to do so (e.g. If there are runners on first and third, only the runner on first may advance because they are 'forced' to go to second. The runner on third remains on third).


Can a batter be called out on ball 4 for interfering with a catcher's throw?

In a normal Base On Balls call, the catcher wouldn't have to throw the ball. If it's a passed ball or a wild pitch, the batter is still awarded first base and can't do anything else. If there are other runners and they try to advance and the batter interferes after that, he is certainly called out and the runner will have to go back to the base he started from. But on a normal base on balls, the ball is dead and the runners would only advance if they were forced and the catcher wouldn't have to throw the ball anywhere except to the pitcher.


Can you advance on a caught foul ball?

Yes, once the foul ball is caught the runners can advance by tagging up


In slow pitch softball if the batter-runner is hit by his own batted ball while running to first base he is out can the runners on base advance or must they remain at their base?

batter is out, runners do not advance


Do runners advance when batter hits catchers glove?

when the batter swings and hits the catchers glove it is called catchers interference and the batter goes to first base. so if there are any runners on first or first and second or they are loaded then yes they advance. If the runners are on second or second and third or just third they dont advance because there is an open bag.


Is it a past ball if a catcher blocks a ball but the runners still advance?

It depends; gerenerally if the ball hits the dirt first, it is a wild pitch. A Passed ball is a ball that should have been caught. There is no definitive answer as each scorer has the discretion to call it as they see fit, so while a blocked ball may be ruled a wild pitch by one, it is a passed ball by another. If the runner davances due to the catcher simply being lazy, they are likely to be charged with an error


What is a basepath?

A basepath is a grassless area around a baseball diamond on which runners advance.


How do you get 2 bases on a walk in baseball?

If the pitched ball four (issuing a walk) gets past the catcher, it is still a "live" ball, and the batter, and any other runners on base, may advance as far as they can. The catcher, or any other defensive player must retrieve the ball to keep it in play and prevent the batter or baserunners from advancing.