answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

No... The base runner is never called out when the ball is thrown and hits the runner ...

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-06-19 17:43:13
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If the ball hits the runner stealing home plate is he out?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

When stealing home plate can the catcher jump in front of the plate to tag the runner?

YES the catcher is SUPPOSED to block the plate as long as he has the ball. if the batter swings and hits the catcher the runner would return to third and the batter awarded first base. If the bases were loaded the catchers interference would force the runner home.


If the ball hits home plate then hits batter are you out?

No, on a throw the runner can't just be hit by the ball and be out. Even if it hits the plate. The catcher would have to tag the runner with the ball, or with his glove while the ball is in his glove. The only time a runner can be out like that is when they are running the bases and hit by a ball hit by the batter(The runner must be in fair territory). Wrong. If you are a right handed batter, it is possible to hit the plate then hit you. You are out. If you are out of the box. If you are in the box, the ball will called dead. Scored as a foul.


Can a runner on 3rd score when a batter hits ball in fair play in front of plate and is out when ball hits her?

If the batter/runner is contacted by a fair ball when they are out of the box they are out and the ball is dead thus no runners can advance. Given this the answer to you question is no they can not score.


What happens if a cather throws the ball and hits the runner stealing third?

The play continues, if it hits him and goes out in the field he can run home of he wants, as long as he did not intentionally try to get hit by the ball


What happens to the batter when the ball hits the runner?

If the runner is in fair territory then the runner is out. But if the ball hits the runner in foul territory, then it would just be a foul ball. If the ball hits the runner in fair territory, the runner is out but if the batter is safe to 1st then they would be safe.


Is the ball dead or live when a batter ball hits a runner?

It is a dead ball and the runner is out. If the ball hits two runners, only the first runner is out, because the ball is immediately dead when it hits the first runner.


What is an rbi in softball?

An rbi is when there is a runner on a base and the hitter is at the plate and hits the ball and the runner that was on the base comes home and scores rbi = RUN BATTED IN


Is the runner out if he leaves the base before batter hits the ball?

Absolutely not -- a runner can (and invariable does) leave the base even before the pitcher throws the ball to the batter! That's called leading off. A batter can attempt to run to the next base without the batter hitting it -- ie, stealing a base. PERHAPS what you're asking about is what happens if the runner leaves the base before the ball is hit AND the batter hits the ball AND the ball is caught by a fielder before it hits the ground AND the ball is then thrown to the base where the runner was AND the ball is held there before the runner returns to that base. If ALL of those things happen, then the runner is out.


If the ball hits a runner is it a hit or a fielders choice?

If a ball hits the runner, the runner is out and the play is scored a hit for the batter.


Is a runner out if a fielder throws the ball and hits the runner?

No. A runner is out if hit by a batted ball but not out if hit by a thrown ball.


If a batter hits the ball and tries to get the runner at the plate does the batter get a hit recorded?

If a batter hits the ball and a defensive player tries to get the runner at the plate does the batter get a hit recorded?If the official scorekeeper feels that the runner would have been put out at first, it is a Fielder's Choice. If the scorekeeper feels that the runner would have been safe at first anyway, it is a hit.This would be true, unless the runner is thrown out at the plate, then it would again be recorded as a Fielder's Choice.


If a batted ball hits a runner on third base but the ball hits the runner on the foot which is in foul territory is he still out?

No


Ball hits home plate?

if a batted ball hits home plate and goes into fair territory it is a fair ball since the plate is in fair territory however it a batted ball hits the plate and goes foul it is a foul ball


What if ball hits runners?

The runner is out.


If a runner on third is stealing home on a passed ball and the ball bounces off the backstop and hits the batter is the batter out?

The batter or the runner? Either would have to be tagged to result in an out. The catcher (or any player) would have to have the ball and touch the runner from third. If you mean the batter is still in the batter's box and the ball rebounds and hits him then I would surmise that it is a judgment call by the umpire as to whether or not the batter was in the way of the catcher being able to make a play.


When a batted ball hits a runner?

If a batted ball hits a runner, the ball is dead. The runner is out and any other runners return to the base they started on. The batter must re-bat.


What constitutes batter interference when a catcher throws to second to get the runner out who is stealing?

If the ball hits third base on a hit, it is foul according to Major League Rules


If the ball hits home plate and then the batter hits it is it a fair ball?

I believe, since home plate is in fair territory, the ball would be fair and the batter would be called out for making contact with a live, fair ball. The equivelent to runner interference with the ball on the base paths. ---------- The question is unclear. If a pitched ball hits home plate, it can then be hit by the batter (former Astros player, Enos Cabell, comes to mind). However, if the batter hits the pitch, and the ball then hits the plate and bounces up into the air, and the batter then hits it a second time, he's out. The rule says if the bat hits a batted ball a second time, the batter is out, which is different the the ball hitting the bat a second time.


Is the ball alive or dead when hitting a runner in fair territory?

It depends. Is the ball being thrown or is it hit. If it's hit off the bat and hits a base runner it's a dead ball and the runner is out if the ball has not passed a fielder. If the ball has already passed a fielder then the ball is live and the runner is not out. It is as if it never happened. If it hits the runner when it is thrown it is perceived as if it never hit the runner.


If the ball hits home plate is it fair or foul?

Home plate is considered in fair territory. If the ball hits home plate and rolls into foul territory, the ball is foul. If the ball hits home plate and rolls into fair territory, the ball is fair.


If the bases are loaded with one out and the batter hits a ground ball - which hits his runner who is going from 1st to 2nd - does the runner on third advance to score?

I would say the runner is called out (would be Out #2) and the runner on third could advance to score. However, if there were two outs, the runner would be called out (Out #3) and therefore, the runner on 3rd would not be able to score (unless of course he crossed home plate before the runner got hit by the ground ball, then it would count)


Does a batter get credit for hit if the batted ball hits a base runner?

If a batted ball hits a runner in fair territory, the runner is out, and the batter is credited with a single and takes 1st base


Runner hits the ball and takes off to first and the first baseman grabs the ball and attempts to tag the runner but the runner takes a step back to home plate. Is the runner considered out?

No the runner is not out unless the first baseman tags him, the first baseman touches the bag before the runner there, or the runner steps out of the baseline. The runner could go back and forth on the base path for as long as he can stay safe. So simply, no the runner is not out yet.


if batter hits the ball and it hits home plate is it a fair ball?

Home plate is considered fair territory. Thus, if the ball hits home plate AND then never leaves fair territory, it remains a fair ball. However, if the ball hits home plate, and afterwards goes into foul territory before leaving the infield, then it is a foul ball.


A batted ball hits home plate is it a dead ball?

No - the entire plate is in fair territory, so a batted ball that hits the plate is in play; however, if it goes foul after hitting the plate, it is a (foul) dead ball.