answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

no

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2011-04-08 04:37:39
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Does a sacrifice bunt count as an at bat if they make an error at first base but you moved the runner to second base?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Baseball scoring - runners on 1st and 3rd the right fielder drops a fly ball allowing the runner on third to score but throw the ball to second base to force out that runner for an out Error?

In this case it's a judgment call for the scorer. If the ball was deep enough that the runner on third could score anyway on a tag-up, then there should be no error and the batter would be given credit for a sacrifice fly. However, if it is a short pop fly and the scorer doesn't think the runner could've tagged up and scored, then it would be an error. Of course, if there are two outs when this happens the run doesn't count and this is a moot point.


Does fielding errors count against pitchers earned run average?

No...a fielding error that allows the runner to get on base and that runner scores is not an earned run and does not count against earned run average.


Does the runner need to be out in order to be a fielder's choice?

No, if there is a runner on first and the second baseman fields the ball and throws it to the shortstop, who muffs the play and allows both the runner and batter to advance/reach safely, the play would be ruled a fielder's choice and an error. It would still count as an at-bat and a non-hit for the batter, just as if the second-baseman had muffed the throw to the first-baseman with nobody on base.


Does a sacrifice bunt count as an at bat if they make an error first base?

yes


Does an infield error in baseball count as an at bat?

It counts as an at bat in all cases except the sacrifice. If a batter attempts a sacrifice bunt and one of the infielders makes an error when fielding or throwing the ball, the batter is credited with a sacrifice and no time at bat.


Does an error on a sacrifice fly count as an at bat?

no, if in the judgment of the official scorer a ball would have been a sacrifce fly without the error, the batter is not charged an at bat and gets credit for a sacrifice fly and an RBI


If a batter reaches base on an error is it an official at bat?

Yes. The only time it is not an official "At Bat", is if a batter reaches base on a base on balls, hit by pitch or catcher interference. A batter is also not charged with an "At Bat" if he hits a sacrifice fly (a fly ball out that results in a runner tagging up and scoring), or a sacrifice bunt that advances a runner or runners. He is also not charged with an "At Bat" if the batter reaches base as a result of an error on a sacrifice fly or sacrifice bunt.


When a runner steals home does it count against ERA?

Probably. only earned runs count against an ERA so it depends if it was the pitchers fault that the runner got on. If he got on because of a walk, hit, or HBP then yes it counts. If he got on cause of an error then no. Yes it would. Unless of course, the previous criteria are met. Also, it wouldn't be charged to the current pitcher if the pitcher that allowed him to get on base was taken from the game. The pitcher that left would be responsible for the runner if he got on without an error.


Can a batter reach base on a sacrifice bunt?

No. By definition it is not a sacrifice unless the batter is out. The correct answer is yes. The runner can reach base during a sacrifice on a throwing error or a fielders choice.


Is it an earned run if a runner scores when they advanced as a result of a fielding error?

No, a runner will not earn a run if scored off an error.


Does an error count as an at bat?

Yes an error counts as an at bat, but not a hit. You would be 0 for 1 on the play, but your on base percentage goes up because you have reached base safely. Errors can be committed on sacrifice bunts and sacrifice flies. If the official scorer rules a play a sacrifice bunt/fly and an error, the batter is not charged with a time at bat. On base percentage goes down when reaching base on an straight error.


What is it scored as if a batter attempts a sac bunt with men on first and second and the fielder tries to get out the lead runner and everyone is safe with no error?

Its Fielders choice, and an infield hit. An error can be recorded if the play could have been executed but was not due to a bad throw or other circumstance. If no error occurs, it is a Fielder's Choice, however, if, in the Official Scorers judgement, the batter would have been retired with normal effort, the batter should be credited with a Sacrifice Hit. If, in the scorers judgement, the runner would have beat the throw to first with normal effort by the fielder, he should be credited with a hit, otherwise, no hit should be credited to the batter. Under normal circumstances, in the question as stated, it should be recorded as a Fielders Choice and Sacrifice (officially called a Sacrifice Hit) by the batter.


Does a dropped Ball by the Outfielder with the Bases Loaded count as an RBI?

No, because a dropped ball would constitute an error, and the batter is not credited with an RBI on an error. However, the official scorer has the option of ruling that the runner on third WOULD have scored on a sacrifice fly, even if the error had not occurred. In that case, an RBI would be awarded. Note, however, that this would require fewer than two outs. If there are two outs and an outfielder commits an error, then the batter is not given an RBI -- the runs are not due to the skill of the batter but due to the mistake of the fielder.


If you get a base hit in baseball and there is a person on second and one on third and they scrore how many RBI do you have?

Since RBI stands for Runs Batted In, if both the runner on third and the runner on second cross home plate, then it would be two runs batted in.Answer: two.Answer:You would get 2 RBIs assuming that the runs scored without an error being committed on the play. If there is an error on the play you would get an RBI for that allowed for extra bases (i.e thrown ball, ball gets past outfielder) then the 2nd run may or may not count as an RBI depending on whether the Official Scorer determines the run scored due to the error or the run would have scored regardless of the error


Can there be an assist on an error in baseball?

Yes. If the official scorer deems that an out would have been made had another fielder not made an error after the player who would have gotten the assist played the ball, the assist is given. If the first baseman drops a throw from an infielder that would have made an out on a ground ball, the infielder is given an assist and the first baseman is given an error. If the catcher throws a perfect strike to second base to catch a runner stealing and the second baseman drops the ball allowing the runner to be safe when he would have been out by five feet, the catcher is given an assist and the second baseman is given an error.


Would the run count because of the error or not count if Two outs bases loaded Grounder to first First baseman commits error but rightfielder throws batter out at first Meantime runner on third scores?

The run would not count since there are 2 outs and the fielder got the out at 1st base which is the only thing that matters in that situation with 2 outs regardless of the runners and regardless of any of the other circumstances of who is on base.


There is a man on third and the batter hits a fly ball to right field. The right fielder makes an error and the runner on third comes home. Does the hitter get an RBI. Is it a sacrifice fly?

That call is left up to the official scorer. If there were less than two out and the fly ball, in the scorer's opinion, would have been long enough for the runner from third to score after the catch, then the official scorer could rule the play an error and award the batter a sacrifice fly and an RBI.


Does reaching on an error count towards your total bases stat?

Reaching on an error does not count as a hit. However, it does count as an at bat and therefore is recorded as a statistic.


When an outfielder throws the ball to second base and the throw pulls the second baseman off the bag and the second baseman doesn't catch the ball and the runner is safe who is charged with the error?

second base man- as long as the outfielders throw was decnt and in his range. if not, well the outfielder.


It is an error if the runner beats out the throw to first?

No it is no


If a runner is forced home via a walk is it an earned run?

yes...unless that runner reached base on an error or the inning should have been over earlier due to an error


Does reaching base on an error count toward a player's on-base percentage?

The official formula for on-base percentage is (Hits + Walks + Hit by pitch) / (At-bats + Walks + Hit by pitch + sacrifice flies). Reaching base on an error goes against your BA and OBP, as it doesn't count as a hit but counts as an at bat.


Does reaching base on an error count as a hit?

NO.. its not a hit ... its a ERROR ...


What is a sacrifice bunt?

Official baseball rule 10.09 (a) Score a sacrifice bunt when, before two are out, the batter advances one or more runners with a bunt and is put out at first base, or would have been put out except for a fielding error. (b) Score a sacrifice bunt when, before two are out, the fielders handle a bunted ball without error in an unsuccessful attempt to put out a preceding runner advancing one base.


If a relief pitcher comes in with the bases loaded and gets a force out at second does the runner that is now on first get charged to the previous pitcher since his runner was forced out by choice?

No. Any base runner that gets on base and scores is charged to the pitcher that pitched to him, regardless whether the batter reached base by a force out, error, catcher's interference,etc.