If the ball touches the ground even before the catcher catches it the batter/runner may attempt to advance to first if there are less than 2 out and first is not occupied or if there are 2 out and first is occupied. The catcher does not have to catch the ball on a third a strike for it the be considered a strike out. This includes a ball which bounces to the catcher because the strike zone is over the plate not where it is caught.
You cant have two pitchers at the same time but during the game you can call time and swap the pitchers but the pitcher can not be catcher and the catcher can not be pitcher.
A wild pitch is one that bounces before reaching the catcher that he cannot stop or a pitch that is beyond his normal reach. Most times these pitches go behind him or to his side allowing base runners to advance. A passed ball is a pitch that is mishandled by the catcher and normally goes behind him or to his side. Base runners may advance on these also.
Rule 7.05(h) says that if a catcher (or any fielder) deliberately uses his hat or mask to touch a ball in play, the runner shall advance one more base. 7.05(d) says if the catcher (or any fielder) throws his hat or mask to catch or stop a thrown ball, the runner shall advance two bases.
60 feet 6 inches
No. Pitchers are considered part of the pitching staff.
February 14 2011 the Yankees pitchers and catcher report of Spring Training ...
Pitchers can do their initial warm-ups anywhere, usually some light throwing to warm up their arms in the outfield area. Then they can move into the bullpen where there is a mound and a catcher where the height of the mound and distance to the catcher are identical to the mound and catcher on the playing field. Starting pitchers may use the bullpen for their warm-ups during pre-game ceremonies on the field, then move onto the mound on the field immediately prior to the start of the game, and relief pitchers will use the bullpen prior to going into the game.
Yes. A balk can only be called if the catcher is out of the catchers box BEFORE the ball leaves the pitchers hand though. And any balk is charged on the pitcher
The distance from pitchers mound to home plate is 60 feet 6 inches.
Generally the designated runner is to be used for the catcher when there are two outs, sometimes the number of outs is not important. The PURPOSE of the rule is to allow the catcher to put his equipment on sooner and speed up the game. Some leagues use the designated runner for both the pitchers and catchers. This allows the pitcher and catcher to also rest. In addition it gives a player the opportunity to participate who is not in the line-up.
It is not in the rule book that a catcher must wear a catcher's glove, however, it is a very good to do so. The hardest throwing pitchers in the MLB throw in the mid to high 90's. Without a catcher's glove, you would break your hand and fingers.
you have to put someone in there to pitch...the backup catcher, the utility infielder, whoever
There is no rule in MLB that specifies how many times a catcher may visit the pitcher during a game.
It was the Atlanta Braves.
Of 'course they do. Just like a baseball catcher they have to be protected from the runners,ball,and the bat. If they don't wear equipment then they will get really hurt. It is a rule for them to wear them. It's safe.
No, he can advance by stealing the base, or advance on a wild pitch, passed ball, catcher interference or a pitcher's balk.
no call. it is only catcher's interference if the catcher's equipment gets in the way of a swing.
Yes, if the catcher drops the ball
The pitcher does not get an assist unless the batter strikes out and the ball bounces to the pitcher, who throws the ball to the catcher, who tags out the runner.
It's a piece of protective equipment the catcher (and the home plate umpire) wears to keep from being struck in the face by the ball.
it depends on where it is. if it is near home plate the catcher should get it. if it is closer to the pitchers mound than the catcher than the catcher should get it. you should call the other guy off if you are getting it so there will be no confusion on who is getting it.