answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

It counts as an at bat in all cases except the sacrifice. If a batter attempts a sacrifice bunt and one of the infielders makes an error when fielding or throwing the ball, the batter is credited with a sacrifice and no time at bat.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2008-05-01 01:58:53
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Does an infield error in baseball count as an at bat?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Does a called Infield Fly count as an at bat?

yes, the batter is charged with an at bat on an infield fly


Does an infield groundball out with an rbi count as an at bat?

Yes, only things that don't count as at bats are walks, hbp or if a baserunner gets thrown out before your at bat is completed.


If fielder chooses you does it count as at-bat?

During an infield choice, the at-bat is counted and the hitter is not given a hit, nor does it increase their On-Base Percentage.


In baseball what is an infield hit where the hitter does not swing the bat?

a bunt is where you hold your bat out in front of the plate holding the upper base and do not swing it


Does reaching on an error count towards your total bases stat?

Reaching on an error does not count as a hit. However, it does count as an at bat and therefore is recorded as a statistic.


Does a sacrifice bunt count as an at bat if they make an error first base?

yes


In baseball does a sacrifice count as an at bat?

According to MLB rule 10.01.a.1 only a sacrifice bunt or fly out does not count as an at-bat. A ground out counts a an at-bat


How do you score an infield error in baseball?

In the scorebook, the notation is 'E' followed by the number of the fielder who made the error (1-pitcher, 2-catcher, 3-first baseman, 4-second baseman, 5-third baseman, 6 shortstop). The batter is charged with an at bat unless the error came on a play where the batter was attempting a sacrifice bunt.


Does a sacrifice bunt count as an at bat if they make an error at first base but you moved the runner to second base?

no


Does a walk count as a hit in baseball?

No. A walk does not count as a base hit nor an official time at bat.


Does an error on a sacrifice fly count as an at bat?

no, if in the judgment of the official scorer a ball would have been a sacrifce fly without the error, the batter is not charged an at bat and gets credit for a sacrifice fly and an RBI


What is the highest pitch count for an at bat in major league baseball?

It was 26 pitches

People also asked