In Major League Baseball, there is no rule prohibiting a batter from stepping on home plate after he hits the ball. Often, a right handed batter will step on home plate on his way to 1st base after hitting the ball, especially when he bunts.
Not sure about all six, but the batter can be out if (s)he bunts foul on strike two (this is actually a strikeout), steps on the plate while bunting the ball, steps on the plate while hitting the ball, hits the ball when it is determined that the batter is out of the batter's box, touches the ball in fair territory with the body while out of the batters box, is hit by a throw to first from behind if not running in the outlined base running area between home and first, is hit by a pitch that is in the strike zone if (s)he intentionally positions a part of the body in a way that results in the ball hitting him/her.
No, if a batter steps out of the batters box and makes contact with the ball, he is out.
Yes they can.
If the batter's entire foot is outside of the batter's box when he makes contact with the pitch, the ball is dead and the batter is Out, whether the ball is hit Fair or Foul.
A pitched ball can hit the ground before crossing home-plate. In most cases the batter would not swing and the pitch would be called a ball. But, if the batter decides the swing, the ball is still in play after hitting the ground and the batter may not hit the ball and receive a strike, or he may foul the ball, or hit a base-hit.
There is no rule in MLB prohibiting the batter from stepping on home plate. However, the batter may be out for bunting foul with two strikes.
I believe, since home plate is in fair territory, the ball would be fair and the batter would be called out for making contact with a live, fair ball. The equivelent to runner interference with the ball on the base paths. ---------- The question is unclear. If a pitched ball hits home plate, it can then be hit by the batter (former Astros player, Enos Cabell, comes to mind). However, if the batter hits the pitch, and the ball then hits the plate and bounces up into the air, and the batter then hits it a second time, he's out. The rule says if the bat hits a batted ball a second time, the batter is out, which is different the the ball hitting the bat a second time.
If a batter hits a ball fair or foul while either foot is touching the ground completely outside the lines of the batter's box or while touching the plate. The ball becomes dead immediately. The batter is out.
When a batter has attempted a swing or a bunt the momentum can carry him out of the batter's box and cause him to step on home plate. Once the batter has struck at a ball or attempted a bunt, he is allowed to step out of the box, even if he steps on home plate. He cannot do so any other time during his at-bat. Unless "Time" is called, he must keep at least one foot inside the batter's box.
No - the entire plate is in fair territory, so a batted ball that hits the plate is in play; however, if it goes foul after hitting the plate, it is a (foul) dead ball.
it depends on whether the batter is still in the batter's box when the ball hits him. If he is in the batter's box then the ball is foul. If he is out of the batter's box and the ball hits him in fair territory then the batter is out.
MLB Rule 6.06a states pretty clearly: "A batter is out for illegal action when (a) He hits a ball with one or both feet on the ground entirely outside the batter’s box." The question would be whether the batter's feet are "entirely" outside the batters box. I suppose if his toes were touching home plate but the rest of his feet were not, then that would not be "entirely" outside.
if the ball is hit by the bat out the box by accident it still counts as a hit ... if the batter hits the ball while on the plate it's an out ...
It is a dead ball and the batter is awarded first base and is ruled a hit by pitch
The catcher can cause a balk, but the balk is charged to the pitcher. If, during an intentional walk, the catcher steps out of the catcher's box before the ball leaves the pitcher's hand, it is a balk. Or, if a runner is trying to score from 3rd base by a steal or squeeze play and the catcher touches the batter or the batter's bat, or steps on home plate or in front of home plate without the ball, it is a balk.
The runner would not be called out ... The ball is dead after the play the base runner would just walk back it 3rd base ...
There are many characteristics in baseball. The main characteristics are pitching the ball to the batter and then the batter running after hitting the ball.
A Baseball player hitting foul after foul is done more so to stay alive (not strike out) then to work the pitcher ... You have to keep in mind that the batter him self is using up energy to hit the ball foul ... The batter would rather get a hit then repetitively hitting the ball foul ...
If the ball hits the ground it cannot be called a strike. It is a "ball". It can still be hit like any other "ball". It would be like hitting a high, low, inside or outside pitch. Any "ball" can still be put in play.
If the pitch passes through the strike zone, or if the batter swings at the pitch and misses, it's a Strike. Otherwise it's a Ball. It has nothing to do with where the batter is standing.
According to the rule book, the umpire will declare the pitch a strike if the ball touches the batter as the batter strikes at the ball, or if the ball touches the batter while the ball is in the strike zone.
1. If you catch the ball hit by the batter, the batter is out 2. You miss a ball 3 times while hitting
Fielder knocks the ball in fair territory