answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Yes. The fielder covering the base does NOT have to tag the runner. The runner is forced out when the fielder steps on the base before the runner can make it back. Got that.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-08-22 04:36:38
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If a runner has to return to a base on a caught flyball is that a force out?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Can a runner advancing to second on a force play safely return to first prior to being tagged out if the batter runner was put out first?

Yes. Once the runner that just batted is tagged out there is no longer a force out for the runner advancing to second. Therefore he can continue to second or go back to first.


Is it a force out at second base if the out at first occurs before the out at second?

No, once the runner heading for first base is out, the runner heading toward second base may safely return to first.


If there is a runner on first base and the batter is put out at first is the force removed for the runner?

The force is off so the runner can only be tagged out.


What is required for the fielder to tag the base only?

When a batted ball is put into play there is always a force out (all they have to do is touch the base) at 1st base. To have a force out at any other base, all the bases behind it must be occupied.. i.e runner on 1st and 2nd, you would have a force out at 1st, 2nd, 3rd --- runners on 1st and 3rd.. you only have a force out at 2nd and 1st, there is no force at home since nobody was on 2nd -- Also on a caught fly ball if the runner doesnt "tag up" then it is always a force out by touching the base he was on when the ball was hit -- i.e runner on 2nd base, batter hits fly ball caught by 2nd basemen.. if the runner was running, the 2nd basemen can just touch 2nd with the ball and the runner would be out --- In a situation where the defense is doing an appeal, that is also a force out


Is it still considered a force if with a runner on first the fielder chooses to throw to first but the runner is safe but the runner from first falls and the first baseman throws to second base?

Once the batter/runner is forced out at 1st base, the force out of all other base runners is no longer in effect. Therefore, even if the original runner at 1st falls, he must be tagged out. He could, in fact, return to first and be safe there if he is not tagged out.


Is the runner out if the fielder has the ball in the glove and touches the base with his hand on a force?

Yes, the runner would be out because of the force play meaning that the runner has to go no matter what.


On defense if a runner is caught in a run down between 2nd and 3rd and there is a runner on 3rd base should we throw home to not allow the run to score?

Assuming there is no force at home, chase the runner towards third base and that increases your chance of getting one or perhaps two outs. By throwing home, again assuming no force, the runner could get back to second safely and the throw to home is meaningless.


When can a baseman tag the base for an out?

There are two situations when a baseman can tag the base for an out.The first is the force out. A force out happens when a baseman tags the base of the only possible location for the runner. For example, if a batter hits a ground ball to the first baseman, the first baseman only needs to tag first base because it is the runner's only possible destination. Also, if there was a runner on first base and a ground ball was hit, there would be a force out at both second and first base because they runner on first base would be forced to progress one base. With a man on first and second base, you can force at first, second and third, and with the bases loaded, there is a force at every base. If there is a runner on second and/or third, but not first, the runners are not required to progress one base, so there is only a force at first.The second is on the fly ball. If a fly ball is caught, a base runner must touch the base again ("tag up") before moving on to the next base. If they do not tag up after the ball is caught, the baseman at the base from which they left can tag that base for the out. For example, if there is a runner on first base and the batter hits a fly ball, and that ball is caught, the runner must touch the base after the ball is caught before he can leave for the next base. If he doesn't touch the base after the ball is caught, the baseman only need tag the base while holding the ball for the out.


In a baseball game the home team has two outs with the bases loaded a flyball to the outfield is droped the runners on third crosses the plate just before the runner going from second base to third ba?

inning over. The run does not count because the force out at 3rd base.


Does a runner on first have to advance on a ground ball?

Actually it is possible for a runner on first not to advance on a ground ball, though it is very unlikely. If the hitter is thrown out at first base on a force play before the runner on first is thrown out, he can return to first base if at all possible.


If the bases are loaded and the force is at home plate are the other bases a force out or does the third baseman have to tag the runner?

Yes all the other bases are a force out. The runner going to first forces the runner at first to second. The runner at first forces the runner at second to third. The runner at second forces the runner at third to home. You only have to tag the runner when a runner that was "forcing" you (from a previous base) is out. In the scenario you have mentioned the only time the third baseman would have had to tag the runner from second to third would be if the initial force out was behind the runner at either at first or second (the putout thus not forcing the runner from second to third, which would now require a tag. If the initial force out was at first or second, the runner on second would have the choice of going to third or retreating to second, and not "forced" to run. Since the initial force out was at home, the runner from second to third is still being "forced" to run by the runners behind him. Make sense?


What are the natural forces that affect running?

Drag. This is the force which acts against a runner and is the resultant force of the runner pushing against the particles in the air. Drag is affected by the mass and surface area of the runner. Friction is another force which can affect running.


Do you need to tag the person in a force out?

You don't. A force means no tag is needed, only the baseman needs to catch the ball and have one foot on the base. The runner is forced; he or she has no safe base to return to and is therefore automatically out.


If the first baseman tags a runner instead of the base is it a force out?

yes it is a force out


Can a tag be considered a force out?

On a force out, you may either tag the base the runner is being forced to, or you may tag the runner before he gets to that base. If it is not a force out, you must tag the runner while he is off whatever base he has a legal right to occupy.


Force-out little league baseball?

The force-out rule is the same in little league as it is in the majors. If there is nowhere else for the runner to go because the runner behind him must advance, the force-out is at the base he's headed to.


When stealing home plate can the catcher jump in front of the plate to tag the runner?

YES the catcher is SUPPOSED to block the plate as long as he has the ball. if the batter swings and hits the catcher the runner would return to third and the batter awarded first base. If the bases were loaded the catchers interference would force the runner home.


Can a runner score before a force out is made at second after a failed attempt of making a force out at first?

IF you mean there are 2 outs then the answer is no, if the out is a force out then the run doesn't count even if the runner touched home before the ball reached the force out bag.


Does the run count if the third out results from a runner stepping out of the baseline?

It depends on whether or not the 3rd Out was a force play or not. If not a force play, the run scores if the runner crosses the plate before the other runner is tagged out. This is called a timing play.


If there is a runner on 2nd base with no outs where is the force out?

1st base.


When the defense does not have to tag the runner they just have to touch the base?

Force out


Does the runner score when the third out is made on a force play?

No, the force play negates the scoring of the run.


Bases loaded 1 out ball is hit to firstbaseman who tags runner and throws home is it a force at home still and can runners revert?

By tagging a trailing runner, the force has been removed, so there is no force at home.


Is there a special technology in the design of Puma Faas 500 that can make a runner run faster?

There is no real technology that can make someone faster. Many companies attempt to market some form of a 'force feedback' technology in their shoes that will return some of the energy to propel the runner.


If a base runner and the ball reach the base at the same time on a force play is the runner safe or out?

MLB rules state the ball must beat the runner to the base on a force play. If the ball and the runner reach the base at the same time the runner would be considered safe. However, there are no ties in baseball. The runner either gets there before the ball or after...Ties are only a myth.....