Best Answer

a batter is OUT when a third strike is not caught by the catcher when 1st. base is OCCUPIED BEFORE (2) are out. RULE 6.05 (c)

So in the case mentioned above the batter is out and the runners may advance at their own peril. The batter does not get an RBI.

Rule 6.09 (b) states that the batter becomes a RUNNER when the third strike called by the umpire is not caught providing (1) first base is UNOCCUPIED,or (2) first base is OCCUPIED WITH TWO OUTS. In the case above the catcher after retrieving the ball could try to throw to first to get the batter runner out or he could tag home before the runner from third touches the plate for a force out. If the both runners are safe I'm not sure if the batter runner would get an RBI. I would guess he doesnt---sort of like no rbi if the batter hits into a double play and a run scores during that play.

AnswerRule 10.04(a) Credit the batter with a run batted in for every run which reaches home base because of the batters safe hit,sacrifice bunt, sacrifice fly, infield out of fielders choice: or which is forced over the plate by reason of the batter becoming a runner with the bases full (on a base on balls, or an award of first base for being touched by a pitched ball, or for INTERFERENCE or obstrction.

The batter is automatically out and the runners may advance at their own risk. The uncaught third strike rule only applies when there are two outs or when there are less than two outs and there is no runner on first base. In either case, the batter would never be given an RBI for a run scored via the uncaught third strike rule. The batter would be charged with a strikeout in all cases.

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

16y ago

yes Yes, the player is credited with a RBI.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago

With one out or no outs the batter is out. With two outs the batter may run to first.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago

Yes, if the catcher drops the ball

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If there is a runner in first base and the batter strikes out swinging and the ball hits the ground pass the catcher is the batter automatically out?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

What happens when a batter has two strikes and swings and tips the next pitch?

If the catcher catches the tip the batter is out. If the catcher does not catch the tip, it counts as a foul ball and the batter continues at bat.

Is it possible to strike six people out in one inning?

Yes, it is. When a pitcher strikes someone out, the ball will occasionally pop out of the catcher's glove while the batter is swinging. When that happens, the batter can run for first. The pitcher, however, is still credited with the strikeout.Therefore, a pitcher could strike 6 people out if 3 people reached base when the catcher dropped the ball 3 times and if the pitcher struck out 3 batters regularly.

What is the difference between a catcher catching a foul tip and catching a fly ball?

A foul tip is considered to be when the batter swings and the bat barely touches, or tips, the ball. The ball goes straight back into the catcher's mitt. A fly ball is when the batter makes contact and the ball goes up into the air for a significant distance. If a catcher catches a foul tip with less than two strikes the play is simply considered a strike and not an out. But if the catcher catches a foul tip when the batter has two strikes, the batter is scored to have struckout.

If bat hits glove during swing is it interference?

If the bat strikes the catcher's mitt, the rule is catcher's interference. The batter gains first.

A baseball bat is a machine. When a batter swings and hits a ball the batter swinging is the?

The batter swinging the bat.

Is it a strike if ball hits the bat but the batter is not swinging?

Yes, whether the batter attempted to contact the ball or not, if the ball strikes the bat and is fouled off, it is a strike, unless there are already two strikes, of course. If, on the other hand, the ball strikes the bat and goes into fair territory, the ball is in play, and the runner can attempt to reach first.

What is catcher interferance?

Catcher's Interference is an Umpire's call due to the Catcher making some type of contact with either the batter or his bat during a pitch or does other actions to interfere with a batter's ability to hit the oncoming pitched ball however an Umpire can only call Catcher's Interference as long as the batter is in a legal position while in the batter's box and in the event of Catcher's Interference being called the batter is awarded first base automatically and the runners advanced only if forced to.

Why is there a sometime a backward k and other times it face correctly to show when a player strikes out in little league baseball?

In scoring baseball on all levels, a backwards "K" means the batter was called out on strikes by the umpire. A regular "K" means the batter struck out while swinging at the pitch.

If the a line drive strikes the pitchers rubber and the catcher catches it is he out?

No he is not out. Hitting the rubber is like hitting the ground. He would have to throw out the batter, runner at first base.

If there is no strikes and a batter hits the ball not in the air in the faul taritory and the catcher catches is it a out?

If the batted ball is on the ground and touched by a defensive player while the ball is in foul territory, before passing 1B or 3B, then it is foul, and the batter is not out. But if the batted ball is hit in the air, a pop up, and the catcher catches it while in foul territory, the batter is out.

If a catcher is credited with a putout on a strikeout does the pitcher get an assist as most stat programs do not give assists in this instance?

The pitcher does not get an assist unless the batter strikes out and the ball bounces to the pitcher, who throws the ball to the catcher, who tags out the runner.

Umpire calls a batter out and catcher drops the ball and batter advances to first is he safe or out at first?

If he is called out on strikes and the catcher drops the ball, the batter may try to run to first base. In order to be put out, the catcher must throw the ball and get him out at first before he gets to the base. If the runner beats the throw, then the runner is safe. The pitcher is given credit for a strikeout. The catcher is given an error. This is how pitchers can have 4 strikeouts in an inning, which happened in MLB this week.