answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Yes. Runners may tag up and attempt to advance on any fly ball, fair or foul.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2008-05-14 02:25:25
This answer is:
๐Ÿฆƒ
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If a fielder catches a foul ball can the runners tag up?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

When a fielder catches a ball and falls into the stands is it a foul ball or an out?

If a fielder catches a ball and falls into the stands, it is a dead ball and all runners advance one base. Rule 704(c) The fielder made a legal catch. At that point the batter was out. The fielder then took the ball out of play. At that point the runners were allowed to advance one base.


If a player is the dead ball area and reaches into foul territory and catches the foul ball is the batter out?

A batter is out anytime a fielder catches a foul fly ball.


What happens to base runners when a defensive player catches a ball in foul territory and his momentum carries him to out of bounds?

If the fielder falls into the stands or the dugout after catching the foul, the ball is dead and runners are awarded base from the base they occupied at the time of the pitch.


What happens to runners when a pop-up is caught in foul territory and the fielder runs into the out of play area?

If the fielder falls into the stands or the dugout after catching the foul, the ball is dead and runners are awarded base from the base they occupied at the time of the pitch.


Is a ball fair or foul if the fielder has two feet in fair territory and catches the ball in foul territory?

Once the ball is past first or third base, the ONLY consideration is where the BALL is located -- fair or foul -- when it FIRST comes in contact with either the ground or a player. If the player is almost entirely in fair territory when he first grabs the ball, but the glove that touches the ball is in foul territory, then it's a foul ball. "If the ball touches a fielder in-flight, the judgment is made at where the ball was when it was touched, NOT from where it may land after a miss, or drop of the ball, by a fielder. The position of the fielder is irrelevant."


In baseball if you knock a fair ball foul is it fair?

If the batter "knocks" a ball foul it's foul ...if a fielder "knocks" the ball foul while in fair territory the ball is fare... the fielder can catch the ball in foul territory for an out ...


Is a ball fair or foul if the fielder has one foot in fair territory and one foot in foul?

The location of the fielder's body has no bearing on whether a ball is fair or foul. It is the location of the ball when it is touched by the fielder or when it goes by the base that determines whether it is fair or foul.


Is there a rule in the MLB rule book that says if a fielder touches a foul ball but does not catch it is fair?

No. The umpire calls the ball fair or foul based on where the ball is when the fielder touches it. If the ball is in foul territory when it is touched, the ball is called foul.


Can runner advance on foul tip?

Yes. A foul tip is a ball hit by the batter that goes directly back to the catcher who catches the ball. Runners may try to advance (steal a base) at their own risk. A batted ball that is barely touched and goes foul is often erroneously called a "foul tip", but technically is just a foul ball.


If the player is in foul territory and drops the ball is the batter safe?

If the ball is in fair territory, the fact that the fielder is standing in foul territory does NOT make the ball foul. the same as if a ball is foul, the fielder standing in fair territory doesn't make the ball fair.


If a fielder standing in foul territory touches a fly ball over fair territory it is a foul ball?

yes it is a foul ball


If a fielder has one foot in fair territory and one in foul territory and drops a fly ball is it fair or foul?

It depends on the location of the ball, not the location of the fielder or of his feet.


What is the official ruling if a player catches a fly ball using his hat?

Players may not use their hat to catch a ball. Assuming a catcher did do this in fair territory, all runners and the batters would be awarded 3 bases, if the ball is in foul territory it would be a foul ball. In either case the batter would not be out.


Is an out called if the batter nicks the ball and the catcher catches it before it hits the ground?

Only if it is on a third strike. That would be considered a foul tip and, by official rule, is different from a foul ball. A foul tip is when the catcher catches a ball that is 'tipped' by the batter and the ball goes straight back into the catcher's mitt. If the catcher drops the ball it is considered a foul ball and not a foul tip.


Can you steal a base on a foul ball?

An uncaught foul ball is dead. If a foul ball is caught, runners can steal, but have the same tag up responsibilities as a fair caught ball.


What is a foul out?

When the batter hits the ball into foul territory, and an opposing player catches it in foul territory on the fly.


Is a ball foul if touched by a player in fair ground while the ball is in foul ground before it passes third base?

yes. it is where the ball is, not where the fielder is.


Can you advance on a caught foul ball?

Yes, once the foul ball is caught the runners can advance by tagging up


When is a foul ball an out?

Only when caught by a fielder, excluding softball.


If the ball bounce on the plate then in the air caught by catcher fair or foul?

It depends on where the ball is when the catcher catches it. The fact that the ball hit the plate does not matter one bit. It doesn't even matter where the catcher himself is when he catches it. If the ball is in or over fair territory it is fair, if the ball is in or over foul territory it is foul.


Can a bunted ball be foul first?

A bunted ball can be fair, it just depends on where the ball is when it is fielded by the fielder.


If a batter bunts a third strike foul and the ball is caught by the catcher is it a fly out or a strike out?

It is a fly out. According to baseball rule 10.15 (a) (4) The pitcher is credited with a strikeout on a 3rd-strike foul bunt, unless "(4)... unless such bunt on third strike results in a foul fly caught by any fielder, in which case the official scorer shall not score a strikeout and shall credit the fielder who catches such foul fly with a putout."


If a ball hits the foul pole and a player catches the ball is the batter out?

No, that is considered a homerun.


Can a runner advance on a foul ball?

If the ball is caught in foul territory, then the runner has the ability to run at their won risk. But if the player drops the ball in foul territory, then the runners have to stay at their respective bases.


Can a runner advance on a dropped pop up in foul territory?

No. On any foul ball that is not caught, the ball is dead and runners may not advance.