answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

The official scorer would have to determine if the throw was catchable. If the throw was, then the error would be on the first baseman and he would be charged as such. If on the other hand the throw was a bad one and the first baseman had to reach and could not catch the ball, then the error is on the pitcher. Only one error would be charged even though the base runner advanced two base and scored.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2006-01-22 20:15:33
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: How many errors were committed if there is a runner on 2nd base when the batter bunts to the pitcher but the throw deflects off the 1st base glove allowing the runner to score from 3rd?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Was Babe Ruth a pitcher or a batter?

Babe Ruth Was A Pitcher When He Was On The Redsox And A Batter When He Was With The Yankees.


What if pitcher hits batter?

If the pitcher hits the batter on a pitch then the batter is awarded first base. However if the batter swings at the ball and it hits her then it is a strike


Softball what is the distance between pitcher and batter?

The distance between the pitcher and the batter should be around 30 feet.


A sebtence for the word pitcher?

my dad was the pitcher and I was the batter.


What happens when the pitcher catches a ball from the batter?

the batter is out


In major league baseball if a batter has a 1-1 count and the pitcher is removed which pitcher is responsible for the batter if he gets on base?

The pitcher who pitched the 1-1 count is responsible for the batter if he gets on base.


Can a pitcher be taken out while batter has a count?

Yes, a pitcher may be replaced at any time with one exception. That exception isifthe pitcher has just entered the game and the batter is the first batter he is pitching to. The rule states a pitcher must pitch one full at bat and applies to both starting and relief pitchers. Of course, if the pitcher suffers an injury the umpires can rule that he may be replaced regardless of whether the batter is the first batter the pitcher is pitching to.


With change of pitcher can batter be changed?

Yes. The batter can be changed. The balls and strikes are on the pitcher. If there is a new pitcher, the count goes to zero balls and zero strikes.


What does the pitcher do in baseball?

The pitcher is the one who throws the baseball to the batter.


What is a pitcher?

A pitcher is the person who pitches, or throws, the ball to the batter.


Can a manager substitute a pitcher after he has thrown a pitch to a batter?

Yes, if the batter was retired with that 1 pitch or got on base or was hit by the pitch. In other words if that batter is no longer up or if this was not the 1st batter the pitcher has faced and the pitcher threw a strike or a ball then the manager could take him out or if the pitcher suffered an injury with that one pitch. If the pitcher comes into a game and throws only one pitch and the batter is still up and there is no injury to the pitcher, then the pitcher must pitch to the batter till he is retired or reaches base on a hit, walk, error, fielders choice, etc.


Can a pitcher switch from left-handed to right-handed or vice versa to the same batter?

YES ... this has happened in MLB game ... the batter batted on the left so the pitcher switched throwing hands when the batter seen that pitcher had swished throwing hands the batter switched batting sides ... as the batter swiched side the pitcher swiched his throwing arm ... this happened so much that the umpire had to tell the pitcher and batter to stop delaying the game and pick a side/arm ...


What is the official scoring for the batter if he is hit in fair territory by his own batted ball?

That batter would be called out. If the ball goes directly from his bat to hitting the batter when they are not in the batters box, the batter is out. If a defensive player deflects the ball before it touches the batter then play continues as normal.


Who is charged with the batter when a new pitcher enters the game to face that batter with a count of 2-0 already on the batter from the first pitcher?

If a relief pitcher enters the game with a 2 ball 0 strikes on the batter and the batter receives a base on balls it is charged to the preceding pitcher. Any other action such as a base hit, fielder's choice, reaching base on an error, etc., is charged to the relief pitcher. (Rule 10.18 (g)).


A baseball pitcher throws a fastball at 42 meters per second If the batter is 18 meters from the pitcher approximately how much time does it take for the ball to reach the batter?

It would take the ball .26 sec. to get from the pitcher to the batter.


Can a batter be a pitcher in a game?

Yes.


Lead runner out on home run with 2 outs does the home run count?

The batter is credited with a home run in his personal statistics (and the pitcher is charged with allowing one,) but no runs score.


How do you get home from third in softball?

There are a number of ways to get from 3rd to home. You can steal, be force home by a bases loaded walk to the batter, the batter get a hit, the batter hit a fly ball to out field allowing you to tag up and the pitcher make an illegal pitch. I'm sure I've overlooked a couple of more.


Ground ball to pitcher- pitcher drops ball and batter beats throw does pitcher gets an error or the batter get a hit?

It depends on how bad the pitcher boots the ball. An error is recorded when an out is not made within reasonable effort or talent.


If a pitching change is made during an at-bat and the batter gets on base and later scores which pitcher is charged with the earned run?

If the batter got on base with the original pitcher and he scores of the new pitcher, the previous pitcher is charged with the earned run.


In base ballcan you bring in a relief pitcher in the middle of a count?

Yes, you can. The only exception is for the first batter of the game and for the first batter to be faced by a reliever. According to Rule 3.05(a), the starting pitcher shall pitch to the first batter or any substitute batter until such batter is put out or reaches first base, unless the pitcher sustains injury or illness which, in the judgment of the umpire-in-chief, incapacitates him from pitching. And according to Rule 3.05(b), if the pitcher is replaced, the substitute pitcher shall pitch to the batter then at bat, or any substitute batter, until such batter is put out or reaches first base, or until the offensive team is put out, unless the substitute pitcher sustains injury or illness which, in the umpire-in-chief's judgment, incapacitates him for further play as a pitcher.


In little league you have a batter in full count and change pitcher the new pitcher threw one strike and the batter is out who is responsible for that defensive out?

In any league, the last pitcher to pitch the ball is responsible for that batter. If he strikes him out, the credit goes to him, regardless of how many pitches he throws.


How much time does the pitcher have to throw the ball after the batter gets in the batter's box?

A Pitcher's time limit in pitching to a batter doesn't depend solely on the batter but also on when he (the Pitcher in question) has the baseball in his possession however when he does have the ball in his possession and is on the mound then he has 12 seconds to deliver it to the plate however an exception to this rule is when runners are on base.


How long from pitcher to batter?

60.5 ft


If a batter digs in at home plate what type of challenge is it to the pitcher?

Pitch close to the batter.