answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

The error will be on the person who was to cover the based. this is as long as the person who was to cover the base could have gotten the ball.

If in fact there is nobody there to receive the ball, then it would be ruled a throwing error.

Offical Baseball rules section 10.13(e) The Official Scorer section.An error shall be charged against any fielder whose failure to stop, or try to stop, an accurately thrown ball that permits a runner to advance, providing there was occasion for the throw. If such throw be made to second base, the scorer shall determine whether it was the duty of the second baseman or the shortstop to stop the ball, and an error shall be charged to the negligent player. Note: If in the scorer's judgment there was no occasion for the throw, an error whall be charged to the fielder who threw the ball.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2015-07-16 18:06:23
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If a throw is made to a base and the man covering the base is not there allowing the ball to go into the outfield who is charged with the error?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Can an error be charged on a successful fielders choice?

No. No error can ever be given when there is an out made on the play.


Is a past ball an error?

Yes, if the ball is pitched in a location where the catcher has a reasonable chance of stopping the ball, that is a passed ball and the error is charged to the catcher. If the ball is pitched in a location where the catcher does NOT have a reasonable chance of stopping the ball, that is a wild pitch and the error is charged to the pitcher. Actually, a passed ball is NOT charged as an error against the catcher. It's simply charged as a passed ball. Not terribly logical, I agree, but that's the rule.


It is not allowing you to uninstall it from there it is giving you error?

To help you further we need to know what is "IT"


Is a passed ball that allows a runner at third base to score considered an error?

It is an error, charged to the catcher as a passed ball, however, it does not show up in the stats as an error.


When a player gets on base due to a fielders error is the batter charged for time at bat?

Yes, the batter would have been out if it were not for the error.


How many errors were committed if there is a runner on 2nd base when the batter bunts to the pitcher but the throw deflects off the 1st base glove allowing the runner to score from 3rd?

The official scorer would have to determine if the throw was catchable. If the throw was, then the error would be on the first baseman and he would be charged as such. If on the other hand the throw was a bad one and the first baseman had to reach and could not catch the ball, then the error is on the pitcher. Only one error would be charged even though the base runner advanced two base and scored.


How does reach on error affect batting avg?

When a batter reaches on an error, an at bat is charged (since there would have been a put out had the error not occurred), so it will cause a decrease in batting average


Is it an error if a player double pumps a throw to 1st?

an error is only charged if the runner reaches base because of the mistake when they should have been out.


Debit card disputes key bank?

Target charged my account from on line in error.


Can a pitcher be charged a fielding error?

Yes. Once the pitched ball is batted, a pitcher becomes a fielder. If he makes an attempt to field a ball and rightfully should be able to score a putout but fails, he can be charged a fielding error. One example would be a bunted ball where the pitchers moves to pick it up with his glove, but instead hits it away from himself, allowing the batter-runner to safely reach first base. The pitcher made an attempt to field the ball and should have had the batter out, but he failed.


Is a wild pitch an error?

No, a wild pitch is a wild pitch -- it is considered a mistake charged to the pitcher. An "error" in baseball is a fielding mistake. A pitcher can make an "error" but only on a batted or thrown ball.


How many oz is 32?

Rounded to the nearest whole number, and allowing for measurement error, exactly 32.


Who gets the error if the thrown ball is caught in the baseline and the runner knocks the ball from the glove?

This will depend on the situation. If it is a poorly thrown ball where the runner would be out on a good throw the person who threw the ball would be charged the error. This would be an instance where the 1st baseman had to jump or dive to catch the ball then apply the tag. If the throw is a good throw and basically dropped the the person catching is charged an error. If it is an instance where it is a collision at home or any other base an other then the fact the ball was dropped due to the collision then nobody would be charged an error


If you drop a fly ball in foul territory is it an error?

No. An error is defined as a misplay that allows one or more baserunners to advance an extra base. In this case, the ball would simply be declared foul. Scorer rule 10.12 says that a fielder can be charged with an error if he drops a fly foul ball because it prolongs the 'at bat' of the hitter. The hitter does not have to reach base and the runners, if any, need not advance for an error to be charged.


Can the center fumble?

No. A fumble on the quarterback/center exchange is always charged to the QB, regardless of whose error it was.


How many 1's are in 1?

Allowing for rounding error, as a very rough estimate, I would suggest 1.


If an police officier makes a mistake on a ticket can the charges be dropped in court due to officer error?

Not unless the error is such that you either can not understand what you are charged with doing wrong, or can not properly defend yourself.


If the pitcher threw the ball in the dirt before it reaches the catcher glove is this an error on the pitcher?

No, this would not be an error it would be ruled a wild pitch or passed ball, neither of which are charged with errors


Can you be charged in court if they spelled your name wrong on court papers?

If you are able to be identified from all the the other information supplied in the documents, yes, you can be. An error such as this is known as a "scrivener's error" and is actually not uncommon.


In softball if an easy foul ball is dropped does the fielder get an error?

Errors are only charged when a ball is in fair play.


Why is a pitcher not charged with an earned run if he commits an error?

A run can never be counted as earned if scored due to an error by ANY player. (But, I do see your point)


What is era in baseball?

E.R.A. stands for Earned Run Average. It is the average earned runs scored upon a pitcher per nine innings of work. It is called Earned because if a fielder makes an error allowing a runner to advance a base and that runner eventually scores, that run will not be charged to the pitcher's E.R.A.


Does an error on a sacrifice fly count as an at bat?

no, if in the judgment of the official scorer a ball would have been a sacrifce fly without the error, the batter is not charged an at bat and gets credit for a sacrifice fly and an RBI


When a batter advances to second on a bad throw to from the outfield is this a 2 base hit or a single and a stolen base?

It counts as a single. an error is awarded to the fielder


Can scopas be on butterflies?

I Like Cheese Error Error Error Error Error Error Error Error Error Error Error Error Error Error Error Error Error Error Error Error Error Error Error Error Error Error Error Error Error Error Error Error Error Error Error Error Error Error Error Error Error Error Error Error Error Error Error Error