answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Fielder knocks the ball in fair territory

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2014-04-07 22:17:17
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: How does a batter get 3 RBIs without hitting a fair ball?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

How can a batter advance without hitting the ball?

droped third strick a walk or hit by pitch


How can a player get to 1st base without hitting a ball?

Most if not all players have gotten to first base without hitting the ball. Most if not all receive a 'walk' (pitcher throws four pitches that are called balls by the umpire) and some have been hit by the ball thrown by the pitcher. In either case, the batter gets to take first base without ever hitting the ball.


Can a base umpire make a call on a ball hitting the batter in the box without an appeal from the plate umpire?

Yes they can.


How can a batter get to first without hitting the ball?

Hit by pitch, base on balls, catcher's interference, passed ball or wild pitch on the third strike


Does the batter get an RBI for runs scored due to a fielding error on a ball the batter put in to play?

No. Runs scored directly from a fielding error do not have RBIs.


If a batter steps on home plate after hitting a ball is he out?

In Major League Baseball, there is no rule prohibiting a batter from stepping on home plate after he hits the ball. Often, a right handed batter will step on home plate on his way to 1st base after hitting the ball, especially when he bunts.


If a batter steps on home plate after hitting a fair ball is he out?

No.


Name some characteristics of a baseball?

There are many characteristics in baseball. The main characteristics are pitching the ball to the batter and then the batter running after hitting the ball.


When a batter is hitting foul after foul after foul. Is the batter doing this on purpose to work the pitcher?

A Baseball player hitting foul after foul is done more so to stay alive (not strike out) then to work the pitcher ... You have to keep in mind that the batter him self is using up energy to hit the ball foul ... The batter would rather get a hit then repetitively hitting the ball foul ...


What does RBI stats mean in Baseball?

Runs Batted In, RBIs happen when the batter hits the ball or walks and someone scores a run.


What is the ruling for ASA fast pitch softball on a batter hitting the ball but the ball hits her hand as she hits the ball to the infield?

According to the rule book, the umpire will declare the pitch a strike if the ball touches the batter as the batter strikes at the ball, or if the ball touches the batter while the ball is in the strike zone.


What makes an out in baseball?

1. If you catch the ball hit by the batter, the batter is out 2. You miss a ball 3 times while hitting


What is the official scoring for the batter if he is hit in fair territory by his own batted ball?

That batter would be called out. If the ball goes directly from his bat to hitting the batter when they are not in the batters box, the batter is out. If a defensive player deflects the ball before it touches the batter then play continues as normal.


What is pulling the ball in baseball?

'Pulling the ball' is a term used with hitting and is when a right handed batter hits a ball to the left side of the field or a left handed batter hits a ball to the right side of the field.


Does a batter get an RBI if a runner scores on a passed ball if the batter then singles?

No, a batter will not receive a RBI in the event of a baserunner scoring a run on a passed ball. The batter will have to hit a batted ball in order to score a baserunner. Hitting after a passed ball will not be counted as a run scoring play regardless of the following outcome of the batter's at-bat.


After hitting a fly ball the batter assuming it will be caught for an out jogs toward and almost to the dugout the outfielder drops the ball and the batter runs to first Is he safe?

if the ball doesnt get to the first baseman before the batter does than yes, the batter would be safe and then benched(hence jimmy rollins)


What is fly out in baseball?

A flyout is when the defender catches the ball without the ball hitting the ground


Is a tipped ball an out if the catcher catches it?

Only if it's the third strike. A ball tipped by the bat but caught by the catcher without hitting the ground is ALWAYS considered a strike, thus eliminating any controversy on whether the batter actually tipped the ball or not.


Is a batter out after hitting a foul ball then steps on home plate using high school rules?

No


What is hitting in softball?

It's when a batter successfully hits a ball to an area where the fielders are not ale to field it


Five ways to get on base without hitting the ball?

Depending on what it means to "get on base" (in the game of baseball) without hitting the ball, I suggest the following ways: 1. As a batter, get a "base on balls." 2. As a batter, be hit by a pitch. 3. As a batter, strike out, the catcher drops the third strike (or misses it completely), the batter runs to first base before the catcher (or other fielder) can retrieve the ball "throw him out" at first base. 4. As a batter, during a swung-on pitch the bat comes in contact with any part of the catcher or his/her equipment. This is most commonly the catcher's mitt. 5. Be substituted as a runner for another player who has already "gotten on base."


Is the batter out if the ball bounces off another player and it is caught before hitting the ground?

Depends. If the ball bounces of a defensive player, and is caught, the batter is out. If it hits a runner, the ball is dead and the runner is out but the hitter is awarded first base.


Is the runner out if he leaves the base before batter hits the ball?

Absolutely not -- a runner can (and invariable does) leave the base even before the pitcher throws the ball to the batter! That's called leading off. A batter can attempt to run to the next base without the batter hitting it -- ie, stealing a base. PERHAPS what you're asking about is what happens if the runner leaves the base before the ball is hit AND the batter hits the ball AND the ball is caught by a fielder before it hits the ground AND the ball is then thrown to the base where the runner was AND the ball is held there before the runner returns to that base. If ALL of those things happen, then the runner is out.


Is the batter out if he touches someone before he reaches first base after hitting the ball or being forced to first on a walk?

After a walk, no. After hitting the ball, no, unless when he "touches" someone he is interfering with a play on a batted ball, in which case he could be called out for interference.


What happens when you foul tip the ball on the third strike and it hits the batter?

Well a foul tip is when on the third strike, the catcher catches the ball resulting in the batter being out. But if you are suggesting that on the third strike the batter fouls the ball off but it ends up hitting him it is a strike but the ball is dead, so the count stays the same.