answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

A ground ball its fair. A fly ball is foul.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2006-08-28 12:15:06
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If a batter hits a ball and it goes over the third base bag but lands foul is this a fair or foul ball?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Ball goes OVER third base bag but lands in foul territory fair or foul ball?

If a fly ball goes over the third base bag and lands in foul territory, the ball is called foul. If a ground ball goes over the third base bag in the air, the ball is fair regardless of where the next bounce is.


Is a ball considered fair or foul if it pops up lands foul and then rolls into fair territory?

If the ball lands foul past first or third base the ball is foul regardless of where it rolls. If the ball lands foul before first/third base and rolls fair before first/third base, the ball is fair. If the ball lands foul before first/third base and rolls foul past first/third base, the ball is foul. If the ball is touched while it is in foul territory before reaching first or third base it is considered foul and vise versa if it is touched in fair territory. Otherwise whether it is fair or foul is determined by where the ball stops. ** if the ball hits any part of 1st or 3rd base it is a fair ball


Is a ball foul if it hits third base and is deflected into foul ground?

no, a ball is depicted on where it lands first.


When a batted ball hits a runner for the third out how is the batter scored?

the batter is awarded a base hit.


Is the ball in play if the ball hits out after it passes third base?

If the ball lands inside the lines after is crosses 3ed base and rols out it is still "in play"


If a ball is hit over third base and the third baseman reaches across the line and catches the ball is the batter out?

If the ball never touches the ground before the 3rd baseman catches the ball the batter is out.


Is it a sacrific if the batter bunts a ball with runners on first base and third base and is thrown out at first?

yes


Is a ground ball that bounces over third base then lands foul a fair ball?

The bases are in fair territory; therefore, it is a fair ball.


Is it possible to strike out but still get to first base?

In Major League Baseball, yes. There is a rule called the 'Uncaught Third Strike' rule. This rule states that if the catcher does not cleanly catch the pitched ball that results in a third strike, the batter may run to first base as if the ball were hit. If the batter reaches first base before the ball, the batter is awarded the base.


A hit that enables the batter to safely reach third base?

In baseball or softball, when a batters hits the ball and makes it safely to third base it is called a triple.


If a Batter is hit by pitch with runner on second base as runner steals third is this legal?

Nope, when the batter is hit it is a dead ball.


when a runner on second base ground ball to third base and the batter is thrown out at first?

Runner stays on second base if he is smart. That is a 5 to 3 out.

People also asked