answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

I'm not a Baseball expert, but I seem to recall a rule against crossing in front of the catcher from one side of the plate to the other when the pitcher is on the mound without first calling time out. Maybe there are some baseball experts out there who can elaborate further. Yes. This is true. If the batter crosses from one side to the other while the pitcher is set to pitch, the batter is declared out. Another way an out can be recorded without the aid of a pitcher is if the batter does anything against the rules like corking the bat.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2007-06-22 05:05:04
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: How can a batter be called out if the pitcher does nothing?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Is the batter out if the pitcher accidentally hits the ball to the batter?

No when the batter gets hit by the ball it is called and walk and the batter gets to go to first base


Can a batter be called out on a bunted ball that goes foul?

Yes. If a batter attempts a bunt when there are two strikes and the bunt is ruled foul, the batter is called out and a strikeout is awarded to the pitcher's stats.


What happens to the batter when there is runner interferecnce?

Nothing happens to the batter. The runner who interfered is called out.


Can a balk be called if a pitcher stops his throw due to a batter awarded time out?

A balk can only be called when the ball is live. If a batter has been awarded time out, then play has stopped, and a balk is impossible. It's safer for the pitcher to complete the pitch, just in case the batter isn't awarded time out.


What would get you a walk in baseball?

If the pitcher throws four "balls", the batter is awarded first base (a "walk"). Sometimes, the batter is intentionallywalked as a strategic move. And if the pitcher hits the batter with a pitch, the batter is awarded first base, although that is not usually called a walk.


In cricketwhat is the first batter called?

The first batter in cricket is called an "opener". In fact there are two batters that take field at the start (with one facing the bowler/pitcher) and they are both called openers


What if pitcher hits batter?

If the pitcher hits the batter on a pitch then the batter is awarded first base. However if the batter swings at the ball and it hits her then it is a strike


Was Babe Ruth a pitcher or a batter?

Babe Ruth Was A Pitcher When He Was On The Redsox And A Batter When He Was With The Yankees.


When can a coach choose to automatically walk a batter?

Anytime a batter is at the plate, a pitcher and catcher can agree to throw nothing but balls to that batter. However, no pitcher would do so without getting an order from the manager to do so -- but, again, the manager can make that decision at any time the batter is at the plate. It is NORMALLY done as soon as the batter arrives at the plate. But, if a manager orders a pitcher to throw four un-hittable balls after the batter has swung and missed badly on the first two pitches, that would not be a violation of the rules.


Does the batter have to keep at least one foot int he batter's box throughout his time at bat?

No. The batter can step out between pitches and if he is not in the batters box the pitcher can not pitch. However he may not step out once the pitcher is in motion and if any part of him is out of the box when the ball is hit he will be called out.


Softball what is the distance between pitcher and batter?

The distance between the pitcher and the batter should be around 30 feet.


When a batter swings at a pitch and misses is?

Baseball is a game of balls and strikes: the pitcher throws the ball, and the batter tries to hit it. If the batter swings at the ball and misses, that is called a strike. A batter gets three strikes (three efforts to swing at the ball) before being called "out."


In major league baseball if a batter has a 1-1 count and the pitcher is removed which pitcher is responsible for the batter if he gets on base?

The pitcher who pitched the 1-1 count is responsible for the batter if he gets on base.


Can a pitcher be taken out while batter has a count?

Yes, a pitcher may be replaced at any time with one exception. That exception isifthe pitcher has just entered the game and the batter is the first batter he is pitching to. The rule states a pitcher must pitch one full at bat and applies to both starting and relief pitchers. Of course, if the pitcher suffers an injury the umpires can rule that he may be replaced regardless of whether the batter is the first batter the pitcher is pitching to.


Can a manager substitute a pitcher after he has thrown a pitch to a batter?

Yes, if the batter was retired with that 1 pitch or got on base or was hit by the pitch. In other words if that batter is no longer up or if this was not the 1st batter the pitcher has faced and the pitcher threw a strike or a ball then the manager could take him out or if the pitcher suffered an injury with that one pitch. If the pitcher comes into a game and throws only one pitch and the batter is still up and there is no injury to the pitcher, then the pitcher must pitch to the batter till he is retired or reaches base on a hit, walk, error, fielders choice, etc.


When a pitcher throws a complete game without a single opposing batter recording a hit it is called a what?

no hitter


Can a batter advance to second base on a walk if the pitcher is on the mound?

yes, as long as time has not been called


What is it called when a pitcher misses the batter with the ball?

Either a Strike or a Ball. Depending on your where the ball ends up.


A sebtence for the word pitcher?

my dad was the pitcher and I was the batter.


With change of pitcher can batter be changed?

Yes. The batter can be changed. The balls and strikes are on the pitcher. If there is a new pitcher, the count goes to zero balls and zero strikes.


Can a pitcher switch from left-handed to right-handed or vice versa to the same batter?

YES ... this has happened in MLB game ... the batter batted on the left so the pitcher switched throwing hands when the batter seen that pitcher had swished throwing hands the batter switched batting sides ... as the batter swiched side the pitcher swiched his throwing arm ... this happened so much that the umpire had to tell the pitcher and batter to stop delaying the game and pick a side/arm ...


What happens when the pitcher catches a ball from the batter?

the batter is out


Who is charged with the batter when a new pitcher enters the game to face that batter with a count of 2-0 already on the batter from the first pitcher?

If a relief pitcher enters the game with a 2 ball 0 strikes on the batter and the batter receives a base on balls it is charged to the preceding pitcher. Any other action such as a base hit, fielder's choice, reaching base on an error, etc., is charged to the relief pitcher. (Rule 10.18 (g)).


What does the pitcher do in baseball?

The pitcher is the one who throws the baseball to the batter.


What is a pitcher?

A pitcher is the person who pitches, or throws, the ball to the batter.