answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

It is ruled a dead ball and each base runner would advance one base.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2012-05-25 19:15:59
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If a pitched ball hits catcher and goes out of play what happens to the runners?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Pitchers pitches the ball is pitched bounces off catcher and gets stuck in the umpires equipment do runners advance?

no dead ball


Why is it important for to catcher to catch the ball once the batter misses?

The catcher needs to catch the ball because the ball is still a "live" ball. (Unless it's a foul ball that the catcher wouldn't likely catch that anyway. Any base runners may advance when the ball is "live" at their peril. If the ball is not caught, there isn't much peril to runners running to the next base.


What happens if the umpire gets hit by the pitch?

MLB Rule 5.08 states: "If a thrown ball accidently touches a base coach, or a pitched or thrown ball touches an umpire, the ball is alive and in play. However, if the coach interferes with a thrown ball, the runner is out." MLB Rule 5.09(g) states: " A pitched ball lodges in the umpire's or catcher's mask or paraphernalia, and remains out of play, runners advance one base; If a foul tip hits the umpire and is caught by a fielder on the rebound, the ball is "dead" and the batsman cannot be called out. The same shall apply where such foul tip lodges in the umpire's mask or other paraphernalia. If a third strike (not a foul tip) passes the catcher and hits an umpire, the ball is in play. If such ball rebounds and is caught by a fielder before it touches the ground, the batsman is not out on such a catch, but the ball remains in play and the batsman may be retired at first base, or touched with the ball for the out. If a pitched ball lodges in the umpire's or catcher's mask or paraphernalia, and remains out of play, on the third strike or fourth ball, then the batter is entitled to first base and all runners advance one base. If the count on the batter is less than three balls, runners advance one base." If a pitched ball strikes an umpire the ball is in play. If a pitched ball lodges in the umpire's mask all runners advance one base.


If an umpire or catcher throws ball past pitcher after a new ball is used or if a ball is checked by ump and given back to catcher can baserunners run?

An umpire is not supposed to throw the ball back to the pitcher with runners on base. If he does the ball is dead from the time he touches it to the time the pitcher has the ball on the pitching mound. So the runners cannot advance.


How do you get 2 bases on a walk in baseball?

If the pitched ball four (issuing a walk) gets past the catcher, it is still a "live" ball, and the batter, and any other runners on base, may advance as far as they can. The catcher, or any other defensive player must retrieve the ball to keep it in play and prevent the batter or baserunners from advancing.


Is a past ball an error?

Yes, if the ball is pitched in a location where the catcher has a reasonable chance of stopping the ball, that is a passed ball and the error is charged to the catcher. If the ball is pitched in a location where the catcher does NOT have a reasonable chance of stopping the ball, that is a wild pitch and the error is charged to the pitcher. Actually, a passed ball is NOT charged as an error against the catcher. It's simply charged as a passed ball. Not terribly logical, I agree, but that's the rule.


What makes a balk?

The vast majority of Balks are called on the pitcher, but a Balk can also be called on the catcher. With runners on base, if the catcher steps out of the catcher's box before the pitcher releases the ball, it's Balk on the catcher. When this happens, it is almost always while attempting to give an intentional base on balls.


If a batter strikes out is then hit by the pitched ball the batter is out but what is the status of the baserunners?

Ball's dead and runners can't advance.


What should a pitcher do when a catcher misses a ball and the ball rolls towards the fence?

In general, if there are base runners, the pitcher should run to cover home. If there are no runners on, the pitcher can just stay on the mound.


What happens when 2 base runners are on the same base?

If the base or runners are tagged with the ball while 2 runners are on the same base, the following runner is out.


What happens if in baseball the ball gets stuck in a runners jersey?

If it was a hit ball and the ball was stuck in the runners jersey then the runner is out assuming he had the first contact with the ball. If a fielder has the ball stuck in the jersey then the ball is dead and the hitter would be safe at first.


In baseball why is the runner on 1st awarded 2nd if a pitched ball lodges between the catcher's chest protector and chest. What rules apply?

The following is copied from MLB rule 5.09(g): " (g) A pitched ball lodges in the umpire's or catcher's mask or paraphernalia, and remains out of play, runners advance one base;Rule 5.09(g) Comment: If a foul tip hits the umpire and is caught by a fielder on the rebound, the ball is "dead" and the batsman cannot be called out. The same shall apply where such foul tip lodges in the umpire's mask or other paraphernalia.If a third strike (not a foul tip) passes the catcher and hits an umpire, the ball is in play. If such ball rebounds and is caught by a fielder before it touches the ground, the batsman is not out on such a catch, but the ball remains in play and the batsman may be retired at first base, or touched with the ball for the out.If a pitched ball lodges in the umpire's or catcher's mask or paraphernalia, and remains out of play, on the third strike or fourth ball, then the batter is entitled to first base and all runners advance one base. If the count on the batter is less than three balls, runners advance one base. "


What is a 'catcher's balk' in basebal?

A Catcher's Balk is the Catcher leaving his position in which he crouches at behind the home plate because in the rules, he is not allowed to move out of his crouch box which is allowed a Catcher's box as well until the Pitcher delivers the ball. In the event of a Catcher's Balk occurring, the runners would advance one base in the event of there being runners on base. Major League Baseball Umpires however don't typically call a Catcher's Balk.


What happens if a fly ball is caught before it touches the ground?

In the event of a batted ball being hit on the fly and was caught by an Infielder or Outfielder on the fly before it hit the ground, it will be ruled as a Fly Out and in the event of there being no outs, one out or two outs and in the event of there being runners on base, runners will have to return to their original bases prior to the pitched ball before they can advance to the next base.


What happens if the catcher hits the bat with the ball while attempting to throw out a runner?

If the batter was in the batter's box and did not make an intentional motion with the bat to block the catcher then nothing happens. The ball is still live and in play


What happens if a pitched ball bounces and the batter hits it?

It is considered a legally batted ball subject to being a fair or foul ball. Also, if a pitched ball bounces in the dirt and strikes the batter, the ball is dead and the batter receives first base as he was legally hit by a pitched ball.


If bases are loaded and the pitcher throws a wild pitch in retreiving the wild pitch the catcher catches the ball with his mask are the base runners automatically awarded 2 bases?

Any play on a ball with a hat, mask, throwing the glove, or using your jersey intentionally to field a ball shall be rewarded as 3 bases and it is a live ball -- so in your scenario.. all 3 runs would score, and the catcher could face an ejection the catcher picking the ball up with is mask is considered a balk and all the runners Will advance one (1) base


Can a batter be called out on ball 4 for interfering with a catcher's throw?

In a normal Base On Balls call, the catcher wouldn't have to throw the ball. If it's a passed ball or a wild pitch, the batter is still awarded first base and can't do anything else. If there are other runners and they try to advance and the batter interferes after that, he is certainly called out and the runner will have to go back to the base he started from. But on a normal base on balls, the ball is dead and the runners would only advance if they were forced and the catcher wouldn't have to throw the ball anywhere except to the pitcher.


Does the softball catcher wear protective equipment?

Of 'course they do. Just like a baseball catcher they have to be protected from the runners,ball,and the bat. If they don't wear equipment then they will get really hurt. It is a rule for them to wear them. It's safe.


Define a stolen base in softball?

when a baserunner decides to sprint to the next base right after the pitcher releases the ball. It is a risk. But once the catcher catches the ball that was just pitched, the catcher can very quickly decide to throw the ball to the base and try to get the baserunner, or stealer, out.


Suicide squeeze and the ball hits the batter and the runner on third is barreling down the line but the ball hits the batter?

If a pitched ball hits the batter, it is dead, and all runners must return to their bases.


What is a passed ball and a wild pitch?

A wild pitch is one that bounces before reaching the catcher that he cannot stop or a pitch that is beyond his normal reach. Most times these pitches go behind him or to his side allowing base runners to advance. A passed ball is a pitch that is mishandled by the catcher and normally goes behind him or to his side. Base runners may advance on these also.


What happens when a ball is thrown in the dugout?

Whoever throws the ball into the dugout is credited with an error, and all base-runners advance 1 base.


If the third strike is not caught in the air by the catcher what happens?

if that happens then the batter tries to make it to first base before the catcher throwes it to the first baseman and if he beat es the ball he is safe


What is catchers interference?

Catcher's Interference is an Umpire's call due to the Catcher making some type of contact with either the batter or his bat during a pitch or does other actions to interfere with a batter's ability to hit the oncoming pitched ball however an Umpire can only call Catcher's Interference as long as the batter is in a legal position while in the batter's box and in the event of Catcher's Interference being called the batter is awarded first base automatically and the runners advanced only if forced to.