answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Nothing happens to the batter. The runner who interfered is called out.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2014-03-19 15:31:08
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What happens to the batter when there is runner interferecnce?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

What happens to a runner when theres batter interference?

The ball is dead and all runner go back there base the batter is called out ...


In the MLB if a batter has a full count with one runner on base and the runner is caught stealing to make the last out what happens to batter?

The batter who was at bat when the out was made bats first the next inning... the out was made by the base runner the batter is not penalize for his out ...( the base runner could have made the out at any base and the batter will bat again )


What happens to the batter when the ball hits the runner?

If the runner is in fair territory then the runner is out. But if the ball hits the runner in foul territory, then it would just be a foul ball. If the ball hits the runner in fair territory, the runner is out but if the batter is safe to 1st then they would be safe.


What happens when batter bunts. throw goes to third runner is safe?

The runner is safe at third and the runner is safe at first.


What happens to the batter with 3 balls 2 strikes when a runner is caught stealing?

The runner is out and the batter gets a new at bat when the next inning starts.


What happens to the batter when a suicide squeeze bunt hits the runner from third base in fair territory If it matters I should add that the batter never left the batter's box?

It does not matter what the batter did. If the runner from 3rd was in fair territory when the ball hit him -- the runner is out, batter is credited with a single and gets to go to 1st base


What happens to the batter when the ball hits a runner?

he is automatically sent to 1st base.


What happens when a batter is hit by a pitch and cannot return to a game is he out?

No they get a pinch runner.


If a batter gets hit and can not continue what happens then?

A pinch runner must be inserted for him at first base. Then, the batter that was hit cannot return, and the pinch runner must stay in the game (unless he's replaced by someone else, in which case the runner can't return).


What happens when an advancing runner is hit with a batted ball?

The batter is out unless a fielder touched the ball


What happens to the batter?

The "batter" becomes a "runner" if he is walked, hit by a pitch or puts the ball in play. He becomes dejected if he strikes out, fouls out or is ejected from the game.


Is the runner out if he leaves the base before batter hits the ball?

Absolutely not -- a runner can (and invariable does) leave the base even before the pitcher throws the ball to the batter! That's called leading off. A batter can attempt to run to the next base without the batter hitting it -- ie, stealing a base. PERHAPS what you're asking about is what happens if the runner leaves the base before the ball is hit AND the batter hits the ball AND the ball is caught by a fielder before it hits the ground AND the ball is then thrown to the base where the runner was AND the ball is held there before the runner returns to that base. If ALL of those things happen, then the runner is out.


What happens if the catcher hits the bat with the ball while attempting to throw out a runner?

If the batter was in the batter's box and did not make an intentional motion with the bat to block the catcher then nothing happens. The ball is still live and in play


What is it called when a runner is on third tries to score when the batter bunted?

It is called a sqeeze play. It is a form of sacrifice bunting, but when the running is on third, it is exclusively known as a squeeze play. Also, when this happens the batter's sole porpose is to get the runner in and not to reach base himself.


What action happens when a runner advances to a base without any action form a batter in baseball?

a steal or balk


If a catcher hits a batter with the ball while trying to throw a runner out at third is the runner out?

If the batter showed signs of trying to move out of the way to give the catcher a clear lane to throw then neither the batter or the runner it out. If the batter did not move at all to provide the catcher a throwing lane, then the batter is out, but the runner is safe.


Why is a fouled third strike bunt considered an automatic out in baseball and what happens if a runner is on second base?

I am not sure why its there. you can have a swinging bunt and it won't be consider an "out" the the batter is out and i don't think anything happens with second base runner. he can i believe try to move up if he wants.


When a batter hits a grand slam how many runs score?

4 Runs score. The Batter, The runner on 1st, The Runner on 2nd and the runner on 3rd.


How do you score the batter if a base runner is hit by the ball?

The batter is credited with a single. The runner is out and play is dead.


Is runner to 3rd or batter out when batter interfers with throw to 3rd base?

Runner returns to prior base.


Does the batter become a batter runner on ball fore?

The batter becomes a runner the moment he steps out of the batters box and is heading towards first base.


With a runner on third batter swings and misses on the third strike and the ball hits the batter the runner on third crosses homeplate when the ball bounces away from the catcher Does the run score?

Batter is out, the ball is dead when it hits the batter. Runner at third returns to third.


What happens when a player lead off a base in little league when bases are loaded and the batter gets a single?

the runner who left the base early is called out.


What happens if there is one out and a runner on first with the dropped third strike rule?

The drop third strike rule only applies when there is no runner on first base. In this case nothing would happen but the batter would be out.


When will a runner get a strike in softball?

A runner doesn't get a strike, a batter does.